We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Ty Newydd-Y-Llwyn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodfari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Newydd-Y-Llwyn
Ranked #2 of 4 Bodfari B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We walked the Offa's Dyke and booked for one night. The welcome, the accommodation, the evening meal, the breakfast were simply fantastic. Our hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful. The location for our needs was perfect. I shall definitely be returning for a longer stay!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a glorious place with fantastic views/walks and so peaceful. Judith and Oliver are so welcoming and make every effort to make your time there extra special. You do require a car to get to places but the peacefulness and views are just so brilliant that it is lovely just to relax in the garden and watch all the butterflies etc. My family and I went to celebrate my parents 65th wedding anniversary and Judith had left a card, bottle of bubbly and one of her famous cakes to help us celebrate. I would recommend that everyone stays here as it is so brilliant, we had four days and would have enjoyed lots more!

Room Tip: This is more than a b&b more like a cottage to yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank regal13tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Four of us walking Offa's Dyke north. Llandegla to Bodfari is a LONG way, with hills!
We called ahead to say we'd be late. Met by Judith on the lookout for us.
Immediate serving of Eldeflower cordial, followed by tea and cake.
Then, because the local pub (0.8 miles away) had only a hog-roast, she cooked us an excellent meal.
All in the immaculate cottage she and Oliver have rebuilt.
Super-comfortable with lots of interesting books.
What more can we add? Ah yes, breakfast. Splendid.

Chris & Val

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChriswithaModelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for a night on the bank holiday weekend whilst walking a leg of the Offa's Dyke Trail. Accommodation is in a wonderful cottage with 2 bedrooms, lounge (with amazing fireplace), large dining kitchen and shared bathroom (with bath & separate shower). Judith is a lovely host and we were greeted with homemade cake and tea and coffee - a nice touch and most welcome after a long day's walking. There were three of us and it was more like a (better than) home from home rather than a B&B. Judith came in next morning to set up & cook breakfast for us and sent us off on our next day's walking with some lovely sandwiches and more cake. Judith has walked Offa's Dyke so was able to offer some welcome advice to shorten our walk as we would have bitten off too much and not enjoyed it as much as we did. A memorable stay and would have been nice to stay longer to further enjoy the hospitality and the local sights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UkWorldtraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in this lovely cottage set high on a hill overlooking gorgeous welsh countryside, just a stone's throw from Offas Dyke, for a short break in April 2013. The cottage is spotlessly clean and very functional and has everything you need and more for a self sufficient stay but is also really cosy and comfortable. Judith was very welcoming and lives in the beautiful converted barn next door. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. The master bed is huge and we both slept really well - completely peaceful and restful setting. The best thing of all is the location - you walk straight out the back of the cottage onto a vast hillside with lots of walks available literally on the doorstep and a plethora of stunning views. A short drive away is the attractive coast and also a large number of lovely National trust properties and castles. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in this area, especially if looking for beautiful scenery and walks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ty Newydd-Y-Llwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd-Y-Llwyn

Address: Ysgubor Ystlum | Waen, Bodfari LL16 4DE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Bodfari
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bodfari
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Newydd-Y-Llwyn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Newydd y Llwyn is a beautiful, recently restored 250 year old cottage. It is situated high up on the Clwydian Range in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and has fantastic views of the Vale of Clwyd. There are many original features to enjoy including an inglenook fireplace with wood-burner, exposed beams and rafters and a roll-top, cast iron bath alongside modern appliances. There is a double room, high ceilinged and overlooking the garden with bookcase, wardrobe and plenty of storage space. A second large twin bedroom up 3 steps, has exposed rafters, a Victorian sink with antique tiles and pine drawers. The antique bath and sink sit alongside a very modern shower cubicle in the separate bathroom.The kitchen overlooks the garden and vegetable patch and is well equipped for the discerning cook with cabinets made from old pews doors and a slate work surface. It is a large room with a high ceiling, exposed timbers, a light and airy room in which to have meals and relax. It leads through to a utility room with Belfast sink and washing machine.The wildlife garden is home to many species and there to be enjoyed by guests in all seasons. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing