We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place We Stayed in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Jardin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marseille
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Jardin
Ranked #3 of 67 Marseille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place We Stayed in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Absolutely wonderful, We stayed here on our trip to Marseille about two years ago, and of all of the places we stayed in France (including in Paris), this was our favorite. The room was magnificent (and romantic!), the host friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better place. It is a bit of a walk into town, but if you don't feel like making the trek back, the bus is easy to use.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
146
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Everything about this B&B is unusually good - the room, the breakfast, the welcome from Mauro and Serge, their hospitality, and the help (if required) with planning one's time in Marseille. It all adds up to a most pleasurable holiday experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Thank you Mauro and Serg, we loved every minute of our stay. You both made our trip memorable, all your help and hospitality was invaluable. A great experience of Marseille, a great location, wonderful breakfast. Highly recommended. Heidi and David :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Marseille was the final leg of our short tour of France, having stayed in hotels in both Paris & Lyon, Le Petit Jardin is like a breath of fresh air. We were personally welcomed into a relaxed, well appointed B&B where you feel that nothing is too much bother. We had chosen the Africa room which is spacious, clean and very comfortable. As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfast is wonderful with home made breads & jams, fresh fruit & a selection of patisserie delights. We were offered something different each day. Our hosts were helpful & knowledgable with good advise about what Marseille had to offer. We would certainly stay here again & recommend Le Petit Jardin to family & friends

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Le Petit Jardin made even four days in Marseille a great and unforgettable experience! I would suggest to everyone I know to spend some time in this fabulous B&B: the atmosphere is relaxing and cosy, the service is perfect; the room was deocrated in every little detail, without making us miss anything.
Breakfast was always our favourite part of the day: the patience put in preparing it made us really feel at home, and so did the great hospitality of the two owners Mauro and Serge: they always gave us precious advices and suggestion and made us visit the best places and restaurants of Marseille. This city is magic: so artistic, so modern and so open minded.
I would come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily_Sew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Le Petit Jardin. We had the "Asia Room"which was stunningly decorated and designed by our two wonderful hosts, Serg and Mauro.
The breakfasts were wonderful: Mauro is a great cook, and the B&B is handily situated to the wonderful Marseille waterfront with plenty of cafes and restaurants.
Every question asked about Marseille and surroundings was carefully answered by Mauro and Serg and it all made for the perfect short stay.

Room Tip: Pick the "Asia Room" although the "African Room" is also excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The attention to detail is amazing. And ohhh the breakfasts just brilliant. Sege and Mauro are such great hosts.They are friendly, interesting and interested, full of good advice as to where to go,while we stayed at le Petit Jardin in May . I recomend the Asian room which is cut into the rock and fantastically cool during the heat. . Mauro is also your personnal tourguide and his knowledge of the area and events going on was outstanding. Cant wait to go back.

au revoir

Room Tip: Asian Quarters are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Residence du Vieux Port
3.5 mi away
Hotel 96
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#48 of 131 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Jardin

Property: Le Petit Jardin
Address: 136 Chemin du Vallon de l Oriol | Marseille, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very well situated in a very typical and green area of Marseille, very close to the sea, quiet, with all comfort, nicely and orginally decorated, with independent access to the rooms, terrasse and small garden. Rooms with free wi-fi access, air conditioning. Breakfast and taxes included in the price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing