We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic New Year trip to Villefranche” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Certificate of Excellence
Villefranche sur Mer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Year trip to Villefranche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at New Year. The owner's Mum was really accommodating, friendly and keen to help us explore the area. The room was lovely with the most amazing view of the rade de Villefranche. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea-Clair06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    78
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
85
134
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Arriving at the hotel we were met by a warm welcome and made to feel at home straight away. The bar plus terrace with stunning views was earmarked for a nightly gin and tonic. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed, though the loo in our room was dangerously close to the seating area! Plenty of hot water for showers. The breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty of choice with fresh fruit and crepes included. The eggs were sometimes a bit undercooked for British tastes, but I thought the meals were good value. (Hotel breakfasts are never exactly cheap.) The lunches were just the job, and again, how lovely to sit on the terrace and watch the cruise liners in the bay. The owners and staff were all very helpful with advice and practicalities such as booking taxis, and really nothing was too much trouble. Everything was done willingly and efficiently. Not a Gallic shrug to be seen! The steps to town were a difficulty, but we found coming out of the hotel and going left, then down past the tennis courts was much easier than going by the steps. (Perhaps a quick map would help?) A few times we had trouble getting a taxi, and had to walk back once. If you have mobility problems, this could be tricky. The old town and port are beautiful with lots of high quality restaurants, and the beach is very accessible by bus, with calm, warm waters.
We managed various trips to Nice, Monte Carlo and San Remo by bus/train. The cheap buses (1E) make up for expensive taxis. (Note to Italian train companies - clean your trains at night like everyone else!)
Despite the few problems, I am giving five stars because the hotel was charming, the owners welcoming, and Villefranche a quaint little place to visit.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, don't choose the seaview rooms. Also, for somewhere to sit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frimz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed two weeks at La Fiancee in August 2012 and really could not have had a better time. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice big shower and plenty of space outside for sitting, drying swimsuits etc. At night it was very quiet and peaceful. Eric works hard to maintain the pool area and it's absolutely spotless, with comfortable loungers and an amazing view over the bay. We really appreciated the fact that pool towels were provided as it saved us lots of room in our suitcase! It really is the perfect spot to relax, and the hustle and bustle of the world seems very far away (going to Nice is quite a shock to the system, it's so busy in comparison!). There's a small supermarket nearby, which is very handy, plus a boulangerie/patisserie, post office, chemist and brasserie.

While the location is undeniably beautiful, it is a little impractical if you don't have a car, as we didn't. The walk back up the hill each night from the town was a killer - half an hour, and very steep all the way. It's such a shame that the last bus is at 7pm. A taxi costs 15 euros, which is fine if you're only there one or two nights but not ideal if you're staying for longer. To make this hotel really perfect, it would be so great if they offered a shuttle service back from the town each evening at, say, 11pm.

But we would still stay here again despite this because the hotel was so comfortable and relaxing and Eric and Laurence were so hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel is well situated and you do need a car, but there is good parking on the street.
From an unassuming exterior, the great pleasure is arriving to a wide elevated view of the bay.
My wife and I stayed 2 weeks at the start of August 2012, and loved our time. Our first room was on the arrival level and was larger than our garden level room for the second week, but each room had it's own attraction and both were excellent value and spotlessly clean.
The breakfasts (of which we had read some varying reports) were absolutely fine and once again good value. Maybe a little more variation of fresh fruit could be added, but this is a niggling criticism.
The real joy of staying at the Pirate is the wonderful personal attention of Erik and Lawrence.
I wish I could send my staff from New Zealand to this hotel, firstly for a great holiday, but mostly to observe real client service in action. After a long hot summer I don't know how they stay so on the ball. Thankyou both. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The pool side family suite looked great for a family. We had two roooms over our time and both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a very nice 3 star hotel. It has a good swimming pool and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

It is also well located. A great base to explore the region.

Breakfast is nice and reasonably priced.

This is certainly a place I would go back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GFtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife & I just returned from 2 weeks at the Cote D'Azur. We visited and enjoyed all of the south of France but what was most enjoyable, was staying at the Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate.
Eric, Laurence & Virginie could not have been more helpful and gracious hosts. They were extremely accommodating, helped us with directions, suggestions, served nice breakfsts, etc.
This was not at all like your typical stay in a large 5 star hotel because it is not.
It is more of a bed & breakfast atmosphere and was extremely welcoming.
Most people stay fro a weekend or one week, therefore, after being there for 2 full weeks (July 21-Aug 1, 2012), I can say that we interacted a lot with the owners & staff and they were consistently nice throughout.
The rooms were kept very clean daily. The pool was spotless and most important, the owners and their staff was a pleasure to be around.
Bravo Erik & Lawrence et a la prochaine!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a lovely holiday in Villefranche and part of this was due to our stay in this most comfortable and welcoming hotel. The hospitality from Eric and Laurence and the amazing views from the terraces were outstanding. We will certainly recommend it to friends and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmasefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.5 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate

Property: Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Address: 8 boulevard de la Corne D Or | Moyenne Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel at Villefranche sur Mer, Cote d'Azur Nice sea view and pool between Nice and Monaco We have double rooms, twin beds rooms, triple rooms, quadruple rooms and two nice bungalows, WIFI gratuit dans tout l'hotel Free WIFI access at the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fiancee Du Pirate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing