We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Villefranche” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Regence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Regence
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Villefranche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have been using La Regence for the past twelve years and always received a warm welcome. The Hotel is easy to find and well situated for all local ammenities including bus and coastal railway. I would highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    27
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
82
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I visited La Regence in October. I had to stay in Villefranche only for 1 night so I decided for the cheaper solution. People are warm and welcoming. The place is very easy to find, close to the center of the town and to the bus stop for going to Nice. The building and the rooms are nice, comfortable and quite. It was a very very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emorg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Betty and Thierry are welcoming and friendly, and the hotel's Chez Betty bar is an institution. The center of local social life in Villefranche, it attracts a lively and sometimes eccentric crowd of friendly residents. The rooms are tidy and clean and a good budget value in an area with steep prices.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carpetblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at the end of September 2011. The host Thierry is fantastic, as is the beautiful Betty. Room was clean and staff were friendly and welcoming. No airconditioner but there was a ceiling fan which was more than enough. Had a good look around all of the accommodation options and this was by far the best option for me.

Melanie.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

A lovely cafe hotel where we received a warm welcome, and enjoyed the ambiance of the cafe. Betty and Thierry were good hosts. The cafe was always enjoyable for an expresso the bar was at affordable prices.
The rooms were clean and good value. The location is great, just a short walk to the restaurant area. The railway station is an short walk.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Excellent small hotel in a good location. It is a family-run botel and it is very good value for this area close to Nice and Monaco. We have stayed here many times and never have been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a1c_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at La Regence, It's a small,cozy, family-run hotel, ideally situated between Nice and Monaco. Just outside the hotel, you can catch the bus to Monaco and Nice. It's only a short walk to the Port and the beach. Rooms are basic but very clean and the hosts are lovely & very helpful. Great value for money in that quite expensive area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Regence

Property: La Regence
Address: 2 avenue Marechal Foch, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — La Regence 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 15 min of the international airport Nice Côte d’Azur, La Regence - Chez Betty is a 10 rooms' charming family hotel, ideally situated in the heart of the provençal city Villefranche-sur-Mer. As a small tourist village, located between Nice and Monaco, Villefranche-sur-Mer is especially famous for its natural bay, know as one of the most beautiful around the world … Departure point for any trips on the French Riviera, you will be able to visit the surroundings areas.The hotel La Regence – Chez Betty benefits from 40 years of know-how and friendship in order to make your stay an unforgettable moment. The rooms were renovated at the beginning of January 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing