We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and beautiful views”
Review of Hotel Peron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Peron
Ranked #47 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This place is so charming. The owners went out of their way to make my stay wonderful. The sea view was just the best, and even in a cold January I kept opening my balcony door so I could enjoy the full views. The hotel is only few minutes away by bus but also easy to reach by foot. Had the best time in the hotel, and felt very secure. The owners very friendly and gave me plenty of advice and safety warning too. Loved it. Totally loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Peron
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 291 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

The sea view from our rooms was magnificent. You would be hard pressed to find such a lovely view in other hotels in Marseilles. Breakfast was simple but good and the owners went out of their way to welcome us. If you want bland, standardised and dull, this is not the place for you. If you like odd, quirky, homely and personal, book a room here. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptolemydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Situated right across from the water, this hotel is in a perfect spot. We opened up our doors and felt that cool breeze come in. Absolutely great. If you get a chance, there's a great restaurant right around the corner (take stairs down before going over bridge) Chez Juneau. Casual but good food.

Back to the hotel. It almost feels like a bed and breakfast. Virtually no english spoken by the managers but we got by. Time sleeping accordingly as they were talking/vacuuming until about midnight each night. That was the only downside. Also, if you aren't physically able to climb stairs this isn't for you as there isn't an elevator.

It isn't terribly expensive and the decor is more traditional. You get more value than you pay for though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallt080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a typical simple small European hotel. No elevator, but was clean and perfect for our our two night stay - just needed a bed and bath.. The owners were very nice, the husband did not speak English at all, but his wife spoke enough. We stayed in a room that had a bathroom and shower, some do not. The view over looking the bay was amazing. Sat on the balcony and just soaked it all in.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bathroom and view overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were a bit skeptical when we first approached this hotel. The decor was tacky, it was a three-floor walk-up to our rooms, the beds were hard, the AC was iffy, and the "bathroom" in one of the rooms was a toilet and tiny sit-down shower in the corner with a curtain around it. BUT - I'd stay there again in a heartbeat just for the view. Every room has a small balcony (barely big enough for two chairs) looking directly out over the Mediterranean, perfect for admiring the sunset. The main quay is only about a 15 minute walk away, breakfast is basic but decent, and the price is definitely right.

Room Tip: Go for the two-person room to guarantee a real bathroom
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I don't even know where to start complaining about this place. The sheets and bed were filthy, the pillows were so dirty that we didn't use them. The fan had years worth of dust. The "shower" consisted of a small tub 2 foot by 2 ft by 2 ft at most, with a hand held hose. The bathroom was also filthy. To make things worse, they called our room at 12:30 a.m. & asked us to turn down our television while we were watching it at a volume slightly below normal. We reserved for 3 nights but checked out after one. Don't believe the positive reviews, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Evancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We loved the individuality of this hotel, the way it's kept all the origional 1920's features. It was actually March last year we stayed there but I keep thinking about it as it's that time of year again. The owners were really friendly and we feel that the hotel should aided to modernise slighty but still keeping all the origonal fixtures and fittings, it's so unique and part of our heritage. Having said that if you don't like the 1920's this hotel isn't for you.
Bill and Helen McLachlan

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddymaxmidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Rhul
Le Rhul
#52 of 131 in Marseille
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Richelieu
Hotel Richelieu
#106 of 131 in Marseille
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Escale Oceania Marseille Vieux Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Petit Nice Passedat
Petit Nice Passedat
#35 of 131 in Marseille
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermes
Hermes
#22 of 131 in Marseille
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Hotel Of Marseille
New Hotel Of Marseille
#17 of 131 in Marseille
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peron

Address: 119 Corniche du President John Fitzgerald Kennedy, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $82 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Peron 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Peron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing