We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel le Provencal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel le Provencal
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband, 14 yr old son and myself stayed at Hotel Provencal for 2 nights in July.A charming, older style hotel which met our needs adequately.Clean, comfortable and a sea view as requested, and a wonderful breakfast in beautiful surroundings of the gardens. It is a 10 -15 minute walk to the station (with luggage) which is not to difficult if you know where the Hotel is located. Get the exact location or ask along the way if you are near to it;( it will make life easier than walking up and down the road with heavy bags trying to find it. ) the beach is also very accessible from the Hotel as are the restaurants. Would stay again but would ask for a sea view with the bigger balcony next time.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room, and to be able to sit out on the balcony comfortably; ask for room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    128
    64
    25
    14
See reviews for
57
145
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Located 5 min walk down to the old city and harbour, 15 min from the beach. Hotel is dated and a bit worn down. Bath room was not cleaned properly with visible pubic hairs on the floor. We had a room with 4 beds, but it only included 1 chair, strange as we could have used another one sitting on the small balchony. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotels in this area is generally overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panzer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel, once on business and once on vacation. It is a pleasant hotel which is good value for money. It is not a shiny, sparkly, modern hotel, rather a cosy family-run type of hotel. Our stay was pleasant as the hotel is close to public transport and the village square where regular markets are held.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are quieter and have a view, the mountain facing rooms get the noise from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Obie_Oberholster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
261 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was very lucky to be able to get a room here in the peak month of August. It was excellent value for money in a good location for the beach/town and bus stop. The train station was a little walk but manageable. Although the carpet in the room was a little "tired", the room was very clean and had a separate en-suite shower and WC. The triple glazing made the road nearby inaudible. We ate breakfast on the terrace one morning, my wife particularly enjoyed the marmalade made with oranges from the hotel garden.
All the staff were very friendly and spoke good English. A PC was available free of charge which proved very handy for booking onward accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room we had was very basic but very clean. Good bed, a nice small closet. The room was facing the highway, so in the morning you could hear all cars. Maybe the other rooms facing the garden would have a harbour view.

The only problem is the bathroom shower - very small and the curtain doesn`t hold the water so the bathroom floor was wet after showering.

The hotel close to the old part of the town but isn't the easiest place to find when driving around Villefranche and there is no hotel car park. But not a issue for such a nice little village.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the garden view - quieter and with the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaFontoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in August (2 adults + 2 children) and loved it. Very clean and stylish. Fabulous views (we had a quad room sea view). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. The staff were wonderful and friendly, the breakfast was great. Amazing fresh pastries every day. The only room for improvement is perhaps the bathroom, a shower screen would be good or a separate shower. But this is par for the course in France and it was fine, we just sat in the bath. But as I say it's not a complaint just a suggestion for improvement. Really lovely place.

Room Tip: Definitely get the sea view. It's world class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerniandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna Region, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent last weekend at this hotel and I was really positively surprised. The room was modern, new and quiet, even though it faced the street, staff friendly and the location excellent. I would come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Regence
La Regence
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Provencal

Property: Hotel le Provencal
Address: 4 avenue Marechal Joffre, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Provencal 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Provencal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provencal Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing