We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiguous feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ambiguous feelings”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful setting, lovely pool, fantastic views, good location, friendly professional staff, but a very small apartment (supposed to sleep 3-4, but we struggled for space, being two adults and a baby), and the building is a bit tired.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
1 Thank JDPGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    109
    82
    46
    30
See reviews for
195
87
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This complex is at a beautiful location - but specify a sea-view apartment - it's worth it. Lovely common areas, swimming pool, reception etc. Very friendly and helpful staff (when they are there - limited reception opening hours).No proper dining or drinks area (poolside cafe) but that suited us fine. My only gripe was the size of the 4/5 bed apartment which was tiny. The bedroom was'nt big enough to be a single and asmall double bed was squeezed into the room - it touched both sides of the wall. We could'nt even close the door it was so small.

Room Tip: High up facing the sea with the biggest apartment you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
1 Thank BlaaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from a holiday in this hotel. Before your stay you receive a pack informing you that the pool will be opened from early April, it wasnt. You are also told that bathroom linen (towels) are provided, they are not. On arrival I was asked to pay for our towels then handed them in reception - not very professional - and 18 eauros extra to have the use of a small bathroom towel and a hand towel for a week is extortion. Myself, my husband and son were put in an appartment which was amid privately owned appartments (which unknown to us is quite a lot in this hotel) who spent the whole time refurbishing, each time we walked out of our appartment there was plaster board and workmens tools, but worst of all was the constant noise of drills etc. Several attempts were made to report this to reception but as the desk in not manned very much this proved to be difficult. Overall, not at all impressed and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed at this small complex for successive years since the late 1990's. It is set in a very good location and in easy access to local trains stations (only two stops to Nice and several more to Monico in the opposite direction) and bus routes. It is close to the small town of Villefranche and local beaches. Don't expect a lot in terms of accommodation, as you will be disappoined. Overall you don't get a lot of space, but for couples this is less of an issue, particularly as you'll spend most of your time away from the complex. That said, they have undergone a face lift in the last couple of years and are much improved from when I first stayed. The reception, pool areas and grounds are very good and overall the staff do a good job of looking after you. Particulalry good for short/weekend breaks, when you just want to chill out and go for walks etc. I would definately go again as we love the local area.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view will afford excellent views of the bay and surrownding area, but come with a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMtripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

the 4/5 pax sea view are very small, you could be renting a corridor. The furnisher to big, leaving little space and only two small cuppboards for your clothes.
Not allways very clean, but on the whole ok. The 5/6 pax flats are ok.
the pool is great but your paying 4 euros for staying on the transat and the tennis isn't part of the center. Aprox 22€ per hour to play.
The walk to the beach is 10/15 mn and to town and shops and restaurants minimun 20 mn.
You can get around on a 1€ fee bus trip, but it takes time, a car is recommended.
Parking is easy and the staff at the reception are very helpfull.
Villefranche is a very beautifull spot on the french riviera.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you want to be close to the hustle bustle yet in your own little piece of heaven, then this property may be for you. Located around 15 minutes by bus to either Nice or Monaco, the location is its best asset. Although small, it is great value offering a separate bedroom, private
washroom and combined livingroom/galley kitchen. Each unit has either a balcony or terrace. We always choose a sea view and request a high floor. After a busy day, nothing is better than sitting on your verandah with a glass of wine overlooking the yatchs and shimmering waters of the bay. You will pay extra for the view, but it is will worth it.
No need to rent a car as the bus stops right in front of the property. You can travel from Nice as far as Menton on the Italian border for just one euro! Nothing fancy, but great value for longer stays.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2vagabons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This part of the world is not cheap to stay in - huge villas behind gates and gigantic yachts - and the land prices reflect the fact it is a desirable area. As a result the apartment was very small for the amount charged for it.

The complex was rather tired, and the glossy pictures on the Pierre et Vacances website, belied reality. The mini-market was definitely on the mini-side with a strange array of goods, although the bread was excellent, albeit expensive.

The beds were uncomfortable, but we enjoyed watching the cruise ships with their sparkly lights through the gaps in the garden's palm tree fronds. The kitchen area was average. All in all we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrisFamily68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the size of your apartment. Our website and brochure do outline room dimension, sizes, furnishings and equipment available, but the price of accomodation does factor in the location. We have logged your review on the resort and mini-market and will pass your comments onto head office and our management teams. We are committed to improving our standard of accommodation whenever we can therefore your feedback is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.6 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien
Address: 130 avenue de l Ange Gardien | Basse Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful haven overlooking the bay of Villefranche, one of the most beautiful harbours of the Cote d'Azur. Direct access to the beach with amenities and shops nearby. Impressive views of the azur blue sea from the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence - l`Ange Gardien
Pierre & Vacances Residence - l`Ange Gardien Hotel Villefranche-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing