We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for an Amazing town!”
Review of Hotel La FLore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La FLore
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We loved Hotel La Flore. We stayed in room 5, with an enormous balcony overlooking the harbor. Really enjoyed watching the boats sail in and out, and the moon rising over the bay. Only hangup was the expensive wifi... Great experience!

Room Tip: Room 5 with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdbpurchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 197 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

There is a sense that the management of this pleasant hotel with very 70's rooms have realised that it is in need of modernisation and are gradually addressing it. They still have quite a way to go. Staff are warm and welcoming. Lots of free parking. Hotel is built on the edge of a cliff and some rooms are below ground level. Most have terraces with the most amazing view over the bay of Villefranche. Worth staying here just for this - you can spend hours on the balcony watching the boats go to and fro and looking at the amazing villas on Cap Ferrat. Room large but rather old-fashioned with dated pine furniture and even more dated bathroom. Plumbing slightly smelly and basin slow to empty, though room clean. Air-con and safe but no fridge. Toiletries sparse and the usual tiny French bath towels. Has microscopic swimming pool.
The worst thing about the hotel is breakfast. 12€ for heavy bread and croissants (when there is a wonderful boulangerie just down the street), tinned fruit cocktail (when there are peaches growing just up the road!), muddy coffee - disappointing even if you do enjoy the view. I am cautiously optimistic, though, because the receptionist actually enquired about the quality of breakfast and was not too surprised by our negative view.
Villefranche is just as charming as it ever was, with much to see, easy communications (boat, rail, bus) and several really good restaurants.

Room Tip: You must get a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Best place I've stayed in France. All of the hotel staff was really fantastic and spoke great English. Views were well worth it - upper rooms had the best views and a decent sized balcony for sitting on that was completely private. Lower rooms had good views and large terrace and good privacy. The hotel is on a main road which made it easy to find, but it was impressively quiet at night and we had no trouble sleeping. Air conditioning worked! Wi-fi only worked one of the six days we stayed - but I have often found that French hotels advertise wi-fi that doesn't exist or doesn't work. They did have a free computer in the lobby you could use to get online. Free parking that was actually available right next to the lobby. It's a 5-10 minute safe walk downhill to the port of Villefranche with its restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FremontTroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This year it will be the 5th time we will stay for 1 week end of July in this hotel.
Ok, in the past (some 7 yrs ago) it had more elegance and grace. But still budgetwise this is the best place to be during the summerholidays ! Nice little town of Villefranche nearby, Nice & Monaco a few miles away. Nice to combine beach (at 5min walk), boats (at 5min walk), sea (idem), shopping, culture (St.Paul de Vence, Grasse, Eze, Nice, ...)
Enjoy ...

Room Tip: phone !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

What a lovely place and the staff couldn't have been nicer. The view is wonderful of the entire bay. They also has free parking. We had left a terrible hotel and found this right off. Luckily we could have our room at 8:30 in the morning. They helped us with getting the bus to Nice. The next day we were driving to Chamonix. They printed off many pages of maps from Michelin at no charge. The manager was very helpful with directions. I would definitely go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrnaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Fine hotel and really nice service. Good location and very fine view from the rooms. The pool area is okay, but very small.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Had tight room with large balcony and great view of the bay and harbor, but no privacy on the balcony (separated from neighbor only by translucent plexiglass). Bathroom nice but like so many places in France, bath with only partial enclosure. Some fixtures old, tired, and coming loose. Comfortable bed. No free wifi - for 150 euro that a is pretty sad statement and would keep me from coming back or recommending it to anyone who needs to keep in touch with other parts of the world. Staff very courteous and accommodating, especially Johnny, all speak English well and willingly. Didn't do the breakfast because good cafes and bakeries are 5 minute walk down the hill. Parking is tight and like musical chairs after 5PM, with at least several people needing to find street parking (I did not move my car but street parking at night seems possible).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worms2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
0.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'An...
#9 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La FLore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La FLore

Address: 5 bd Princesse Grace de Monaco, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: $107 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La FLore 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from the beginning of the 20th century, this charming 3-star hotel with sea view has been completely refurbished. It provides modern accommodation while retaining its original Provencal style.Hôtel La Flore features smart and functional rooms decorated in a Provencal style. Most of these lovely rooms offer a spectacular view over the Mediterranean Sea and some have a balcony.Overlooking the stunning Villefranche harbour, Hôtel La Flore enjoys a quiet south-facing location between Nice and Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La FLore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing