We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Justin de Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Justin de Provence
Ranked #4 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights, but wish we had stayed longer. The property has been beautifully restored, and the rooms were excellent. We stayed in a room upstairs complete with 4 poster bed and free standing bath. The kids stayed in an attic room which was perfect for them. The owner, Isabelle was charming and very helpful. She recommended 2 excellent restaurants in nearby Orange and booked one for us. The breakfast that we ate outside was delicious, fresh bread and croissants with home made jam. We also had a swim in the outdoor pool which was really refreshing, and the kids tried the indoor pool. I would not hesitate returning, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

It took a while to find it not having a GPS but once we did we fell in love with it. Upon arrival Isabelle met us and gave us a grand tour of the property. An artist whose studio is nearby, It was obvious that her style was on everything in sight. What was a traditional farmhouse and stables has been painstakingly remodeled into a stylish turn of the century country beaux arts manor house. A nice touch was the guest kitchen where we prepared and served a Provencal meal on the beautiful lit patio overlooking the gardens of the home. Another nice touch was the petit bar adjacent to the patio we could partake of the fully stocked bar on the honour system. It couldn't have been more comfortable. The rooms are large, airy and bright. Bathrooms are modern with very good water pressure and plenty of hot water. We didn't have a chance to use the pools or the hamman on this trip. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zamborgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights here and had a very restful time. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hamman and had a lovely breakfast and dinner there. The owner is very charming and helpful. My daughters 16 and 13 also enjoyed themselves and had a great time in their room.
Having read some of the reviews I was a bit sceptical but realise that everyone has different ideas. We didn't notice any traffic or TGVs only birdsong. Orange is a small town but the ampitheatre is amazing and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightoniaWiesloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Located just outside Orange, this old farmhouse is situated in the middle of peaceful farmland. From looking at the photo album in the house, one can see that this couple lovingly restored this to make it the stunning B&B it is today. The room we stayed in on the ground floor was huge, with doors leading out on to a beautiful terrace. It also had air conditioning which was essential in the summer. There is a bar with a stunning terrace overlooking the fields, and an honesty book for you to write in when you help yourself to drinks. Breakfast is served in the beautiful courtyard, and the food was great. They don't offer dinner, but there is a lovely place called Le Petit Patio in Orange which is well worth a visit. The swimming pool, with views of the farmhouse and fields is spotless and it also has a jacuzzi bit to it. For winter visits there is a beautiful indoor pool and a Hammam. The B&B has a rustic feeling to it throughout and is very well maintained. We only stayed for one night, and we wished that we had stayed for a week! The hosts were delightful, although communication was tricky at times with our pigeon-French! We couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamAndJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I decided to write a review of Justin de Provence after seeing some negative reviews. I stayed at Justin in April, 2008, with my partner, for my birthday/Rhone Valley wine country trip.

In short, we LOVED justin de Provence. First of all, it is such a lovely place; it is an epitome of a French country garden/home. The place is gorgeous! The room we stayed in was spacious and beautifully decorated, as was the entire property. There is a pool and jacuzzi as well as a beautiful garden to hang out in. The kitchen, while small, is well stocked with all necessary cutlery, dishes, etc. The breakfast is served in a wonderful dining room, and the pastries and preserves were among the best I've had in a B&B; yes, even in France. But the best thing about Justin de Provence is the service. It is evident that the innkeeper (I forget her name, but she is quite lovely and speaks English well, which was a blessing for me since my French is pretty basic) loves her place and her job. She told us about the area and offered to take us along when she went to the fresh produce market. In fact, she came and got us in the middle of the night in Orange because we weren't able to find her place on the night that we were supposed to check in.

I look forward to going back to Justin de Provence. Next time, I am planning to bring my family and friends and stay there for a few week and enjoy the beautiful house and the area.

P.S. The general area (within driving distance) has a lot of amazing little villages with wonderful regional wines. Chateaneuf-du-Pape, Sablet and Gigondas were our faves, both for their (sometimes crumbling) architectural beauty and for their wines. But there are lots and lots of such small villages that are just breath-taking. I would definitely venture out to these areas and enjoy the Provence in all its country glory.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at J de P last June on a recommendation of a family friend who had stayed here some time ago. We stayed in their most expensive room for a long weekend and had high expectations of the place. We met the man of the house- and is wife was on holiday - so he was running the show.
Overall the place was OK - but seriously overpriced. We agree with other recent travellers - that standards have obviously dropped here and they are riding on the back of previous fame and repeat business.
Breakfast was only OK - the crossiants bought the day before were a tad stale.
Our room wasn't ready when we went to check in - and we weren't offered a complimentary drink while waiting.

All in all, we wont be returning - there are far nicer places to spend our hard earned cash on.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank champagne1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We went to Justin de provence expecting great things and what looked great in the photos on the website looked shall we say very tired.
This is one place that is not good value at 180 Euros per night. At maybe 90 Euros per night it would have been acceptable. We actually visited a beautiful hotel for dinner at a hotel in a nearby village that was priced at 160 Euros per night and it was imaculate. The restuarant there was also very good.
But, sitting down for a continental breakfast at Justin de Provence is not exactly peaceful with a nearby military airport and the TGV screaming by on the other side is is not very quite.
The pool was also dirty and while I was hot and longing for a swim I could not risk my health. The bar was also full of old cigarette butts ans smelled horrible. You cannot get food here unless it's breakfast. There is a kitchen you can cook in but also a very smelly one at that.
While i am not here to put the place down I do want to make sure that if you do pay 180 a nigtht then you know what you are in for.
Would I stay here again. Never. There are far more options. The local city Orange is also a little rough if oyu are taking a family and there are few good places to eat. The traffic is absoluteley shocking too so never pass through or you will be caught for a half hour at least.
Get some mossi cream or spray as there are the local mossies to deal with but they are not so bad.
So, I hope this has helped you in deciding where to stay.

Safe travels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VEJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Aurenjo
Villa Aurenjo
#3 of 8 in Orange
64 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Orange
Premiere Classe Orange
#16 of 18 in Orange
171 reviews
1 mi away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#6 of 18 in Orange
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Campanile Orange
Campanile Orange
#9 of 18 in Orange
167 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis budget Orange Echangeur A7 A9
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justin de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin de Provence

Address: Chemin du Mercadier, 84100 Orange, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $159 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Justin de Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing