We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay on the French Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect stay on the French Riviera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

There were many things that made this stay great for my partner and I while we were here over the last four days, but the best part had to be the kindness and hospitality of the hosts, Franck and Joëlle.

I'll start with our arrival... We were visiting in part to see the Grand Prix practice in Monaco, but when we left home, we forgot our tickets and didn't realize it until we were in the air. I'm an aerospace engineer and a bit of a gear head, and I was really looking forward to this part of the trip, and I was going to be bummed if we missed it. We had a good friend mail the tickets, and when we arrived, Franck greeted us with a smile, told us we didn't have to stress, and our package was waiting in our room!

The rest of the stay felt more like staying with family than being in a hotel. Parking is available on the property, and the train station is within easy walking distance. The rooms are spacious (ask for one of the suites for a little more space for not a lot of extra cash), the hotel is quiet (all we heard at night was the croaking of a frog and an occasional passing train that was nothing more than a low rumble and it stops running after midnight), and there is plenty of space in the small garden to read or eat a take away lunch or dinner.

Franck and Joëlle also made sure that we were prepared for each of the days we were here. Without even needing to ask, Franck would provide us with directions and sightseeing tips for Villefranche, Cap Ferrat (within walking distance and with some breathtaking views) Nice and Monaco every morning at breakfast with a smile and a desire to see us enjoy ourselves for the day. Joëlle had the same warm and caring smile each night when we returned, and she always asked if we enjoyed our time. They were both genuinely interested in the quality and enjoyment of our stay, and that made this trip memorable, stress free, and full of wonderful memories. It is obvious that these two go the extra mile to make sure the experience is the same for everyone who stays at Hotel Patricia!

In short, I highly recommend this hotel, and if we're ever back on the Côte de Azur, we will be sure to return here!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    67
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
29
115
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here two nights mid May. First the practical..then the "feelings". A 10-14 minute walk from BEAULIEU SUR MER train station...too far from Villefranche station ( hotel is actually in Villefranche but right on edge of the village, a 5 min walk gets you into St Jean de Cap Ferrat, and a 7-10 min walk gets you into Bealieu. Walk from station is beside busy roads, but on sidewalks. (Tourist station right outside Bealieu train station gave me a map). It appears there is only that one room with a balcony ( pay the extra) but there were others with private little gardens, or on the breakfast garden area. My room was small but clean with a sink, toilet, shower...so I assume all rooms have that, BUT ..outside in hall was a single standing shower room...so some rooms may only have toilet and sink. Rooom very clean. Nice furnishings. Hotel very cozy, books, magazines...great cofefe . ( I don't eat full breakfasts, so they only charged me for coffee and a croissant) Lots of maps on hand, very helpful with directions. Very easy to explore the three towns from this hotel. Now ..the train goes right by the back of the property ( between hotel and sea view). It did not bother me, as trains did not run all night..but if you book here, then don't complain if you hear a train at 6:30 am. But the best thing are the owners, Joelle and Franck. Very wonderful, helpful, knowledable. A few things. They lock up from 3-5, so you need to arrive before or after. Have bar in breakfast area and a cute patio. ( However, best to buy a bottle of wine, chees, bread etc at Casio grocery and sit on your balcony or in the garden for a snack) . They give you a key, and YOU lock front door when you leave and return...sooo, you are counting on other travelers to do same. but everyone I saw did so . There was also a chamber maid running around, Frank on his motorcycle etc. I would definitely stay here again. Best thing? Owners. Next? LOCATION!!! ( unless you are walking w ridiculous amount of luggage) has ample car parking. Third? that room with the balcony! Sat and watched boats and a cruse ship, great view. Warning...as with most European hotels..if you are very large...you will have trouble in smaller sized bathrooms...at Patricia and everywhere in Europe. THIS WAS GREAT SPOT TO WALK TO VILLA ROTHSCHILD AND VILLA KERYLOS. I also caught bus 100 in Beaulieu ( very close to Villa Kerylos) and went into Monoco easily..though the train is actually probably quicker.

Room Tip: pay for the one with the balcony...or ...if you are worried about the train noise, the private garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Patricia. For a smaller budget, it's ideal. It's a short 10-15 minute walk to the beach, is homely and welcoming. The owners are very hospitable and full of local knowledge and passion. Worth the stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

After a busy week in Paris, we so enjoyed the slower pace and hospitality we found in the South. Our hosts, Joelle and Franck,were very welcoming and helpful. Our room, which was really a suite, had views of the garden and the Mediterranean. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The trains were not an issue, and the walk to Villefranche was short and scenic. Using the buses and trains, we found that we could easily do without a rental car. Franck and Joelle gave excellent directions and suggestions for day trips and dining. Our stay with them was the high point of our trip. We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: The junior suite is only slightly higher than other rooms and well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red2657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a wonderful 8 day stay in this absolutely great value for money hotel. It is situated in a very convenient location. The proprietors, Franck and Joelle, are so helpful and friendly, and the breakfasts were good. We stayed end of March beginning of April and we would not hesitate to return to the same hotel on another visit to the region. Although we hired a car there is a regular bus and rail transport to the hotel. We stayed in the Junior Suite which for us was perfect. It did not have a balcony but did have a good view over the Mediterranean. Altogether a perfect holiday. Our French friend living in Nice recommended the hotel to friends who stayed there soon after us and they were also delighted.

Room Tip: We found the Junior Suite excellent and really good value for money. If a balcony is essential then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this bed-and-breakfast type hotel. The rooms were on a second floor with several staircases between the entrance and the room. Our room was rather small but it made up for its size by a large window with a view of the Mediterranean sea. We had an ensuite bathroom with a shower but we did see a separate shower room on the second floor so it seems that some rooms do not have an ensuite bathroom. We had breakfast (not included in the price of the night but was around 6 Euros per person and well worth it. The service was great and everyone was friendly and helpful. The price of the double room was reasonable (72 Euros). The hotel is near a railway so if you sleep softly, you may hear the train during the day. A few trains did run during the night.

Getting to the hotel is somewhat more difficult than normal. There is a tiny one-way driveway off the main road which leads to several places. There is adequate signage for this hotel, however, and there is parking right next to the house.

Note that, according to posted signs that we drove by, actually is located outside the city of Villefranche-sur-Mer but it is very close - within walking distance. It sits on the side of the bay opposite Villefranche-sur-Mer. The walk to the old city is about 15 minutes. The hotel owner suggested a restaurant at the old city (Garcon) which was delicious (we ordered seafood platters).

The hotel features a large but rather apathetic and very friendly dog and a cat. This may be an issue for some people who are allergic. There was wifi but it was rather poor in the room and we had to stand close to the window to get a signal. Four out of five because of the size of the room and poor wifi. Overall, a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There is one room with a balcony with a view of the Mediterranean. In the summer, this may be a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petochok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Just coming off 10 days staying at the hotel Patricia in beautiful villefranche. A perfect place to stay. Great place, and great price in what is typically a very expensive town in the French Riviera. Frank and Joelle (proprietors) are extremely accommodating and friendly and made our stay change from 4 days to 10 days. Rooms are clean and cleaned daily and the hotel prides itself on sustainably. The hotel is steps from the beach and a lovely 10 minute walk from town. Enjoy!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamgolden24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck R, Propriétaire at Hotel La Villa Patricia, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again ! may be in Asia, who knows ?
Kind regards.
Joëlle et Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.8 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villa Patricia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villa Patricia

Property: Hotel La Villa Patricia
Address: 310 avenue de l Ange Gardien, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#4 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Villa Patricia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small charming hotel "ecolabel", spirit guest house, 5 mn walking to the beach, wifi, private car park (8€/night), garden, organic french breakfast (10€/pers), some rooms with seaview, jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Villa Patricia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patricia Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing