We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Darse
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La FLore(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Versailles(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Villa Patricia(Villefranche-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Regence(Villefranche-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welcome Hotel(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
$570
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Delcloy(St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat)
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal-Riviera(St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat)
$1,022
$992
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Carlton Beaulieu(Beaulieu-sur-Mer)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Domaine du Mont Leuze(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
106
94
27
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
94
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftthird floorquiet locationoverlooking the marinaminute walktrain stationrestaurant next doorcroissantsmain towncontinental stylebook well in advanceexercise walkingpleasant walkgarden roomclose to the hotelmain partcap ferrat
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 238 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here in July 2013 for 4 nights. This is a typical 2 star hotel - no lift, in need of a paint and offers a basic breakfast. BUT.... We had a huge, clean double room (free wifi) with doors opening onto a balcony that overlooked the marina and the med. Staff were really friendly and the breakfast was fresh and plentiful (although coffee not great.) It's about a 6 minute walk to the town centre and a 5/10 minute walk up the (steep!) hill takes you to the bus stop where for €1 you can be in the centre of Nice in 15 minutes. Villefranche itself is picturesque and friendly with lots of nice restaurants. If visiting this area again I would definitely stay here - at €95/night for two this is great value and is half the price of the Hotel Welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

we had nothing but great hotels on this trip so it's hard to come up with a favorite but this might be it. I don't need to say much more than what others have already said. The location is great, but it is a hike from the center of town. The price more than makes up for that. The front veranda was a great spot for the breakfast (a good value) or for sitting out at night. We didn't have front balcony rooms so the veranda came in handy. Our rooms were up three flights and with no elevator you need to make sure you travel light. Our rooms faced the garden area in the back and the homes on the hillside. It was a short walk to town and to the train for short hops to Monte Carlo, Nice and the rest of the Riviera. We did break down and had a cab arranged for the early morning train to Italy. The desk staff was very helpful in arranging the cab (which was there on time at 6:30 am) and in helping us figure out our best route for leaving the rental car at the Nice train station. We stayed at the hotel four nights and only had the car there the first night. We lucked out and found a good parking spot but it would be a hassle to try to find a spot every day. We'd say dump the car and take the train.
The town itself is a perfect place to stay. It's small enough to walk around (but does have hills) but large enough that it has dining and shopping options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nimbin2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Nice, clean hotel. Good beds, great bathroom. Pleasant staff. We stayed two nights. We didn't try the breakfast because it was a bit expensive and we're not great breakfast folks. We had the eastern end room on the third floor (No. 31) -- beautiful view of the park below with fantastic flowers (especially the abundant bougainvillea), the harbor, and Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat across. Now, their third floor is our (American) fourth floor, and there's no elevator -- just so you know. They have no private parking, but we didn't have much trouble finding free spots on nearby streets. The main commercial port town center is only a couple blocks pleasant walk.
Great place!

Room Tip: For a view, try for Room #31. It has one queen and one twin. The walk up is worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week from 12th-19th October and were very pleased with our choice. Our room was #12 on the first floor - just above reception/breakfast area and had a large sunny balcony with a table and four chairs (the balconies are bigger on the first floor than higher floors but the views are probably slightly better higher up..)
We only had breakfast in the hotel on our last morning (it was very good, continental) but we did have several cups of coffee in our room/balcony. It was nice coffee and they only charge €2.80 a cup, which was very inexpensive.
The bathroom was compact with a very good, spacious corner shower, which had plenty of hot water at all times. Toiletries provided were soap, shower gel and shower cap. There was a tube type hairdryer in the bathroom. The bed was firm and very comfortable. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.
My husband had trouble accessing the free Wi-Fi for several days, which irritated him but he got it in the end..
I don't know how efficient the air con would be in very hot weather as we struggled to stay cool in October..
They have a lovely big fluffy ginger & white resident cat - Snookie - who liked to be petted when he was around on the pretty outside terrace at the front of the hotel.
All the staff on the reception desk were very kind and helpful - we would definitely stay here again if we return to Villefranche-sur-Mer. It's a 6-8 minute walk into the main harbour/restaurant area but it's a level, well-lit and pleasant walk along the water's edge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maudsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is located by the harbour in a tiny French village - and a perfect base for exploring the French Riviera - away from the massive tourist crowds and subsequent extortionate prices normally found on the Riviera. Restaurant and shops are located within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews