We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offa's Dyke Path Walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glan Clwyd Isa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodfari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glan Clwyd Isa
Ranked #1 of 5 Bodfari B&B and Inns
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Offa's Dyke Path Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

A one night stop, but was made very welcome with a cream tea on arrival. From a walking point, Hugh collected me from the village and returned me back in the morning for me to carry on the walk. The grounds are idillac with ponds and lots of wild life.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank plyon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
51
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

We went up to North Wales for the weekend and stayed in the B&B. Hugh and Linda were absolutely wonderful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We were instantly made to feel at home. The location was stunning and the accommodation was like home from home. The breakfast was delicious. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We visited this B+B as the last stop on our walk along The Offa's Dyke Path. Along the way we had encountered varying standards of accommodation and certainly many types of host. This was round and about the best. From the moment they collected us from the path to the moment we were dropped off back on the path I felt at ease and more importantly at home.
The B+B is set in a country farmhouse that is a family home, and whilst you're their guests they make you feel as part of the family.
The rooms were an excellent size and well dressed. The Bathroom is not en-suite but that should not disappoint.
Breakfast was great - John, our host, poached us all fresh eggs that accompanied a delightful full english. We had local thick bacon and most importantly a decent sausage. Finally, after 12 days of cooked breakfasts it was great to find well cooked mushrooms that were well seasoned and tasty!
Personally I'd like to thank them both for making the end of our trip so lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothypeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed here for B&B over night on our successful Offas Dyke walk.
Rooms were absolutely splendid and the evening meal and breakfast were the best!
Hugh and Linda were the most congenial of hosts and made us most welcome.
It is not an easy location to find when you are walking however it is more than worth it when you do!
It might be an idea to perhaps provide more toileteries for their guests who carry limited supplies with them.
A first class stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazeljogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

I have been to Glan Clwyd Isa and I loved it - I was there working on a Film in the valley and it was a total surprise -

the asparagus and eggs for breakfast was totally delicious and if i was back in London I would have paid 14£ for this - instead it was free and part of such a great B&B. Thank you Hughie and Linda for an amazing stay and i will be there again - highly recommended for any production crews.

I would pay double !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleJoeChamonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed at this cottage for a week at the end of May 2010. It was just perfect! The cottage has everything you could possibly need in there. The kitchen is brilliantly equipped - in fact better equiped than our own home! It was also great that there were loads of leaflets and maps in a cupboard to show local attractions. We also liked the books which were left out on the coffee table - a lovely touch.
The owners very kindly gave us some eggs half way through the week from their own chickens which were especially nice. They also had resident swans and cygnets which wandered around the pond and nearby lake.
The bedroom and bathroom are furnished to an extremely high standard. The bed is massive and really comfy and the bath is huge. There was also lots of space in the wardrobe which was useful.
We will definitely be going back at some point and will recommend this cottage to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasperBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

Real cottage in a beautiful setting. Superb hospitality with lifts when needed. Wonderful breakfast to give walkers of the Offa's Dyke Path a great start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodfari
8.4 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
7.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pentre Mawr Country House
Pentre Mawr Country House
#1 of 1 in Llandyrnog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tan-yr-Onnen
Tan-yr-Onnen
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castle House B&B
Castle House B&B
#3 of 7 in Denbigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan Clwyd Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Clwyd Isa

Property: Glan Clwyd Isa
Address: Glan Clwyd Isa Waen, Bodfari LL16 4BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Bodfari
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bodfari
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glan Clwyd Isa offers stunning accommodation which is set on a small farm In Denbighshire, in an area of outstanding natural beauty. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing