We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view from every corner of the”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Versailles
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spectacular views from every corner of the hotel, excellent restaurant, great breakfast,very, friendly staff, nice rooms - everyone with view over the bay of Villefranche, tasteful interlor design. Great pool area with plenty of sunbeds and sittning groups. Nice bar area, huge terrasses with plenty of sittninggroups and relaxing areas. Buses to Nice and Menton/Monaco right outside door. Walking distance to the nice public plage of Villefranche.The only regrets I have is that the restaurant is closed twice a week and that the rooms have no refrigerators. I am looking forward to coming back - time after time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotta_vonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 370 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

I did not stay at the hotel either but I chose to stop and eat at this restaurant as it had a breathtaking view. The choice was not wrong as the fish in salt cooked at the oven was delicious (I think it was a loup de mer) as were the vegetables as a side dish (really really good!). For dessert I had a fruit tarte that was good but not exceptional. Overall, I really enjoyed this lunch!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Olivia_Horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed there for two nights at the beginning of our 15 day trip to several places in France. As an American, I did not feel very welcome there. English is limited. The night guy seemed perpetually annoyed. Staff is not going to help orient you. It's a kind of pull teeth situation/feeling. The room was clean but I think overpriced. Be aware that if you stay on a Monday and Tuesday night, which we did, the restaurant, which has the lovely view that is pictured on the website is not open -- at least in summer. I wouldn't stay here again. If you get a sea view room, be sure to ask for a high floor because the hotel is on the side of a cliff and starts at floor zero (typical of many French hotels) and the floors go down. Also know that the buses from Nice to Villefranche stop around 8 or 9pm -- at least when we were there. The taxi situation is horrible -- we paid 38 Euros to get back to Nice (it's about 5 or 6km) and it took us nearly 1.5 hours to get a taxi because we started seeking one around 11pm. Did not make it back to our hotel until nearly 1am. That said, Villefranche is a sweet place and it's very quaint in town and a nice spot for dinner. All in all I say head for Provence and skip Nice either altogether or just visit Villefranche for a day visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nessci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ville Franche Sur Mer is a wonderfully place in a simply stunning location and the hotel sits high above the bay with stunning views. Good value and facilities in prime location.free parking available in the hotels own car park. Nice bar with great views so ideal for an easy beer late on. Only downside is slightly unfriendly and grumpy staff but I guess they are just French .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in a newly refurbished 2-bedroom room which was really stylish! As I understand it not every room has been refurbished, so there is a big difference. Also make sure to get a room on floors 1-3 (1 being the highest) for the best view. Triple room on the lowest floor was really different from the two bedroom one on a higher floor (and just a small price difference..).Great hotel for a few nights (would book again). Breakfast and pool bar expensive. Bakery and small Casino short walking distance, and also walking distance to all the nice restaurants in the Villefranche port area. Nice pool area, towels and sun chairs available anytime.

Room Tip: High levels are 1 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUlrikaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this 3 star hotel which is located just outside the town Villefrance-sur-mer, only 5-10 min walk to the oldtown.
The hotel climbs the hillside with the reception, restaurant and terazze on top floor (0) and the pool is on ground floor (4). We initially got a room further down which we changed to a room on second floor because of a noisy AC. The rooms are quite small but has comfortable beds, the are no shower or shower curtains in the bathroom so you have to sit in the tub. The best thing is the fantastic view from the balcony where we enjoyed overlooking the bay. The breakfast is ok, but heavily overpriced 17 Euro per person.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just back from a week long stay here with two teenage kids.Having read a few reviews on here we were a little worried but our fears faded as we checked in. We had a family room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the pool and more importantly the beautiful bay. Every morning we woke to sunshine shining in the windows and the faraway sounds of what ever cruise ship had moored overnight in the bay. This is a beautiful picturesque part of the world.The hotel has a wonderful restaurant that features in the michelin guide. The hotel was spotless again contrary to some reports on here. The staff were very friendly and had a great sense of humour. (Something you dont get everywhere in France). Downside? Well breakfast is a bit expensive and dont order anything poolside.....that works out very expensive.Also the soundproofing is poor in the bedrooms(So be quiet if you head for a siesta!) Overall we had a fantastic time here and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Select one with a balcony...the views are fantastic and they are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.4 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Versailles

Address: 7 bd Princesse Grace de Monaco, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: $191 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Versailles 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
deally located overlooking the Villefranche-sur-Mer Bay, one of the most beautiful Bay in the world, Le Versailles offers a unique experience in the heart of the Côte d'Azur. Its contemporary designed comfortable rooms, Mediterranean restaurant, its bar and enchanting terrace view, swimming pool bordered by olive trees and trendy pool house all contribute to make Hotel Versailles an essential Riviera address for quality Hotel enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel le Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Versailles Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing