We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Featureless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mas de la Senancole
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Gordes
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Featureless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here the first week if December. There wasn't much to choose from in the Michelin listings that time of year. Price was appealing: 100 euros the first night, 50 the second. But the price matched the room quality - unadorned and featureless. Plain bed. Cheap tile floor. No chairs, one stool. View of a wall with a light outside that kept room from getting dark. Simple shower stall with no tub. Indifferent staff. No place to walk to in this village. Breakfast was good, although only one kind of cheese.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    113
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
164
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have been to Gordes many times. We thought we would try this Inn as we had eaten at their restaurant and liked it very much. We booked for 4 nights. Well, the young woman who checked us in was so apathetic that we immediately felt we were bothering her. We asked about restaurants and she could only suggest next door. So, we decided to stay only two nights. When we checked out, she was as rude as when we checked in. Honestly, we had planned on 4 nights but her attitude drove us away. We found an absolute gem an hour South with a lovely restaurant so she did us a favor. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Warm welcome, decent room with a very nice shadey terrace, but the pool and the gardens and the restaurant next door made this hotel the best of our entire trip. The gardens were so pretty and relaxing, the pool heated to a very welcoming 26 degrees and very well placed to visit the beautiful town of Gordes. We will definately be coming back, only thing that spoiled our visit was a group of loud and opiniated Parisians who unfortunately followed on from the pool to the restaurant and then ruined the peace and quiet of breakfast by the pool but this was not at all the fault of the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the garden terrace rooms, very nice to sit in the shade and good access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We travelled with our four year old son and managed to book a room just a couple of weeks before our stay there. We were moved from one of the ground floor rooms up to one of the rooms with a little balcony and back because those were the only rooms left, but it didn't bother us at all since we explored Provence throughout the day and the staff moved our luggage while we were out and about. The hotel is a little outside of Gordes, so you'll need a car, but I am assuming that most people choosing this wonderful little place will travel by car anyhow. Plenty of parking is available in the front of the hotel. The rooms were clean, and I especially liked the room on the groundfloor which had a little terrace leading into the garden. The pool was wonderful and the garden is gorgeous. The only complaint I have about the hotel is that I thought it was just a little too pricey. However, I am aware that we travelled in peak season and I was glad that we found a gem like this. Again, the location is perfect, we stayed for four nights and saw Avignon, Sault, Gordes, Pont du Gard, went to Camargue, and the Canyon du Verdon. At the beginning of August, the lavender fields had mostly been harvested, but there was a wonderful scent of lavender still lingering in the air. The hotel and the location made our stay great, I'd go back there in a hearbeat, maybe earlier in the year though...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SR1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Wonderfull place. Should they improve the breakfast, it would raise to perfection. Excelent services, quiet and select location, brilliant for relaxation.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank forised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed in Les Mas de la Senancole at the end of july. We found the hotel friendly, charming and relaxing. The location was great for visiting the surrounding area. The adjacent restaurant L'Estellan is well worth a visit. We highly recommend it.


Robert & Helen Close
Banchory
Strachan
Aberdeenshire
Scotland

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night and I more or less agree with the other reviews. However I would like to add that the service is really not that good. Even unpleasant and unreliable at times.
The restaurant next door is nice and probably fantastic for somebody not so familiar with French cuisine however if you have travelled around, it is nothing special. Service not to be trusted.
The rooms upstairs are overpriced and note that at least the one we had, had just a small tiny window so you can't enjoy the nice scenery at all, feels like being in a decorated hospital room.
Finally and the most emazing is that you have to pay 2eur by person if you want to use the pool. And this is not clearly indicated anywhere so you just have to pay your bill next morning. It only says that it costs 2eur to have a pool towel from reception desk. We had to pay eventhough we didn't use any towel at all! Very rude. We were told by the hotel manager that she doesn't want to have customers like us in the hotel. So judge yourselves. This is very uncommon in France and most guests are foreign so do be aware.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mas84, Manager at Mas de la Senancole, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
I remind you very well Mister, the problem I had with you happened 3 weeks ago. Firstly I just wonder why you write in English and why you say that you are from Finland because this problem happened with a French customer?! I can confirm I told you that I do not wish to welcome customer of a bad faith and I can explain why, people who read comments have to know the truth.
The most amazing in your message is the lie concerning the swimming pool: people do not have to pay 2 euros to use it, people who do not have their own towel can rent a towel at 2 euros per person for all the stay, here is the difference. It is clearly specified on reservation confirmation, on our website and in rooms ( on the guide book and behind the door with rates ). When my receptionist saw you with bathroom towels from the room she came to see you near the swimming pool and she told you that it was forbidden to use those towels from the room and you had the possibility to rent our towels, but you completely ignored it because you continued to use bathroom towels anyway. That is the reason why you paid 4 euros for towels on departure; if you disagree with our rules ( You knew it before your arrival because it was clearly written on your reservation confirmation sent by e-mail that I showed you ) you should have chosen another hotel. This is not our fault if you forgot your own towels!
This is the first time that I have a such problem with a customer and believe me: this is the first time I have to tell I do not wish to have customer like that in my hotel but I cannot accept people of bad faith. When we make mistakes and faults we recognize it and try to do better for next time but this is unacceptable to tell false comments on Internet .
We have lost of foreigners in our hotel and they appreciate welcome and service.
However I can completely accept the fact that you did not like room decoration, people do not have the same tastes ( all our rooms have the same services). For the price your reservation was a "Bon Cadeau" and I can tell you that the price of this package is a low price for this season.
People will judge by themselves on different websites with lots of good comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordes hotels
2.6 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#11 of 25 in Gordes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#6 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#2 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
1.5 mi away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#10 of 25 in Gordes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de la Senancole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de la Senancole

Property: Mas de la Senancole
Address: Les Imberts, 84220, Gordes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Gordes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mas de la Senancole 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mas de la Senancole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing