We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Countryside B & B! Charming and peaceful...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gordes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Moulin des Sources
Ranked #15 of 52 Gordes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Moulin des Sources is the perfect French country retreat. It is located in the enchanting countryside near Gordes. We drove through many apple orchards and olive groves (as well as vineyards and olive oil mills) on the way to Moulin. Gerard & Genevieve were gracious hosts - there was a bit of a language barrier as I spoke minimal French and Gerard spoke very little English. Gerard was creative and used Google Translate on his laptop to communicate so it worked out well. We were 2 couples and stayed in the Ocre and Ardoise rooms. Our Ocre room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. We had a magnificent walk in shower as well as a loft (ideal for travelers with children or plus 1). The home is historic and superbly renovated. We traveled in September and though the rooms did not have A/C, the weather was perfect - we slept with the French terrace doors open and enjoyed the starlit sky and sound of silence. The pool is magnificent, but was a bit too cold to dip into so we instead drank wine while lounging next to the pool amidst the pomegranate and fig trees.
Neighboring Gordes is spectacular and should not be missed. Also, Bonnieux is a short drive and is quite charming. The winery, home and grounds where 'A Good Year' was filmed is located at the foot of the town and a nice stopover.
Gerard recommended wonderful restaurants near Moulin - Le Vieux Bistrot and **Auberge de Lagnes. It was a short drive to Cassis and the Calanque as well as Aix en Provence for market day - well worth the drive.

*I will mention that we paid in advance for our rooms, but were not made aware of additional fees (perhaps for cleaning), which was a little surprising. I would encourage Gerard to open a PayPal account to avoid the hassle of bank transfers. You are welcome to pay cash upon arrival or departure, of course.

Overall, a wonderful B & B and accommodating hosts. A reasonable price for the rooms and breakfast. Will also mention that breakfast on the patio each morning was delightful and consisted of pastries, breads, jams, fruit, yogurt and coffee/juice. Thank you Gerard and Genevieve!

Room Tip: Ocre is on the 2nd floor with a French doors that open over the pool grounds. Perfect size for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just spent 7 nights at the wonderful Moulin des Sources. Although we'd never been there before, we for sure do not regret our 7 nights. Gerard gave us great tips on what, and when, to visit and his restaurant recommendations were fabulous. The breakfast prepared by himself and his wife Genvieve was also delicious, especially the fruit salad made with fruits from the local market. I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet spot in a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sienne but Ocre is also very nice. Do not that there are no 'hotel-style' ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndeltgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were enchanted by the lovely guesthouse run by Gérard and Geneviève. We stayed in the Sienne room, lovingly restored, as is the whole house, but with modern touches,such as a gorgeous modern open bath. The pool was so inviting after a hot day's sightseeing and our hosts always had good tips for restaurants in the area or for out-of-the-way attractions that might not be in the guidebooks. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, with homemade jams, fresh croissants of course, and also cakes and fresh fruit and yogurt. We really enjoyed chatting with the other guests, who came from all over the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place seems to be getting great reviews but I genuinely feel as though we had a slightly different experience with our three night stay. The room we stayed in - Ardoise - smelt really damp and was masked by timed air fresheners. The towels didn't get changed for fresh ones and they stayed wet throughout our stay in the rooms already damp atmosphere.... speaking of which the hosts Gérard and Geneviève didn't really seem like genuine hosts and we just felt awkward around them, especially when it came to settling the bill. I was informed by Gérard that it was "no cards - cash only" when I failed to notice the small print on their website, so I started panicking hoping to make up enough money to pay up… Luckily we did and Gérard's smile returned.

Considering our experience we decided not to use the pool or the rest of the house. I think if we were made to feel more welcome from the outset that we would've spent more time relaxing there but after the room being a bit disappointing it amounted to a feeling that we couldn't wait to leave.

So, if this is your first stay in Provence then I advise you to keep looking. In comparison, our first stop in Boulbon (just outside Avignon) was excellent for around the same price and we will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Ardoise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bobbybobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A very luxurious B&B. We only stayed one night, but the house and the rooms were top notch. Modern bathrooms (although if traveling with friends, note there is no door between the shower and the bedroom, could be awkward). Located on a very quiet street outside Gordes. The breakfast was excellent. We were disappointed to miss the Table d'Hotes, as the kitchen was truly spectacular. Note that the hosts don't speak much English, though we didn't mind.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTravelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the suite celadon & it was lovely - comfortable & spacious - beautifully decorated - the shower was wonderful.

breakfast which was included was very pleasant.

we didn't use the pool or the garden but they looked lovely.

we would certainly go there again although a word of warning the Moulin is not air conditioned - it was hot when we were there - about 36-38 maximum during the day & it was still warm at night. we did have a fan in the room but it wasn't sufficient for the second night & we had a fitful sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We spent a week exploring the area which is beautiful with the fall colors and we staied six nights at Geneviève and Gerard's. They warmly welcomed us into their charming traditional "Mas" . It was a very old mill which produced olive oil. In the morning we took our breakfast (with delicious fruit preserves made by Gerard) in a large living room whose ceiling authentic beige stone of the region was fully bent. Our suite room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated in pastel shades of the region. This a place full of charm that is very well located. We will certainely go back to discover new small villages of this beautiful region.
Pascal & Sandrine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordes hotels
2.5 mi away
Mas de la Beaume
Mas de la Beaume
#10 of 52 in Gordes
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bacchus en Luberon
Bacchus en Luberon
#13 of 52 in Gordes
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Domaine Les Martins
Domaine Les Martins
#8 of 52 in Gordes
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Les Terrasses
Les Terrasses
#7 of 52 in Gordes
139 reviews
5.8 mi away
Les Passiflores
Les Passiflores
#1 of 10 in Roussillon
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Mas des Etoiles
Le Mas des Etoiles
#1 of 52 in Gordes
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin des Sources? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin des Sources

Address: Les Gros, 84220, Gordes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Gordes
Price Range: $143 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing