We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of L'Encas

L'Encas
Ranked #14 of 87 Restaurants in Gordes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

Lovely restaurant in the square of Gordes serving reasonably priced large portions of good food. Their salads are particularly good as is the entrecôte. The plat du jour is excellent value too.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank tanagogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 320 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018

It's a bit disappointing that the set menu was over by the time I got there for lunch, but I had to settle for the regular menu. The portions are huge, large salads, large pasta and large pizza. You have to get one of the salads as there are many kinds with at least one bound to your liking. The salad are so fresh it's almost unbelievable. Prices are reasonable and food comes quickly no matter what you order and how many people are eating in the place. It's not a typical tourist place so there are quite a bit of local folks there too.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mw888mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We happened to be in this quaint little French village at lunch and stopped to get a bite to eat. I would never order a burger outside of the US because they are never as good. But this one looked exceptionally tasty, based on a young woman sitting nearby. I am not kidding you...this was the BEST hamburger I have ever eaten. They grind the meat and make the bread there. Even the fries were freshly made. I don't know what kind of seasoning they used, but I need to find out. My husband ordered an enormous salad that he devoured. There wasn't an item in it that didn't taste freshly picked from the garden. L'Encas is a little treasure.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

This one stands out for touristy lunch places. We had dos de saumon, salmon grilled, and started off with a salad with chicken and some other stuff. Well worth the prices.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lennart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Wanted to be riding but as it was raining we hit the market in L’isle sur la Sorgue and then lunch in Gordes. Wonderful view from up high but cool the day we visited. Found this little gem based on TA reviews and agree it’s a great place for lunch. Tasty food and large portions! Staff attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Encas also viewed

 
Gordes, Luberon
 
Saint-Pantaleon, Gordes
Goult, Gordes
 

Been to L'Encas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing