We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le Cadre est sympa; la nourriture sublime”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Mas Tourteron

Le Mas Tourteron
Ranked #38 of 74 Restaurants in Gordes
Price range: $38 - $73
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open for dinner Wednesday through Sunday (19h30 to 21h30), a la carte or Prix Fixe at 35 € lunch on Sunday (12h to 14h30), Prix fixe 67€
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Le Cadre est sympa; la nourriture sublime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I agree with the review just below this one. (We must have been there the same day as that reviewer was, for it was the only rainy afternoon in Septembre in 2013). The welcome was warm; the food was plentiful (I can eat a lot, but the magnificent "veritable soupe pistou" filled me up); and the service was very professional. I was not pleased with the glass of vin rouge I purchased for 8 Euros, which turned out to be a few ounces of the dregs of a bottle of Bandol. WE each had the lamb - served in two very different styles - and the "l'épaule confite quelques heures aux épices" was the most flavorful confection I ever ate.

We diner here three times over the course of several years. Unfortunately, each time we were distracted by a table of very loud Americans whose copious wine-drinking only made them louder. Alas, this time was no exception. I was embarrassed to be an American in that situation.

Peter J, Woodbury, CT

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbpj3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    23
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in a charming surround”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

You know you are in for a warm welcome as soon as you walk through the archway to the vine clad garden generously draped in lanterns. We were there for lunch on a rainy autumn day so I can only imagine how enchanting it would look on a fine summer night. However, the dining room is also generously candlelit and filled with interesting old furniture. The wait staff are very friendly and obliging and Madame Bourgeois came to check on us herself. This is very good home style cooking but with an elegant finish. Great use of local produce. Huge pastry cart if you still have room.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic, perfect Provençal food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Superb food, service and setting. Lovely gazpacho, amazing 2 types of lamb as one dish (one honey marinade, one stew), the wife said one of best 5 meals ever and then choose as many desserts as you want. Faultless. We ate at Les Borries night before (Michelin) which was v good but this was better. Faultless.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LenScen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolute disregard for customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having visited this restaurant ten years ago, and having very happy memories of it, we booked in February, through the website, for a special meal to celebrate my daughter's birthday in August. We drove from our villa an hour away and found the restaurant closed. On rereading the confirmation email we had received it did say that the reservation was subject to re-confirmation the day before, but come on... if you know you're going to close your restaurant that day surely you tell the customer who's booked and give them time to find an alternative, rather than leave them to work out that they haven't had a re-confirmation the day before? Where else is going to have a table for ten with a day's notice? We ended up having a pleasant meal at l'Estellan next door, but split across two tables...not the birthday treat we had intended. This is the most appalling customer service I have ever encountered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mungocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrogant service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Can't justifiably comment on food as we didn't get past the appetizers, but can comment on how unpleasant the service was and how the Gazpacho tasted of vinegar. When this was brought to the waiter's attention, we were asked if we'd like another one with no offer to change to the other appetizer which was Stuffed Fleurs de Courgettes. 15 minutes later we got our Gazpacho back, which had now become a creamy tomato soup and still tasted heavily of vinegar. All they had done was stir in some cream which did not mask the vinegar taste at all and made it look rather unappetizing. We eventually got the waiter's attention who sent the Maitre D who became incensed, saying that their clientele is International and no one ever complains, that she is the Chef's daughter - not sure what that was meant to say. We are locals, we all have houses and spend summers in the Luberon, live in New York and Hong Kong, we've all had Gazpacho before and know that it varies greatly and that's what makes it interesting, but when the taste is off, with no matter what ingredient, it's off. The whole experience was "French" arrogant, and we chose to leave due to their arrogance and lack of interest in customer satisfaction. If you want atmosphere, the setting is beautiful, but don't expect any attention, service or much else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mas Tourteron also viewed

 

Been to Le Mas Tourteron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing