We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Atmosphere”

Old Harbor (La Darse)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I enjoyed Villefranche. Nice has its own charms but there is a lot of hustle in the big city. Villefranche is charming and quiet and was a nice base of stay for our five days in the area. Trains whisk you to Nice or Monaco if you want to tour the area. Quaint restaurants along the waterfront too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafayette11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    135
    14
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calvinia, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Port”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a charming tender port, and we were ashore by 9H45. We had booked one of the shore excursions to Nice & Eze for the afternoon, so that we would have time to explore Villefranche.
Went for a lovely walk along the promenade with all the restaurants, and the crystal clear water dotted with tiny boats. Then to the old town with its many narrow cobbled streets and lovely painted buildings. Saint Michel is an 18th century baroque style church and surrounded by narrow streets quite a climb to get there. There are beautiful views of the bay and the town from the Citadel. We had a lovely morning in Villefranche.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnLoubser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
1,114 reviews
427 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 911 helpful votes
“great little harbour”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spent a few days here anchored in a yacht so we got to see the harbour by dinghy every day . There are some big boys toys , and more modest boats in the bay . Its a tranquil place , nice shelter from the winds.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
272 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“'Love Villefranche'”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

For us there is nothing more relaxing than either sitting on the beach at Villefranche with its clear waters, strolling around the lovely town and harbour or sitting at one of the many eateries and watching the work (or boats) go by.
It's a very picturesque town, very hilly but with great views from higher up.
It is a favourite with the cruise liners though so the view can be a little bit spoilt by the huge ships.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Superb Walks”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We walked from Beaulies Sur Mer to the old harbour at Villafrance and it was beautiful, quite, tranquil and sat by the sea with a drink surrounded by very old buildings and it was a lovely setting, this is a must go to place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jj1955_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Harbor (La Darse) also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Old Harbor (La Darse)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing