We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live with the locals”
Review of Justin de Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Justin de Provence
Ranked #5 of 7 Orange B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2006

My husband and I and our best friends have just returned from our dream French holiday to celebrate our 40th birthdays(the wives that is) I researched the trip for a year, and the other three put their faith in my choice of places to stay and see. Well this beautiful place was a real win and as a fussy traveller I can say there was not a single thing negetive about our four days here. I wont repeat the reviews before me but please read them as they detail exactly what you will find.

Being an interior designer I did not want to stay in a sterile airconditioned starched sheets hotel. This is just the opposite. The decorating skill and attention to detail is incredible in a homely, messy way. Nothing posed.... but everything in the right place to give an overall incredibly talented end result.

I wanted to experience how the local people would live and this accomodation allows you to do that. Isabelle and Phillip have a passion for their surroundings that is so infectious it makes one want to sell up and move to France.

Make sure you take their advise on where to go and to eat. Especially Chez Shez in Capentas was amazing.

I wont ramble on but full colours to a family that deserve to be famous one day for what they have achieved.

Hope to see you soon Philipe and Isabelle
The now over 40 South Africans

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2006

We just spent 3 days at the wonderful home/bed and breakfast hotel of Phillipe and Isabelle just outside Orange, France. The accomodations are delightful, the scenery very provencial, and the family warm and gracious. They were just finishing up a lovely pool, and accomodations for larger groups, complete with your own kitchen. Our meals were perfect, and there were lots of recommendations for visits to the Rhone Valley wineries and villages surrounding Orange. A wonderful, warm family setting.

Thank MMS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2005

Once you have stayed at Justin de Provence you will understand that the words, which follow, will always fall short.

Following two years of hard work, driven by their vision and devotion, Isabelle and Philippe have created the most exquisite home. Seeking out antiques from the surrounding areas, the house is furnished perfectly. Attention to detail is an understatement, dried flowers, delicate pottery and embroidered fabrics ensure the bedrooms captivate you with their charm.

Philippe’s infectious passion for the ‘Real’ Provence, especially the food, wine and people, easily seduces you. At times when Philippe speaks, I’m sure you can see his heart full of love for the subject he is describing. Supporting Philippe’s flair is Isabelle’s elegance. Isabelle greets you every morning with a wonderful French breakfast. Tea, hot chocolate, fresh bread and croissants, home-made jam and freshly squeezed orange juice. All the little details of the décor have the touch of Isabelle, from the dried flowers placed around the house to the selection of the wonderful plates and pottery which were made by one of Isabelle’s friends.

With a seemingly endless number of contacts, reservations at delectable restaurants or trips to vineyards are easily within reach. Suggestions for villages near and far to visit or routes to follow for astounding scenery can all be provided.

For ten years, Philippe and Isabelle ran a successful restaurant. If you get the chance, try and eat at the house. During my stay we ate along with eleven other guests for my mother in laws 60th birthday. We were treated to a fanfare of fish dishes, which tantalised my tastebuds! Complimenting the food were wines from around the region, which gave us the chance to be educated in the art of wine tasting.

The farmhouse also boasts a swimming pool, jacuzzi, fitness room and steam room so you can burn off some energy and relax completely in the peaceful surroundings.

My trip is an experience, which I know I will never forget and that is due to the special ambience created by Isabelle and Philippe.

The secret is out. This undiscovered renovated farmhouse will soon become one of the most sought after accommodations in Provence. The flawless host couple make you feel like the most important guests and it’s this personable feel which will ensure continued success for years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudge710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

This place is the most special and the owners the most delightful, have stayed in france for the last five summers and this is a little piece of heaven. Great food , beautiful bedrooms and totally relaxing with a magical couple who are both very special hosts. we had small children with us and they were understanding and patient .
i will go back and wish them all the best for their futures !!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sholta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We stumbled across Justin de Provence by accident. We wanted to spend the weekend exploring the vineyards of Chateauneuf du Pape, but took too long to start making the practical plans. By the time we began trying to make hotel reservations, everything we could find was booked full. Justin de Provence is not widely advertised, so we only came across it online by chance.
Located in Orange, this B&B is within an easy drive of Chateauneuf du Pape: about half an hour. It is also less than a 10-minute drive from the Orange train station, but the map on their lovely website is rather inadequate; be sure to telephone them in advance and ask for more detailed directions! Everyone in our party got quite lost trying to find this treasure.
Justin de Provence is run by charming 30-something husband and wife team, Isabelle and Philippe. Isabelle grew up in the house, which was built by her grandfather, Justin. Every room in the house is named after one of her ancestors and the passion they both share for the place is obvious. When Isabelle’s father died, her mother wanted to sell the family home: too many bittersweet memories. Isabelle and Philippe decided to buy it and turn it into a labour of love.
An exquisite, rambling old “mas” (French for large farmhouse), Justin de Provence has been renovated with the greatest of care and attention to detail. Although the whole house was only heated by one gigantic fireplace while Isabelle was growing up, she and her husband scoured flea-markets to find 42 antique radiators which they refurbish and now keep the B&B cozy through the winters. They helped design the floor tiles, which were made by a factory owned by a friend in Tarifa. Each of the 5 guest bedrooms is different, decorated with care and respect for the history of the house. The garden is enormous: more than 6 hectares. There’s a fenced swimming pool, area for playing petanque, comfy seats for relaxing under gigantic trees… Great for both grown-ups and little ones.
When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Isabelle. She speaks some English, but needs a bit of coaxing since she thinks she speaks more poorly than she does in fact. She gave us a tour of the house, and it’s a joy to behold how proud she is of all the work they have done. Then, she offered us each a glass of local wine, and “tapenade” (a provencal spread that you eat on toast) made with her own special recipe: tomatoes from their own garden and no anchovies! When her husband returned home, he spent more than an hour chatting with us, excitedly telling us about this new venture (the B&B only opened for business in February 2005); the vineyards in the region (he knows many people who work in the wine industry in Provence, Cotes-du-Rhone, Chateauneuf du Pape and beyond); the history of the area. His English is good, and his enthusiasm, contagious.
The couple is well-connected in their community and know how to give their guests what they want. If you’d like a massage, they can arrange for a professional masseur to come to the B&B and work on your kinks for and hour. If you want to explore the local vineyards, they can help you plan your trip, making suggestions of lesser-known, good value wines in the region. They recently arranged for Provencal cooking lessons for a Canadian guest who was eager to improve her skills in the local cuisine. And a wedding was held in their garden a few weeks ago.
I am sad to think that by writing this glowing review, I might make it harder for me to get a reservation in the future. But I have stayed at almost a hundred B&Bs during my lifetime and Justin-de-Provence is a gem. I recommend it without hesitation and know it deserves all the success it will receive.

15  Thank Tachesderousseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank RobertR362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Mas Julien
Le Mas Julien
#1 of 7 in Orange
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Aurenjo
Villa Aurenjo
#3 of 7 in Orange
64 reviews
1 mi away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#6 of 18 in Orange
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Orange
Premiere Classe Orange
#17 of 18 in Orange
168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis budget Orange Echangeur A7 A9
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justin de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin de Provence

Address: Chemin du Mercadier, 84100 Orange, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $153 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Justin de Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing