We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be more happy with the place”
Review of Chez Fonfon

Chez Fonfon
Reserve with
Chez Fonfon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 2,194 Restaurants in Marseille
Price range: $52 - $148
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Could not be more happy with the place”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I do not understand why people give bad review to this restaurant. Everything goes for the place.
We were driving from Nice. We were 1 hour late because of traffic issues. I called them - no problem. We still got the best table in house, although the place was packed. The scenery is incredible inside and outside. Beautiful harbor with view of Château d'If. Most of the people insight, surprisingly, were locals.
Food: Obviously we had Bouillabaisse. I could taste every fish in this terrific rendition. Only after tasting the real thing you understand how over seasoned and over cooked it usually is. Do not think I will have it elsewhere. My friends had other dishes, each was sublime by their report. Another reason to come back to Marseille. Although it may appeared relaxed, service was attentive and friendly. One of the highlights of our trip to South of France.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dostrovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    545
    261
    171
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delicious Bouillabaisse”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a lovely place to have this famous dish in. The little harbour is referred to as an "urban calanque" and it's really picturesque with beautiful views. It was really nice to be eating away from the busy frenetic atmosphere of Marseilles. The entire "presentation" of serving the bouillabaisse here really adds to the whole experience and the actual meal is just delicious. The other point I wish to make is the staff are lovely - polite and friendly - we simply couldn't fault anything.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YeeHaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Bouillabaisse - I recommend”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a really good place to try the famous bouillabaisse of Marseille. The restaurant is not within walking distance from the center it is rather small and without fancy decoration. There is no seaview or actually any view. I have not tried bouillabaisse in many restaurants in Marseille to make a judgement about the best one in the city. But it was really very good and much better than those which I tried in Nice, Paris etc. It's reasonable not to order any other dishes as the soup comes with limitless supply so most people will not be able to eat something else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OlegS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude treatment”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having made a big effort to get to this restaurant we were placed a the worst table is a big empty room..we asked for a better table (in excellent French) but were told all were reserved..well, 2 hours later as we were leaving, there were many empty tables..Bouillbaisse was good but for the price they should prepare it at the table..that is part of the ritual .but getting broth and then a boring plate of fish to drop into it..loses the cachet..It was good but wold try somewhere else another time. I asked if they had decaffeinated coffee..told yes but I was awake most of the night..I doubt they had it or bothered.I have been to far better fish restaurants in Portugal and Italy where the staff is friendlier and most caring. Did not come away feeling epatee! Authentic little fishing village as a location..
just OK in my estimation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A very memorable experience”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had spent quite a time researching restaurants serving Bouillabesse in Marseille. We decided on Fonfon after reading that it's a third generation restaurant and after watching a video of the late Keith Floyd extolling the virtues of the dish and the restauarant sur place. Currently the Britsh fish restaurant guru Rick Stein favours l'Epuisette, but we wanted to avoid formality. Chez Fon Fon is almost suspended over a tiny harbour full of boats. It's difficult to find parking. One of our friends is handicapped and the access even to the ground floor restaurant was up a flight of steep stairs. Thank goodness we'd arrived early. It was a pleasant room overlooking the harbour and once it warmed up the staff opened the sliding windows, giving a lovely sunny seaside atmosphere.
We had a wonderful time. We started with a glass of good champagne, and complementary amuse-bouche. We were excited with anticipation of the Bb. There were other tempting things on the menu but we decided that it was important to eat Bb in the birthplace of the dish. The waiter showed us the 5 fish and we opted to have the fish filleted in the kitchen. First the soup dishes were arrived with a fish broth and we had mini toasts on which to spread rouille or aïoli, which we floated in the broth until they sank. One of our number decided he couldn't wait for the bread to sink and his white shirt lived to tell the tale!
The fish arrived on individual dishes and all the while the broth was being topped up by waiters. That was important as it heated everything up. The quality of the ingredients was superb and the whole event was faultless. The Bb was not cheap at 47€, but given the very high price of fish these days, it reasonable value for money. Coffee came with petit fours. We couldn't have managed a desert.
The service was highly attentive and the owner's sense of humour enhanced the conviviality.
I'd love to go back and do it all again soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Fonfon also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Chez Fonfon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing