We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offa's Dyke day 2” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glan Clwyd Isa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodfari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glan Clwyd Isa
Ranked #1 of 5 Bodfari B&B and Inns
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Offa's Dyke day 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Very welcoming, congenial hosts. Tea and scones on arrival, glass of wine at 6, lift to and from pub in evening, delicious breakfast. Unfortunately the bedroom was a bit small and lacked any extras - eg hairdrier, shampoo, glass of water. But not really complaining!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMBBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glanclwydisa, Owner at Glan Clwyd Isa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
On a bit of a role here with the no extras bit, we don't supply tiny freebee bottles of shampoo, body lotion and sewing kits. We do supply large bottles of liquid soap/shampoo and Radox if your the one with the bathroom. We also have hairdryers, if it was not in the dressing table draw all you needed to do was ask. Glasses and bottled water on the landing or in each room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
51
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We thought perhaps we were unlucky that we were staying on a Sunday, when there is no chance for an evening meal at the local pub. Instead, we were treated to some of the best home-cooked grub we've ever had, an enormous three course feast put on for us and three other Offa's Dyke hikers by owners Hugh and Linda. For £12 a head we got fresh asparagus - picked literally ten minutes before we walked through the door - a huge and hearty steak and ale pie, plus a vegetarian pasta bake for the two veggies, with vegetables and potatoes on the side, followed by gooseberry crumble and custard. A couple of bottles of red wine were passed around without extra money changing hands. I challenge you to find a better meal, in such great quantities, for so little a price.

Then there was the hospitality: greeted with tea and scones when we walked tired and hungry through the door, treated to enjoyable reminiscenses about Hugh and Linda's varied and entrepreneurial career(s), given a lift back to the path in the morning after a delicious breakfast. Really delightful couple who really know how to run a B&B. The room, too, was nicely done, with a (not en suite) private bathroom of generous proportions.

In all, couldn't recommend this place highy enough, and it is well worth going out of your way for.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tristan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

very friendly owners and helpful. Further off Offa's Dyke path than we thought but they picked us up, reserved a table at the lovely local pub and acted as taxi service. Would not have liked adding all those extra miles onto our day's walking. My only reservation was the room itself which had was fairly small and had absolutely no extras - not even a glass to have a drink of water! Towels were thin and there was far too much unnecessary furniture in such a small room. Too bad. Ambience was lacking too. Breakfast was Ok but reheated so dry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glanclwydisa, Owner at Glan Clwyd Isa, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We never reheat our food, we take great delight in cooking a great breakfast . We cook a traditional AGA breakfast with all the food cooked inside the AGA except the eggs which are cooked on top. We use our own dry cured bacon and free range eggs, not sure what you mean re 'no extras'. Homemade scones with jam and cream, freshly ground coffee and tea on arrival and a pick up and drop off from he path which is a mile away were all accepted. Great value at £30 per person per night I hope the only dry thing on offer here is our sense of humour !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

this was a great B&B one and a half miles off the trail but came to collect us and took us back next day

they had got the booking wrong should have been twin room but they thought it was a double so we got a double room each very comfortable and superb breakfast best on the whole trail

only drawback took us to the pub but had to walk back 1.5 miles after 17.5 mile day as they would have had a drink (nothing is perfect though)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

By far the best B&B on our stop over points. The room's were spacious and the beds were lovely and comfortable, and the host's were really lovely people who made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was top class made with quality ingredients. Evening Dinner was made special by having fresh Asparagus for appetisers which had just been picked that evening and was amazing.
Would highly recommend and was incredibly good value and will definitely be back with the London boys. ;))

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I would recommend this B&B to anyone undertaking the Offa's Dyke Trail. The room was large and comfortable. The views were beautiful and included a sight of our route south into the hills.
Our breakfast choice was a 'full welsh' of the finest order which well and truly set us up for the day's trek! Hugh was an excellent host. He looked after us very well and set us down on the path after breakfast. You'll not do better in my opinion.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 55hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed with Hugh and Linda last night. A party of 8 male walkers.
We were treated to a very welcome reception of hot tea and coffee, scones and good cheer after a 12 mile walk. Then, later, given a lovely home cooked meal, local ales and great Lauguedoc wine, while they retreated and left us to enjoy their beautiful home, open fire and comfortable living room. The rooms and beds are perfect, the showers hot and the baths deep. In the morning we were treated to local yoghurt, bacon and sausage... A truly great stop off point on our Offa's Dyke oddysey. Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodfari
8.4 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
7.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pentre Mawr Country House
Pentre Mawr Country House
#1 of 1 in Llandyrnog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tan-yr-Onnen
Tan-yr-Onnen
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castle House B&B
Castle House B&B
#3 of 7 in Denbigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glan Clwyd Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Clwyd Isa

Property: Glan Clwyd Isa
Address: Glan Clwyd Isa Waen, Bodfari LL16 4BT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Bodfari
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bodfari
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glan Clwyd Isa offers stunning accommodation which is set on a small farm In Denbighshire, in an area of outstanding natural beauty. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing