We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fur coat, no knickers”
Review of Le Mas Tourteron

Le Mas Tourteron
Ranked #37 of 76 Restaurants in Gordes
Price range: $39 - $75
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open for dinner Wednesday through Sunday (19h30 to 21h30), a la carte or Prix Fixe at 35 € lunch on Sunday (12h to 14h30), Prix fixe 67€
tw
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“fur coat, no knickers”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I suspect the people who think this is a great restaurant should get out more.

Fabulous setting.

Chronic service, 2 hours for our mains to arrive. Maitre d' took orders then disappeared for the rest of the evening leaving inadequately trained staff to cover for the obviously overstretched kitchen.

Really folks his place is decent gastro-pub food and as for the fuss about the puds... they were ok but no more. So don't go for the food, it's ordinary but fancied up a bit.

I reckon at 55 euros it represents decent value for 4 reasonable courses actually, wen you get them.

The test is; would we go back? Probably not and would encourage people to avoid it until they start to treat their customers with a little respect. This is a place cruising on a past reputation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dale_curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    23
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very heavy but interesting dishes served in a beautiful setting but ruined by very disappointing service. The kind of service that actually ruins a meal. Difficult to do but this place achieved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Meganin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A blissful lunch in the garden of Luberon's best restaurant!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Luberon!
I have taken friends, and family there, and spend many heavenly lunches, and dinners on a balmy warm summer evening, leisurely enjoying Elizabeth's wonderful cooking among the trees in their walled garden. The food is fantastic (and much comes from their own garden), and then there are the deserts! Set out on a 2 tiered table in the garden where the choice can overwhelm you....Always reserve or you may be disappointed.
Enjoy...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NarrowRoadToFarNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday..”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had sunday lunch at the Mas Tourteron last week on the recommendation of some local friends who have had a holiday home nearby for years.. What a lovely meal in a lovely setting. Charming service from helpful young staff. The advantage of a limited menu is that it makes you order things that you would not normally try- it was strange to hear my 14 year old son say that he would love to eat stuffed courgette flowers again.
Totally recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sissinghurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Not returning”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Spoiled tuna was served to 3 of 8 in our group. All agreed it was way off - rotten and not edible. All 3 returned it but the chefs denied anything was wrong (and no concession was made when the bill came). That offset positives like good lamb and porc dishes. The setting seems nice at first but has a creepy edge if you look closer, like a bird cage with stuffed squirrel and duck. They encouraged us to sample broadly from the dessert buffet, but probably because the restaurant was empty - always a bad sign. There are many decent restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Obelix6840jpaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mas Tourteron also viewed

 

Been to Le Mas Tourteron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing