We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and charming, warm-hearted hosts”
Review of Villa d'Orient

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marseille
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa d'Orient
Ranked #1 of 68 Marseille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed at Villa d'Orient for a few days and were not disappointed. Our two-room apartment in the neighboring house was clean, very stylish and had a nice terrace where we were served a delicious breakfast in the morning (too bad that the tea was served in coffee pots!). Unfortunately no view at the sea, but a magnificant one at the near-by mountains. Vincent and Christoph are very warm-hearted hosts and always helpful. They have two cats (important to know for people who are allergic!), but these are only in the main villa. - The small beach mentioned in the ad proved to be indeed very small and was mostly occupied by young people and not often very clean. The restaurant Les Tamaris recommended on the hotel's homepage offers a nice view at the sea, in particular at night, but as a couple you are not offered the best tables and an early reservation is not accepted. Make sure you are at least a group of 4 to 5 people.
Having a car is recommendable if you stay at Villa d'Orient. We enjoyed however walking in the Calanques which are just around the corner. No car needed to be right out in nature.
Yes, we would come back and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geniesser61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 350 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a very nice stay in Villa d'Orient.
Our room was very tastefully decorated and more than large enough for the two of us
Vincent was a nice, friendly and non obtrusive host.
The main purpose of our trip was to have some walks in the Calanques.
The location of this B&B is a walkers dream with GR and other routes starting about 100 meters from the frontdoor of Villa d'Orient.
We will definitely be back some other time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

My Wife and I travel the world and when it comes to bed and breakfast, we are usually not picky as we know how difficult it is to setup a place where everyone will feel comfortable. We also understand that you get what you paid for.
Based on the reviews (by the way the reviews are the copycat of the guest’s book located at the Villa), this place looked like heaven, but the reality is that we have been disappointed.
First of all, the rooms are very, very, tiny, so don't expect to move around the bed without knocking your shoulders or your head on the walls (it is ok; we are not in Marseille to stay in our room anyway, right?). By the way, the walls are so thin that you can hear your neighbors moving in their bed at night and if your neighbors are early birds, you are totally screwed.
The bathroom and the bedroom are all in one, so your partner better feel comfortable being watched or listened to while doing his/her thing.. hey Baby? Close your eyes and don’t breathe for 10 minutes ok? (It is ok; I've been with my wife for a few years now, right?).
At night a few Snails and roaches will keep you company, I didn’t care… My wife did.
Outside, the garden is nice, the “terrace” (all the way to the top) has a beautiful ocean view, too bad we had to sit on these old rusty chair to contemplate the sunset (come on, bring me a can of white pain and a brush and I will do it for you) otherwise it would have been perfect. I suggested my wife to sit on the only plastic chair available, but it was moldy and broken, why did I even ask this stupid question?
The breakfast: Are you kidding me? Only the Jelly is home made, everything else comes from the cheapest grocery store you can find in Marseille (croissant, juices etc...), come on buddy, France has the best bakeries (boulangeries) in the entire world and you go buy your croissants and baguettes in a discount grocery store?
The location: absolutely perfect, easy street parking, close to the calanques.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TheBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Rorolili13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dania30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel 96
#1 of 132 in Marseille
386 reviews
Mama Shelter Marseille
#10 of 132 in Marseille
1,139 reviews
Alex Hotel
#2 of 132 in Marseille
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#8 of 132 in Marseille
346 reviews
Casa Ortega
#3 of 68 in Marseille
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Orient

Address: 30 bd de la Calanque de Samena, 13008 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range: $87 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the Medterranean sea and vertiginous cliffs, the Villa d'Orient is nestled in a Marseille Calanque. Our Villa was built at the beginning of the 20th century in Moroccan style; our guests will be delighted with its exotic garden and its panoramic terraces, a few steps from the seaside, facing the wonderful calanques massif. We can go to the city center by bus in 20 minutes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing