We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of Provence”
Review of Le Mas des Etoiles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Mas des Etoiles
Ranked #1 of 52 Gordes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I had an exceptional time here. The setting was perfect, real provence and a great base to visit wonderful villages. Annette and Francois were warm and helpful, it was like being "en famille". The room of dreams was exactly that, we both slept perfectly in a quiet, clean, tasteful room. Breakfast was like a dream: set in a beautiful garden, freahly squeezed orange juice; freash local cheeses and patisseries; homemade confiture; fresh coffee. The attention to detail was impeccable. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvnFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 345 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was our second visit, the first was in 2007. Greeted by our hosts Anne and Francois Forest, the start of our two day visit was auspicious. Friendly, funny, warm, they showed us our outstanding room with a view over the gardens. The pool was situated in gardens, the water refreshing and perfect. Breakfasts outdoors were delicious. Anne would always sit with us and point out places to visit on a map. My husband and I highly recommend this well built, well run, beautiful Mas for your stay in Provence. All rooms are quiet, the air is sweet, a true getaway.
Near Gordes, there are so many beautiful villages to visit, and area restaurants prove all the fine things that are said about superb French cuisine. Go! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the "independent" rooms in the garden. But all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savannah45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in mid June. Our only regret is that we didn't plan to spend more time in the Luberon because once we saw this region and met our hosts, Annette and Francois, well, we we hooked! We chose this B&B based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and we werenot disappointed. This was our base for the day trips into the Luberon region. Perfect location and such a nice, clean, comfortable home to return to at the end of long, fun-filled days. The breakfasts were fresh, replete with Annette's homemade jams, and served on the lovely patio. We were in the "Sands" room....gorgeous and amazing bathroom! We so appreciated Francois' guidance with maps and restaurant suggestions and just being such a nice person. Annette's sense of humor filled us with joy and laughter. The refrigerator had plenty of room for guests to store a few things, the bottled water was complimentary, no food is allowed in guest bedrooms so no bugs were found in guest rooms!Great idea! We look forward to returning to this B&B in the future. Or, maybe Francois and Annette could just adopt us? Plus, their English is a lot better than our French. Merci beaucoup!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiedog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed again this year, after our really pleasant stay in 2011. Everything has gone as well as last year, even better. Francois keeps improving the rooms and adds additional services continuously. It's really really nice there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaelZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We made a booking at Francois & Annette based on the lovely pictures on their website. The subsequent email correspondence with Francois hinted at the special treatment that await guests. Their Mas turned out to be even more than we expected - gracious hosts, a beautiful property, fantastic rooms! We even got a 'free upgrade' to the Angels room, as it was still early season and it was vacant. Breakfast with the hosts and other guests were great and seemed like a family get together. This is an excellent base to discover the Luberon area and even more so with the map and useful travel information supplied by Francois - it contains everything from restaurant references to information on every village in the area.
The house and garden justifies spending some leisurley time right there. The proximity of some beautiful villages makes everything very accesible.
Our only regret is that we did not spend more time at the B&B -after 4 nights, we really regretted leaving this friendly people, wonderful house and beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ML C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week trip to France, where we stayed 5 nights @ Le Mas des Etoiles. In retrospect, we wished we spent the entire 14 nights there. Just a few minutes outside Gordes, this lovely B&B was just perfect - lovely and spacious room (Bird's Room) with a private patio and a huge/fantastic bathroom. The location was central - near everything, easy to explore some of the most beautiful towns in Provence. BUT the absolute best thing about Le Mas des Etoiles was Annette and Francois, the owners. These people are warm, gracious, helpful and just wonderful. They created a B&B with magical charm - Francois is the gardener and he tends to the grounds with love that he shares with his guests. Annette is the "grande dame" of the property - her breakfast jams are delicious and her personality exudes warmth and love. My husband and I felt like we were leaving family when we departed on our final day. Yes, the area is drop-dead gorgeous, but the best part of our stay in Provence, was meeting Annette and Francois and sharing their home for a few days - it was our quintessential Provencal experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

It is with some regret that I write this review about the most fantastic Bed and Breakfast in Provence, because I would like to keep it for my little secret. But, I will be generous with my wonderful experience and let the world know that Le Mas des Etoiles is THE place to stay when you are in Provence. Francois and Annette were delightful hosts, extremely helpful in making arrangements for restaurants and assisting me in getting information about touring the area. We were a group of 6 women ( I am the guide), and we loved the accommodations --- beautiful bathrooms and bedrooms, lovely breakfasts with homemade jams and breads and it was so nice that Annette and Francois both speak English so we could communicate easily. I wish my French was as good as their English!

Lovely home, lovely hosts, lovely gardens. And lovely Provence! I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. I stayed in the Sands room which had a wonderful bathroom with a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordes
4.5 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
1.4 mi away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#5 of 23 in Gordes
147 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Parfum Des Collines
Le Parfum Des Collines
#1 of 1 in Auribeau
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 56 in Avignon
378 reviews
8 mi away
Les Terrasses du Luberon
Les Terrasses du Luberon
#1 of 15 in Bonnieux
283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Terrasses
Les Terrasses
#7 of 52 in Gordes
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas des Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Etoiles

Address: la Dragonne | Les Imberts, 84220, Gordes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Gordes
Price Range: $230 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think twice before making your choice for a B and B !You are going to enjoy our “Chambres d’hôtes de charme”. Gordes is real great place to approach the Luberon Regional Park and most of Provence. For you, we have made it cool: Luxury and still casual. Now it can be classified as a Boutique Hotel. The house itself is stunning : Unique old white stones, a typical Provence garden with all kinds of Mediterranean plants and large views. Of course, the property is in a quiet environment. But it is close from restaurants etc … Decoration is stylish and imaginative, not cold-contemporary as often offered now. Annette has a taste for it. Everything is in tones in pastel, grey and light brown. Comfort is at a high level : Of course a soft air conditioning everywhere, a fair speed WIFi, a salted 12 X 5 swimming pool and many kinds of delicacies. And from 2013, a Pitch and Putt 9 holes golf course just here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Mas des Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing