We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Darse
Nearby Hotels
Hotel le Provencal(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Hotel le Versailles(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welcome Hotel(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate(Villefranche-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La FLore(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
$116
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Villa Patricia(Villefranche-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Saint Michel(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
La Regence(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Riviera(Villefranche-sur-Mer)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
103
93
27
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
93
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftquiet locationoverlooking the marinaminute walktrain stationrestaurant next doorcroissantsmain townair conditioningcontinental stylebook well in advanceexercise walkingpleasant walkgarden roomclose to the hotelmain partcap ferrat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 234 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at the hotel, paying euros 95 in Sept, then 85 in Oct. The hotel doesn't have its own car park, but we never had any problems after 5pm each day in finding a space outside on the road. The location of this hotel is everything, in that the view from the balcony is just lovely (we had a double sea-view room on the 2nd floor). The breakfast (at euros 8.50 per day) is a simple but more than adequate buffet, consisting of fruit juice, fruit, cereal, bread rolls, cheese, croissants and jam. The room was basic but clean; shower facilities were ok, the only downside was the bed which was a bit hard for us. The hotel has no lift, so if you are elderly or infirm you may find the steps up to your room tiring, but Villefranche is quite hilly with lots of steps which is fine if you have good health. The hotel is located in the Port of Darse, so overlooking the boat harbour, and is a pleasant 10 min stroll into Villefranche Sur Mer where you'll find quite a lot of restaurants and a few shops. We had quite a lot of lovely meals in Villefranche, with higher priced meals and drinks on the front. Would recommend that you go and explore and find restaurants where locals eat and where the food is better and more reasonably priced. Villefranche Sur Mer, like most of of the Cote D'Azur strip are just busy and touristy so expect that things aren't cheap. Would recommend you visit Menton Garavan and Menton (which are easy to get to on the train from Villefranche).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wirral123j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is after staying in Villefranche but doesn't want to pay over double to stay at Hotel Welcome or another hotel in the main part of town. OK, there's 2 cons to this hotel. There's the location which is about 7 minutes walk from the main town and you have to walk over a very uneven cobbles. There's also the lack of lift and we were on the third floor.

That being said I'd stay at this again. Every member of staff were very polite and accomodating. The rooms were modern and always clean. We enjoyed the walk down to the old town but I thought i'd highlight it in case anyone may struggle with that.

EXCELLENT HOTEL.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Darse. I can say that the hotel met my expectations in being very clean and up to date. This looks like it was remodeled within the last year or three. Rooms are cleaned up quickly each day which we appreciated. We had the 8.5E per person breakfast the first morning to keep it simple but the offering was pretty limited. So we got breakfast elsewhere the remaining days. We almost never do hotel breakfast anyway since we're only seeking coffee and a muffin which we can buy for about 5E per person and eat better. 8.5E is a reasonable fee but I'd go elsewhere. The breakfast lady on last Wednesday the 10th was very friendly and eager to please. A couple key considerations about Hotel Darse is that its located about a 1/3rd of mile from the main part of the town which for able bodied folks like myself is no big deal but my wife has early MS and found it difficult to walk that distance late in the day across old fashioned uneven cobble stones along the citadel shoreline back to the the hotel. Also, the hotel has no elevator which was also a challenge for Nita late in the day when she is weaker. So, if you have disabilities this might not be the ideal hotel. I should have figured that out but didn't when booking. If you're overweight, out of shape and pack your entire house with you on vacation and find the walk and hotel stairs challenging you'll get no sympathy from me. My son and I walked it a bunch and like I said no problem for anyone in good health. A lovely walk to and from town for the healthy and sensibly packed traveler. I would stay here again but not with my wife and her disabilities. Great value and very relaxing and quiet in a beautiful coastal village. Very well run.

Room Tip: Be aware no elevator if you are disabled and a pretty good walk into town if your not in shape or have disabilities.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chablis28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

we were very glad to have a chance to visit Monaco during staying in this budget hotel. friendly staff and good cafe near this hotel. very nice little beach is situated in 5 minutes of walking from the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saglara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent two nights in late August. The place is conveniently located in Villefranche in front of the little and cosy port (parking available everywhere) and no more than 30 mins from Nice airport, good gateway to visit Monaco and Cap Ferrat. The building is well kept and the staff is very friendly. The value for money - also based on the location - is great. The rooms are small and very basic, even the ones overlooking the sea with a balcony (where we stayed) so do not expect anything great. But it does what it should do: provide a shelter in a good position for a good price with a good service. A balcony is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews