We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place that's described, defiantly NOT a boutique hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights last week, after reading the reviews on tripadvisor I was sure it was going to be a nice little place, afterall the place gets good reviews.... God knows why!

So it's soulless to begin with, there's zero atmosphere, and whilst the gentleman was a very pleasant chap the lady was as stern as stern can be, the wifi does not work in the rooms, contrary to what she says it doesn't, a 2 minute use of her computer was strictly forbidden!

Then there's the breakfast for €12 each, well all I can say is get in quick, because once it's gone it's gone, and the amount that is laid out, that doesn't take very long. It's like being on rations, we were asked how we would like our eggs, scrambled was the decision, which came up on a tea saucer with room to spare..

It's clean I will say that, clean and basic is how best to describe it, bit like a clean motel really.

Use it as a base maybe, go out for breakfast unless it's included and if it is then get there early! But do not be going here for any other purpose because you will disappointed believe me.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whitehalljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ririlolo, Propriétaire at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Bonjour,
When you arrived with your so nice and big BENTLEY we hope that you made the good choice with our hotel...we have a nice charming 3 stars hotel but not a palace or a 5 stars and not also a boutique hotel.
After the first day you seemed like to enjoy your stay and we try to make you happy with our services. The wifi works into all the rooms except the bungalow close to the pool, far from the office. At the office the guests print their boarding pass always free of charge and can have a look on their e-mail if they want...We explained you the first day that the breakfasts is served from 8 to 10.30 and you took it the last day...you arrived at 10.29 but you eat everything you want with the time you need...
We are disappointed with your advise as we thought we made our best for you... but probably not enough.
We have lots of nice guests with Mercedes or Porsche or other big cars and never had problem so I think definitely that the mind or the good manners are not dependent of the car.
Sorry if it was not what you expected.
We will continue to do our best and will hope to satisfy our guests, we are not perfect but nobody...

Regards,
Eric DEWILDER
The Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

As already mentioned, this hotel has a nice view from the terrace. The breakfast was lovely with nice croissants, bread, cheese, meats, cereals and even eggs and pancakes (although you must pay extra as it is not included in room price). We thought the walk to and from the bay would be fairly easy, in reading past reviews. In reality it is not too bad going down but not much fun coming back up as the roads' pathways are VERY narrow with oncoming traffic and LOTS of stairs. We had to take the little number 80 bus but it is a bit of a wait for it to come and go. Having said that, the location of this hotel is very handy for getting to places like Eze, Monaco and Nice as the bus stop is only a few steps from the front door and we were in Eze within a 15 minute bus drive. The lady and man who run this hotel are very charming. Villafranche is such a gorgeous place to visit as is Eze and Nice. Three of our favourite spots in our tour of Europe. Viva la French Riviera!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangipani40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I highly recommend staying in this hotel. A beautifully decorated boutique hotel, with the best breakfast we came across in the South of France - try the pancakes! Lovely pool with plenty of sun loungers. Very friendly and helpful staff. Villefranche sur Mer is 5mins drive or 20 minutes walk down the hill - very scenic on the way down, but would be a challenge to walk up for unfit/elderly/with children. The hotel doesn't serve food other than breakfast, but does serve beverages, wine, coffee etc during the day. There is a nice Bistro 2 minutes walk away, and Villefranche sur Mer has plenty of excellent restaurants. I am definitely planning to stay in this lovely hotel again - it is a pleasure to visit!

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful place for a relaxing holiday.It is perched on the hillside overlooking the bay of Villefranche.The owners Laurence and Eric are very welcoming and attentive , as are all their staff who go out of their way to advise on local restaurants and places of interest.
The breakfast is superb and can be taken on the terrace with magnificent views of the bay where often cruise ships are at anchor.
The hotel rooms are very comfortable and clean, with effective air conditioning.
Steps lead down through landscaped gardens to a beautiful pool where towels are provided for hotel guests.
Villefranche Sur Mer can be accessed on foot, car or bus. There are numerous good quality restaurants. It is well worth asking Laurence , Eric or Miatthew to advise you. Our favourite was les Garcons.
The boat trip to Monaco(2hours/ 19 euros) is spectacular as is the walk around the headland at Cap Ferrat. Eze, Biot and St Paul de Vence are also worth visiting.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the sea are excellent , some have individual terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 8Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved our 3 night stay here - perfect. Ville Franche Sur-Mer is beautiful and this hotel is ideally situated. Matthew was very helpful and went out of his way to guide us on things to do. Would definitely go back - highly recommend !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saleh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Location is far from Nice aiport, so you will need to take a cab. The hotel is also quite far uphill, so would only recommend walking to those who like steep hills. Otherwise I found the hotel to be quiet, friendly, clean and accommodating.

The rooms were tiled and spacious. Even though they were basic, they had everything i needed while working at the french riviera.

There is a pool, which i didn't make use of, so can't comment on it.

Breakfast which was included, was basic but good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

If you're not fussy and want a basic, clean and comfortable room - i would recommend. If you're a 5* resort type of person or at least looking for something slightly luxurious, then this is not the place for you. I would certainly stay here again, if on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ririlolo, Propriétaire at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour monsieur,

Merci pour votre commentaire sur tripadvisor.
Je suis obligé de rétablir quelques vérités pour que tous les clients puissent avoir les bonnes informations.
Nous sommes a environ 25/30 minutes de l'aéroport en voiture mais il y a aussi le bus pour rejoindre notre hôtel, l'arrêt "col de Villefranche" est à 50 mètres de l'hôtel.
Prenez le bus 98 (terminal 1 ou 2), 4 euros stop "Le PORT" puis le bus 14 ou 82 ou 112, 1,50 euro stop "Col de Villefranche", soit 5,50 le transfert Aéroport-Hôtel.
Le petit déjeuner n'est pas inclus, il est à 12 Euros par personne, 8 pour les enfants et Gratuit pour les moins de 4 ans.
Nous avons effectivement un hôtel 3 étoiles entre 140 et 155 euros la chambre double en haute saison, si vous préférez un 5 étoiles il faudra ajouter quelques centaines d'Euros pour une nuit...

Recevez nos plus cordiales salutations,
Eric DEWILDER
Directeur
Hôtel La Fiancée du Pirate***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Was referred to this hotel only through Trip Advisor.
I decided to take the jump and trust my fellow Trip Advisors and I was extremely satisfied!

This small hotel oozes charm, relaxation and class. It has a very homy feel, and everything feels home-made (don't expect things to be standardised like chain hotels where everything is generic and branded.)

The location is great, but requires having a car (preferably) as it is not directly on the beach (it's up in the mountains, a short ride from the Villefranche sea-front); It is close to a mini-supermarket and a good fast-foodish restaurant (Brasserie du Col).
Had a great time and would definitely come back to la Fiancee du Pirate; Villefranche-Sur-Mer was my favourite place to stay on the Cote!

Highly recommended,

P

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate

Address: 8 boulevard de la Corne D Or | Moyenne Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: $110 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel at Villefranche sur Mer, Cote d'Azur Nice sea view and pool between Nice and Monaco We have double rooms, twin beds rooms, triple rooms, quadruple rooms and two nice bungalows, WIFI gratuit dans tout l'hotel Free WIFI access at the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fiancee Du Pirate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing