We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Ryad Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived off the train in Marseille about 9pm and got a taxi to the hotel. The taxi driver said it was nice inside, but it looked slightly worrying as the door was locked. However we were let in straightaway when we rang the bell and the man who answered the door knew my name. We were showed to our room which was on the first floor and overlooked the garden. It was spacious and airy and had air conditioning which was handy as it was a very hot night. It was a superior room and we had free WiFi. We couldn't close one of the curtains and also the window as the curtain pole had come down a bit, but we managed by standing on the bed and pushing it up with a coat hanger!

However that was one very small niggle. We were directed to Chez Noel round the corner on the main road La Canibiere for a meal. This was still full of people enjoying their meals and we had a fantastic experience there with good food, and very friendly people.

Had a wonderful sleep in one of the most comfy beds I have ever slept in. The next morning we had breakfast in the garden at the back which was quiet and cool, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Had a great day in Marseille and another good sleep, although because the second night was a Friday, the hotel was busier and there were quite a lot of comings and goings up and down the stairs which aren't carpeted and therefore quite noisy!

The hotel isn't plush but I liked it, and our room was certainly spotless and the bedding was lovely. It is in a good location very close to a metro station and there are trams up and down the main street just off it. There was a street market the morning we left (Saturday). It is about 10 minutes walk to the old port. I would go back there if I went to stay in Marseille again, which I hope to do!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room overlooking the garden which was great. Slight noise from residents nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trufflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel L, Propriétaire at Le Ryad Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Sirs

Thanky you for this kindly contribution on Tripadvisor.

We are very proud because we satisfied you and hope to see you again at Le Ryad Marseille.

Sincerely yours.

Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 443 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel is situated in the center of Marseille in a small residential building and you can easily pass by without even noticing as happend to us first time looking for the hotel. Once you entered the wooden entrance door (secured by numberpad) you enter a warm and calm atmosphere with brick red walls and natural stone floors. We were welcomed very sincere although we had reservations for two nights and could´t make it in time for the first night because our car broke down, so our reservation had already been canceld. Luckily there was still a room available and we even got updated to a superior room without paying one cent more. The minute you entered the room(s) you felt right at home. We had a very spacious living and sleeping area with stone floors big windows with shutters and light golden curtains. The double bed with coffe machine on the nightstand was in one niche of the room and in the centre of the room was a very maroccan lounge area with a teatable and divan as well as a flatscreen TV on a wooden sideboard (maybe the flatscreen doesn´t really underline the maroccan style ; )). Also we had a separate toilet and a beautiful bathroom in gold and ivory tones with a bathtub. Sadly we couldn´t try the breakfast because I had to leave early by train.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Gil was on the doorstep as we arrived, he could not have been more helpful. Carried our bags up the 3 floors to our lovely looking room. - The hotel is quite bohemian, and I like this, but the cleaning staff do not live up the expectations of the photos.

The TV had a thick layer of dust on it, I had to clean the bath before I even got in for a shower. The floor was very dirty. The tiles were loose on the floor.

The nespresso machine was a new experience for me. It had 2 dirty/used caps in already as we worked out how to use it. (no instructions and no prices.) So I was slightly irritated when we were charged for using it, but it was good and I would have used it if there was a price list on it.


All this could be rectified. It just needs someone to ensure the rooms are cleaned maintenance is carried out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Concerning the Nespresso Machine, the price of the consumption is indicated as the law obliges it on the index cards of mini bar.

Concerning cleanliness, I'd like in the name of the team to apologize it is rare that we have this kind of remark because we attach a lot of importance for these details. We shall make everything so that this does not happen again.

We hope that you have a good trip and to see again to offer you a real french coffee !

Sincerely yours.
Director,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is decorated in morrocan style. The area is very central but quite a dirty and poor neighborhood. It is very close to Cours Julien and the Vieux Port and St. Charles station.
The two guys who run the hotel are very helpful and tried their very best to solve our needs.

The hotel could use a general makeover or a least a new layer of paint, it all seems a little worn out.
Our rooms (2nd and 3rd floor) were spacious. You have to be prepared to climb a lot of stairs.
Our bathrooms didn`t have a shower only bathtub. Rooms to the garden are nicer and quieter than those leading onto the street.

Little garden area is nice. Hotel doesn' t have any bar facilities, but breakfast is served at extra costs. Mini bar is too expensive for that kind of hotel (over 3 euros for a tiny bottle of water, 2,50 for a Nespresso when you pay not more than Euro 1,50 at any bar/restaurant).

Personally I would stay in a different area next time and I think there are better hotels for that rate. But for 1-2 nights hotel was ok.

Room Tip: Rooms to the garden side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baresis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.

Le Ryad Marseille changes Direction for one year and a we improve a lot of things, and some work are still processed, we are sorry about that.

The hôtel has been imagined in a midlle way between hotel and guesthouse, that why we do not have any restaurant or any bar. On the other hand, we can give a quiet mood to our guests.

About the price of the mini bar, I just want to give some corrections :
- Bottle of Evian 33cl : 2.50 (not over than 3)
- Coffee Nespresso : 2.30 (not 2.50)

Sincerely yours,
La Direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Booked this hotel for a couple nights and had a really comfortable stay. It's a modern, clean nice. The staff were really friendly and helpful with advising on local amenities, and most could speak fluent English. This hotel was great!

Stayed August 2011, travelled on bussiness

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I'm Mexican and I've never heard about this wonderful place before, It was a great stay, I was astonished by the concept and the friendly staff !!!! I advise people who looks for charming & exotic place to go to "Le Ryad".Furthermore it is very well located in Marseille "Le vieux port" !!! Gracias muxo para esta estancia

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Antoine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Alex Hotel
#2 of 131 in Marseille
397 reviews
Mama Shelter Marseille
#9 of 131 in Marseille
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 96
#1 of 131 in Marseille
383 reviews
Palais-de-Justice
C2 Hotel
C2 Hotel
#5 of 131 in Marseille
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Ryad Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ryad Boutique Hotel

Address: 16 rue Senac de Meilhan, 13001 Marseille, France (Formerly Le Ryad)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#16 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range: $89 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Ryad Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Le Ryad is a charming boutique hotel with only 11 rooms. This enables its team to provide tailor made service to its guests. Its original decoration inspired by Morocco and its interior garden make it an incomparable place in Marseille. The quietness of this hotel in the very city center and at short distance of the main places of attraction in the city make it an ideal place for a stay of one to six days . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Ryad Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ryad Marseille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing