We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Terminus Saint Charles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Marseille
Tumbulgum, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in room 380 which is at the front (road) above the entrance. I am a light sleeper and the road noise was not a problem as long as your happy to sleep with window and shutters closed. The room was compact, clean and the bed very comfortable. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and the metro (St Charles) is close by. I'd stay here again for sure

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Lonnie24,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are very happy that you liked the cleanliness of the room and the location of the hotel.

Best regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    96
    40
    19
    14
See reviews for
16
84
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of our holiday and again at then end due to the fact it was opposite the train station. I dreaded going back. Whilst the hotel is being renovated our first stay had an old bathroom with a dirty shower curtain.The noise outside was horrendous. On our second stay we had an updated bathroom but the cleaning of the toilet left a lot to be desired. Would definitely suggest you stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel, very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear EileenG12,

We care every day to improve the quality of our hotel services through feedback from our customers asking them from their arrival until their departure.
Have you noticed a malfunction related to the rehabilitation of interior parts. The establishment and teams invest every day to improve your comfort by highlighting its professionalism and partial renovation of the rooms provided on a more or less long term. The first room you occupied part of the upcoming renovation (next winter).
We regret that you have not enjoyed your stay and look forward to offering a renovated soon.

Sincerely,
Jean-Philippe AMODRU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stay there for one night, great location for taking a train. small room, ok clean. friendly people.. My main complain is TOOO noisy outside, especially the young people live cross street. drinking beer and chatting very loud and shout at hotel said why turn off light.. we want to see you sleep. plus, it's very busy traffic outside.. light sleeper be ready. plus no AC, which means, you will be forced to open the window and enjoy the cooler air plus noise from the busy street.. EAR PLUGS are must!! over all, i would only recommend for people need stop over and check out soon.. but it's budget hotel.. your ear plug will really help! I can't wait to check out asap next morning..

Room Tip: bring your ear plug if you wanna sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear lifecity,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel just in front of the train station.
Regarding air conditioning, installation is planned for next winter.
We hope to welcome you again for another stay.

Best regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good clean and cheap hotel by the train station. The area is a bit sketchy at night, not sure I would head out after a certain time especially if I were female. The staff was nice and helped whenever they could. Noisy streets outside and the smell of exhaust were a bit annoying, would've been nice if the A/C unit worked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Matt H,

Thank you for staying in our hotel during your visit to Marseille. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel. However, we take note of your feedback to improve our service quality.

Best regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is a good place to stay if you travel with a low budget. The decoration is shabby, but the rooms are clean and its location is fantastic. It is in front of Saint Charles train station, just 10 minutes walk from the Viex Port. The area is quiet, so we could enjoy a nice sleep. I would not recommend this hotel to families with small children for two reasons: to access to the first floor, you must walk up the stairs and the area is full of beggars (but it is not an unsafe city!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_LS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear N_LS5,

We are very happy that you liked the cleanliness of your room and the location of the hotel.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were leaving on an afternoon train from Marseille and had a lot of bags. Therefore, a palce close to the train station was a priority.

The Hotel Terminus met that requirement. It is right sown the main stairs to the St. Charles train station and was relatively affordable (76 euros when booked on Bookings.com).

It is also cheap enough to walk down to the Vieux Port and to do some shopping if that is your interest.

On the downside, it is absolutely no frills...and no air-conditioning which can be brutal on a hot Marseille night. You can open the windows, but not surprisingly, the area around the train station can be VERY loud.

The hotel has WiFi, but its coverage in the rooms is spotty. This hotel also boasts an amazingly small elevator.

However, as noted before, if you are looking for a cheap, clean, safe place to stay for a night before heading out from the train station, this is not a bad place.

#ProTip: if you have a ton of luggage, you can avoid the massive set of stairs by taking the sloping path up to the left of the stairs where you will eventually find an escalator into the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear TravelHard B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are happy to note that you have liked the location of the hotel, the cleanliness of the room and the value.

Best regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for only one night and had expected what you often see on hotels near the central stations. But our room was very nice, small, but clean, no carpets on the floor (nice) and a very clean and functionally bathroom. View to the fantastic stair to the station. We had a good nights sleep and will stay there again, if coming to Marseille. Matress okay, but has to be change soon.
The area is as so many areas around central stations. But the hotel is in walking distance to the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annegrete34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-P A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Annegrete34,
Many thanks for your stay with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your room and the view on the train station.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Regards.
Jean-Philippe AMODRU, Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#102 of 129 in Marseille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Hotel Saint Charles
New Hotel Saint Charles
#107 of 129 in Marseille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Saint-Charles
0.0 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 129 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus Saint Charles

Property: Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Address: 1 Place des Marseillaises, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 129 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terminus Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just opposite the Saint-Charles train station, near the underground station and 10 minutes by foot from the famous Vieux Port, this renovated hotel welcomes you in a family atmosphere. All guest rooms of the Hotel Terminus Saint-Charles are fitted with all the modern comfort and come with television and shower. Some of them are specially designed to welcomes the disabled guests. Wi-Fi Internet access is available on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terminus Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing