We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number 1 in location, probably also in Bouillabaise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Epuisette

L'Epuisette
Ranked #13 of 2,111 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris, France
Level Contributor
159 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Number 1 in location, probably also in Bouillabaise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The restaurant sits on a ledge on the ocean (ignore the maps that show it inland), and the view from the dining room is a glass wall on the rocky shore, the islands (including the d'IF of Monte Cristo fame), the sea, and the other shore - just panoramic. So consider going for lunch when the sun is up, as opposed to dinner when the sun is down.

All the guidebook and websites put it in the top rank for view and bouillabaise, and the other TripAdvisor competitors lose the view competition in my book.

An amuse bouche and aperitif later, we ordered a nice Condrieu off the wine list (about twice retail), and of course we had the bouillabaise. It came first as a soupe de poisson, then came the platter of fish, then boned fish with soupe. Along with the requisite sauces an croutons.

I thought the broth superb, and the fish looked a bit small, but yielded as much fillet as I could eat . The soupe seemed to be unlimited. Very nice, and we were glad we had followed the waiter's advice and skipped any entree.

The white and black chocolate dessert was spectacular, as was a macaroon dessert, though I hardly know how to describe them. Exceptional mignardise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank svnr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    167
    44
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Joris-Winge, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magnificent Taste and View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The restaurant has a very special location, on the rock next to the Mediterranean sea, actually partly above the water. You see through a glass floor in the restaurant the see below your feet!
We sat in the back with the magnificent view to the old bridge, boats, rocks an sea.
We selected a fix menu with wines. The dishes were special and excellent, fit totally in the current higher level of gastronomy. The taste concept of each dish was excellent. In the dessert, the smell of the typically perfume of soaps of Marseille was integrated which was delicious experience!
Also the glasses, coffee cups, were all very special. This restaurant is a real star (one Star Michelin) restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
738 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This restaurant combines a stunning site with excellent seafood cuisine
The dining room is on a rock jutting out at sea and packs of waves splash the bay windows when the wind blows.A great sight during the day.
The food is excellent,the wine list extensive and the service attentive
Of course it does not come cheap

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The place for a special meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

probably one of the most expensive restaurants but the bouillabaise was fantastic and the staff very attentive. Given a table right beside the window overlooking the sea. Could have done with air conditioning on a bit more as it was very warm.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding venue for a celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We managed to secure a last minute reservation to celebrate my 50th birthday. Our host Fredric and Sommelier Breean exemplified outstanding hospitality all evening with nice touches such as providing a presentation birthday platter, candle and free glass of Cognac. The location and wild winter sea spray view created a atmospiric evening as did the beautiful decor, crockery and flower arrangments. I loved the my lobster starter and Michele's scallop remoulade was so viberant and colourful on the plate. My Atlantic turbot and oxtail ravioli was packed with flavour and Michele's marinated pavé of seabass looked and smelt great. After a rest we shared some cheese from an amazing selection on the table. To complete our meal we enjoyed a delicious dark chocolate cake and lemon sorbet. Style and perfection does not come cheap, the total prices came to €380.20 with wine and coffee. That said the chefs have worked hard to provide an excellent menu, skillfully delivered backed up by outstanding service by the front of house staff. I would highly reccommend you book a table for that special occasion, sit back and savour the moment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Epuisette also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Epuisette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing