We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty Sheets, Yikes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Burliere Guest House
Ranked #18 of 50 Gordes B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty Sheets, Yikes!”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This property is charming, but the sheets had not been changed from the previous guest. This Guest house has both the disadvantage of having to drive to restaurants and other services, and none of the quietness of a country setting. It's location backs up onto a very busy road.

Because of other reviews on this site, we arranged to have dinner here one night and for 28 Euros each, we had the worst dinner of our entire stay in Provence. It was boiled. Boiled fish, boiled vegetables. The dessert was excellent, however, and meeting the other guests was a very nice experience.

The breakfast was skimpy; nothing but bread and coffee.

For what this guest house offers, they should be charging only 60-70% of their current rate.

I do not recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsfield Bay
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Great place to stay, well managed by the owners & Gordes should be on your must see list for France.
Eating in for your evening meal is excellent, however breakfast menue needs to have a little more variety for non French travellers who enjoy a hardier meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHorsfieldBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed in Oliviers room for 6 nights - great experience! Room was very comfortable, overlooking the fountain and courtyard. Only minor negative is that the room's bathroom faces the road, so there was minor car and truck noises (remedied by making sure the bathroom door was shut when we went to sleep). Breakfast was absolutely wonderful - freshly baked croissants/brioche and the most delicious baguette I've ever had! Homemade jams and wonderful French butter to complement. Definitely book dinner at La Burliere - some of our best meals were there, and there were limited (and not good value) restaurants in Gordes. We had a few meals in Gordes and were very disappointed (expensive, and not the best quality; plus usually forced into a set menu) - better to eat at La Burliere; just make sure you have a healthy appetite as it includes starter, main course, cheese, and dessert! Was also nice to have dinner at the B&B so we could enjoy the wine and not worry about driving back on the narrow, dark winding roads. Highly recommend La Burliere and definitely would go back again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Our room, Oliviers, had a bathroom vent that faced out to the road, so there was minor noise. Belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I couldn't agree more than what have been said in all the positive reviews of this lovely Provencal guest house. This is the first time I've travelled to the south of France and I did some research and read many reviews before I decided on my choice. The ambience of this guest house was indeed lovely. You might miss the entrance from the main road so you'll have to keep a look out for the small brown signboard bearing its name. I also like it that my room has a wall mounted air conditioning unit and the window panes are double glazed so that it is cool at the right temperature and it's quiet. It's very good value for what you're paying.
The ancient villages-Gordes, Goult, Lacost, Bonnieux and Roussillon, perched on hills are all within short 15min to 40min easy drive from each other. Do visit the Village des Bories, the Sentier des Ocres (expect to walk down and climb back up the valley) and Fontaine-de-Vaucluse. We started our journey from Montpellier airport to pick up our car rental and drop off at Marseille airport. The process was a breeze and customer friendly. I suggest that you have a GPS when you drive so as to enjoy your exploration of the region in a carefree manner. When you are in Provence....you'd want to live if not a year, a week without a strict itinerary. Voyage de la Vie!......just enjoy :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moi_mooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Above of all, the owners, Marinette, Isabelle and Thierry are very welcoming and so friendly. They made our stay a real pleasure.
La Burlière is a wonderful place to stay. It is an old typical “Provençal” house, very nice and so pretty. It is well located to visit the Luberon, not far from the most beautiful and famous places of this fabulous region of France (Gordes, Roussillon, Fontaine de Vaucluse,…)
The rooms are spacious, comfortable, nice and well decorated.
We used their swimming pool during hot afternoons, which was also great and very nice.
A great breakfast is served in the pleasant courtyard. It is a great moment a pleasure in this so beautiful place.
We had dinner there almost every evening. The cuisine of Isabelle, a Provencal country cooking, is so good and we enjoy so much. Moreover, as you do not have to drive, you can relax and drink good and typical Provencal wine. These dinners in La Burlière was so friendly and the ambiance so warm and nice, they will remain in our memory as real moments of happiness.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancoisandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

beautiful place, fine dining and the owners very friendly, best of Provence.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voayager5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This guest house is well located to visit the Luberon or to just take it easy around the swimming pool (little chlorine, mostly salt).
It is in an old farm-style house and ran by two very nice and efficient sisters (I think). Rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast is served in the morning in the pleasant courtyard.
We'll come back if we return to the area!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethnologue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordes hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#5 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#10 of 25 in Gordes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#2 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Mas des Romarins
Le Mas des Romarins
#13 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Burliere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Burliere Guest House

Property: La Burliere Guest House
Address: quartier la Senancole | Quartier de la Sénancole, 84220, Gordes, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Gordes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast and evening meals in Provence.Friendly hospitality at Mas de la Burlière, built in the 17th century and carefully restored in the purest tradition.Gordes, one of the most beautiful villages in France.Located in the heart of the Provence countryside, between the Luberon and Vaucluse mountains,30 minutes from Avignon (TGV train station, airport, motorways),45 minutes from the Mont Ventoux "the Giant of Provence"and 60 minutes from Camargue country.Isabelle, Marinette & Thierry, will welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Burliere Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing