We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute disgrace”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riviera
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I booked four night in this place .... If my first had not been a Sunday night in high season I would have left immediately .... it is unbelievably shabby and far from clean ....but I stuck it out...however, never again

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jill833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

A small and cosy hotel with a very nice boss and staff. Value for small money. I would be happy to go there again.
Villefranche is very close to Monaco, Cannes Nice and all the small villages. Both bus and train is very near. Be avare that the latest bus from Nice depart very early in the evening - but then there is the train from the main station (ville) in Nice - 2 stops and you are in villefranche close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopenhagenHenriette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We traveled without reservation and after a few enquires we drop in at the Riviera.
Antonio, the owner, was at the desk and showed us different kinds of rooms with different kind of rates. My whife and i choosed the red room at the third floor, the balcony have a beautiful view on the bay, bathroom with a large shower and all was just renovated. We visited also a large room overlooking the bay with large bed and sofa bed but we decided to be "alone" so our sons had a twin room at the same floor, the peach one.... with 2 terraces. Our friends wanted a larger room, so they choosed the black and white one with no sea view but spacious and with a huge bed.

Buffet breakfast is really good, freshly baked bread and mini "viennoiseries" .......

We definitly recommend this little familiar hotel, don't go directly for the cheaper rooms, if you can offord it spend a little more and you will have a good holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Very noisy, had one of the mainroads just outside window (half the
rooms are in this direction, so 50% chance you will get same problem). Also some
electrical device connected to the toilet that made disturbances every
5th minute. The air-conditioning did not work
properly, which in combination with the noisy road outside that made
open windows problematic. In general, the hotel looked a bit run-down, and the
architecture itsef quite amazing, the architect must have been more
than usuay drunk when designing the hotel. This is also obvious from
the many ad-hoc soultions in the hotel, for example the interesting
design of pipes in the bathroom. The free internet, which was the main
reason I choose this hotel, did not work. In general, I hope there are
better hotels at this location, considering the very nice city itself
and the magnificient beaches. Be aware that there is some distance to
walk from the railway station and it is uphills. Not a problem for
most people I guess but I noticed some people struggling...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeverendingVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

My family planned to live in the hotel "Riviera Villefranche" for 2 days. But on our arrival we were not provided the room according to our booking form (no bay view, no French bed etc.)
The owner of the hotel Antonio Parnetti was not polite and helpful with us and at the end of the conversation he said that he would not charge the money from us for our planned stay (2 days) if we go to another hotel.
So we were happy to choose another one.

However, on our return home we found out that Antonio Parnetti turned out to be a dishonest man and did not keep his word and charged us the whole amount for 2 nights and the tourist tax as well!!!

I e-mailed him, but he did not answer my letters.
So be careful of this hotel and Antonio Parnetti as well.
Unfortunatelly we did not make photo of that awful room and hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vitalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Hotel Riviera was a pleasant surprise as we didn't expect much based on the price of other accommodation in Villefranche and this being the lower end. We paid 85 euro for the night for a double room inclusive of breakfast.

The hotel is reasonably close to the train station (just walk the right way) to get there directly, so a decent map wold help. The hotel is even closer to the local bus drop off (about 60m) if you are coming from Nice or Monaco as it is only 15-20 min journey.

Reception staff were friendly and check in easy. The interior of the hotel is very tired and needs revamping. We were very surprised with our room, as for a one night stay we expected to get the worst room on the noisy street. We infact were surprised with a back room with a picturesque view over the old Villefranche bay with a little balcony. The room was average size for Europe but was clean. The bathroom was reaosnably large and was very clean. There was abar fridge and brand new split system A/C.

The bed was disappointing as it was two single bases pushed together with a larger matress over the top. But the problem was that the bases were different heights, so not the easiest sleep.

Breakfast was the best we had on our 3 week trip. Endless pastries, toast, bread rolls, lovely meat and cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurt, fruit and bottomless cappucino.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthGirlinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed two nights in this hotel. It was in our Michelin Guide, and we had no reservation anywhere at 9 p.m. We just dropped in, and they gave us a choice of two rooms, and we took the cheapest. Only 60 euro per night. The staff was helpful and spoke good English. Our room was truly minimal, but we could have gotten a larger room for We had a little "porch" which was separated from the room by a large window, which we had to open and climb through to open the only outside window to the room. We had no problem with noise because that outside window had sound-insulating glass.

Breakfast was buffet style, with fresh fruit salad, pastries, cereal and milk, juice, hot chocolate, coffee, and tea. very good!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Regence
La Regence
#7 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: 2 avenue Albert 1er, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing