We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent stay at hotel belle vue marseille”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #25 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 23, 2013

a great experience! location excellent right on port of marseille, really friendly staff, comfortable and very clean rooms, very atmospheric, plus really interesting bar/restaurant la caravelle on first floor. definitely a 'must'. quality price ratio excellent!

a buckingham - brussels

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 416 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

To be in the heart of it all with terrific views and within walking distance of absolutely everything, this is the spot. Nothing is perfect in life but the positives far outweigh any negatives where this hotel is concerned. There is no elevator, so walking to the fourth floor was a must and not the end of the world! The room was small....but I wasn't there to spend all day in the room! The cafe/bar on the first floor, La Caravelle, was terrific. Absolutely buzzing with all ages, a great atmosphere and an excellent view from the inside and especially from the terrace...right out over the old port in all it's newfound splendor! At midday the bar becomes a restaurant with a good choice, reasonably priced and friendly staff. The evening sees the bar turn back into a bar with tapas and fun times, music sometimes ... an enjoyable place to sit and catch up and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: If you hate stairs, opt for a lower floor. The widows are soundprooofed so the noise was absolute m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Folies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked this hotel based on a recommendation from a French friend of mine who had lived in Marseille. I told him that I was looking for a quaint hotel with a good atmosphere, and not too expensive. He sent me here.

The staff was so warm, friendly and welcoming. I was traveling with my mother and we were unsure if we would stay one or two nights and that we needed help booking a ferry to Sardinia. Roxanne immediately started researching ferry options. Later we had a nice chat about her experiences with the ferry system.

We ended up staying two nights, as we couldn't get enough and felt so at home. The views were spectacular of the harbor and the cathedral on the hill. The French breakfast was in the bar on the 1st floor - a place with lots of character, a great balcony and which is packed in the evening with locals and travelers alike, all drinking cocktails and listening to the great eclectic mix of music (sometimes live musicians).

All in all, a fantastic place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room cut was a bit quirky, but it fit with the charm of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sumiko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed and enjoyed the hotel for 4 days. Rooms are fine with indeed a nice view on the Vieux Port. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Ideally located in the center of town but still quiet at night. The Bar La Caravelle served an excellent breakfast and good music and fine whisky at night.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, choose a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were in Marseille overnight and looked for a place to stay in downtown with basic amenities. This hotel had some raving reviews and location right by the port, so we went for it. Oh. My. God. What a horrible mess! Maybe this was a one-off problem, and it was later fixed, but the bathroom and WC in our room smelled absolutely horrible. Seriously, we couldn't make ourselves enter it! When I asked for a room change, a reasonably nice staff member showed me to another room, and it had the same patently unbearable, toxic smell. And it wasn't just me, the staff member agreed it was very bad, but apparently they weren't able to do anything. Seriously, it's 2013 in the heart of Eruope, can you get your basic plumbing working? That, and the fact that this hotel promised "Internet throughout the premises", whilst in fact there was NO wi-fi reception on the 4th floor, kind of made this "the bottom of hell" list for us. Seriously, we paid 100 Euro for something basic, and we were treated like garbage. This thing should be closed down. They need City's sanitation department on their case. Stay away, people!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveldictum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My lady and I stayed here overnight. We had a great experience from beginning to ending. We had a reservation but were comp'd to a bigger room for free. Asked the typical tourist questions like 'where to eat, what to see, how to get around' and got great responses. They even held our baggage after we checked out so we could sight-see even more.

The service was TOP-NOTCH. Everyone that worked the desk was SUPER helpful (most of the time they are multi-tasking but they would drop everything to help us).

The size of the rooms are generally super small but the view totally compensates for it (despite the construction and all).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank the_traveller_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your comment, We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. we will be glad to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was probably the best hotel I stayed in during my nine-cities trip across Netherlands, Belgium and France. Request a room with a view! We were in a corner room, big windows, great view of Vieux-Port and sun shining in the room. The staff was helpful (the guy moreso than the girls). My only complaint was that the internet didn't work in my room. I had to go out into the stairway to get wifi working on my laptop. It might have been a problem with my computer, but it wasn't a problem anywhere else so I'm not sure. If you have problems walking up stairs request a room on the lowest floor because there are lots of stairs and no elevator (beautiful stairway though). The restaurant on the same floor as reception is great but not open for dinner so grab lunch if you can! Breakfast was good, served in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! We got a corner room and it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonaetienne, Propriétaire at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hello, Thank you so much for your nice comment. We hope to see you soon again in Marseille. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hermes
#24 of 131 in Marseille
293 reviews
New Hotel Vieux Port
#40 of 131 in Marseille
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opéra
Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: 34 quai du Port | Vieux Port, 13002 Marseille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 131 Hotels in Marseille
Price Range: $107 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he well-named Hotel Belle-Vue…Completely renewed in 2012, The Bellevue eco friendly hotel is registered in the ecological initiative of labelisation "Green Key" Clef Verte.The hotel is ideally set on the sunny side of the Vieux Port and looks onto Notre Dame de la Garde, Fort Saint Jean and the Pharo.With its architecture typical of Marseille, the mansion-like Hotel Belle-Vue has kept its original charm over the years. The contemporary rooms contrast with its high ceilings (up to 3.5 m) and its large wooden windows with alcoves.The magnificent staircase made of wrought iron is the central element of the hotel and every traveller will enjoy going up these impressive stairs since the lift has been deliberately banned to keep the authenticity of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing