We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secret Gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodfari, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TinaH4025
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Secret Gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

After a summer of working split shifts with my husband over the summer holidays we were looking for a last minute get away with the kids before school started, we found this place on last minute deal and 48 hours later we set off on an adventure.
We were not sure if we were going the right way down a winding lane but the Sat nav didn't let us down! We were given good instructions, as soon as we pulled up and got out of the car the kids were off exploring the landscape !
The cottage was warm clean and cosy, lovely kitchen, logs and firelighters and matches! The views are amazing! We got a Tesco delivery as well to this address which saved a load of hassle.
The kids really enjoyed the environment and free ranged it whilst we were at the property and we could keep an eye on them from the little courtyard, we managed to have a bbq as well, picked blackberries, met some cows and a pig, quality family time.
Loads of places to go without driving for hours. We all walked Moel Famau and did the beach and castles.
We all slept so well, waking up with a cup of tea in big bed with a book and windows open over looking the lake listening to the kids playing outside was heaven! We definitely coming back next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmars...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“So dissapointing Dirty”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Booked this cottage 1st -8th sept 17 we stayed one night just to give Sykes cottages time to find us an alternative.It was dirty ,the mattresses were badly stained cobwebs,broken and dirty kitchen bin,settee was mucky dirty sock and food under neath it ,bathroom not cleaned properly ,patio Windows were filthy.Garden furniture not fit to sit on, barbecue was rusty with a hole in bottom and tab ends in .sykes cottages couldn't find us a suitable alternative so had to go home received a full refund and £100 compensation but our family holiday was ruined

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliceevan...
Aberdaron, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My husband and i stayed at this beautiful cottage with out three year old and one year old and our little dog. It was extremely cosy and we really loved the log burning stove. The kitchen is brand new and was well equipped, and the open plan living really suited us as we could keep an eye on our children. The enclosed yard allowed us to let our dog roam without the worry about him wondering off. The views and facilities at the farm we wonderful, great walking, fishing and swimming. Our three year old and the dog loved exploring the farm and made wonderful friends with the locals! Would definitely stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim c
Carluke
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything you would need”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We Stayed here from the 25th of June for 1 week. We are a family of 5 and our friends rented the cottage next to this one they are a family of 4.
Brand new kitchen and dishwasher has just been installed and its lovely. We got our Tesco food shop delivered right to the door on the day we arrived. Nice size dining table too. The couch was a bit uncomfortable, but we were outside most of the time anyway. Bedrooms lovely fresh and very clean. Comfy beds and pillows. not a lot of storage space. Bathroom was large again very clean and towels included. The owners are lovely very friendly and welcoming and they even put the pool on a few days early so the kids could enjoy it longer. The pool was freezing cold I didn't go in but the kids said it was frozen cold. It was very hot outside so that may be why it was so cold. The kids loved feeding the pig and we loved all the space around us. We loved that our friends were just next door and it ment at night all the kids could go out and play together. it was a lovely relaxing holiday with plenty of things to do if you wanted to. Would love to come back in a few years time. I would recommend you print off your directions as a back up and there isnt very good signal here for internet or phone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The space
Liked least: The sofa
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honkleton
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our accommodation following day 1 of the Offa's Dyke walk and we weren't disappointed. The accommodation was a double room within a converted farm outbuilding so character with contemporary fit out . Woke up to birdsong within a tranquil setting and an incredible breakfast - one of the very best during our trip staying in 13 accommodations. The owner Hughie was a delight. One piece of advice - if you don't have a car, confirm with Hughie that pick up from village pub (and return for dinner at the pub) is possible as it was for us on the night.. A local took us back to our accommodation from the pub.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian L
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited the location of this cottage for the 3rd time recently but the 1st time hiring this cottage.

It's been 6 years since our last visit and the general condition of the cottages has gone down hill since.

There needs to be a general updating of the internal and externals as its not 5 stars these days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: general condition of the property
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing