We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenue Albert-1er, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna Region, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I only spent a couple of nights here but this hotel is really horrible, dirty and run down. The bathroom is completely moldy, I was so glad when my stay was over. Two ups, friendly staff and nice view but not enough to make up for rest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was worried by the negative reviews for this hotel, but I took a gamble and it paid off! If you are expecting an American sized hotel, then you should immediately look elsewhere. If you don't mind the authentic, older building, European hotel, close to the old town, then this is the place for you. This is a hotel in right by Old Town Villefranche; it was just what we were looking for in our stop on the Riviera. The rooms are postage stamp small, but clean and neat, with AC! Our room had a balcony with a view of the harbor, so we sat out and enjoyed the sunsets before heading to the port for drinks and sinner. The staff was absolutely charming and very helpful. It is a hike up the small stairs, but we considered it worth the trade to be so close. No nightmare scenario of smelly bathrooms or horrible rooms, it wasn't the Ritz, but we weren't expecting or paying for the Ritz. The road below our window was VERY noisy at night, so you will either need earplugs or you will have to close the door at night. We closed the door and all was well. Perfect for our brief three days in Villefranche--I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view--preferably the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red_white_bubbly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I would recommend only a room on the 3rd last floor (but no lift) with sea view as more quiet.
Wi-Fi, AC, TV, confortable bed, no shower door (so bathroom gets flooded).
Good location, near the city centre (5 min walk), very close to bus stop, 15min from train station but hilly – thus to be avoided if luggage.
Breakfast is 10€, expensive considering the quality.
Staff friendly and helpful.
In line with a 2 stars hotel, hight rates but that's the Riviera...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roberta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very basic hotel with simple rooms and run down furniture and carpets. In a great location that provides wonderful sea view. Convenient to bus station and many cafes and restaurants. Breakfast not included and not all staff speaks English. Luggage elevator out-of-order, leaving only a cramped, narrow stairwell.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have long thought that the Riviera was the worst hotel in Villefranche so why did I book it? I hate to admit it but when I discovered that my favourite, the Darse, was full I thought I had booked the Provencal but somehow ended up in the Riviera! The entire hotel is shabby and run down with little attempt at modernisation since about 1970 or so. The one saving grace is that the rooms on the seaward side do have a great view. I won't make the same mistake again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view. Rooms on the main road side are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

20 minutes from Nice Airport by taxi. We stayed here for 4 nights and the views over Ville Franche was breathtaking. 10 min walk to the main town and very quite which was great. Town gets busy in the evenings so it was nice tog et away from that. Rooms are comfortable and have been recently been refurbished, bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathrooms are very modern, only downside was that the shower head is not fixed to the wall so you have to hold it over yourself and there was no shower door so the floor got drenched! Only one mirror which is in the bathroom. But these are minor things. Each room has it's own balcony and we sat here every morning have our bought in breakfast, local boulangerie only 10mins walk away. Breakfast is €15. No fridge in the room which wasn't a problem for us but one evening an another hotel guest asked about one and one was put in her room for her. Handy for drinks etc. Staff were friendly, pool is very private and we sat out each afternoon in a gorgeous terrace area. Wifi is free only in reception/terrace area and this was just a lovely place to relax and have a drink. We ate in the restaurant on the last night and the food was a little over priced but great none the less. Bus stops right outside hotel and you pay only €1 to go to , Beaulie, Eze, and Monaco which was great value, only thing is the bus gets full very easily so I'd recommend either the early morning bus or later in the afternoon, or walk the few minutes to the town and when people get off there's more chance of getting on.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we plan to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 109 and as this is the top floor we had a better view, higher floor numbers are ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

hotel - reception - all the old and smell
room - dirty, stinking, old bedding
bathroom - disgustingly, unhygienic and there even was mould on the shower wall
view - hahaha - you can just watch the noisy main road

I think the dream of a peaceful and romantic vacation you fade away very quickly.
I recommend you do not choose in any case this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 13 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#3 of 13 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Provencal
Hotel Provencal
#10 of 13 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#6 of 13 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#8 of 13 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'An...
#11 of 13 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: 2 Avenue Albert-1er, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing