We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Town”
Review of Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Welcome Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Easily the best location in Villefranche. Fantastic mountain and harbor views from almost every room. 5 minute walk to the awesome swimming beach. Close to the Citadel, train and bus stations. The Cocteau museum, and great restaurants are right there too. My suggestion for a perfect day: wake to a leisurely breakfast on your balcony watching the fishing boats tool around the harbor, walk down to the beach and lie in the sun while waiters bring you cocktails and yummy snacks. Head back to the "wine pier", connected to the Welcome for sunset drinks (make friends with Dominique-he will treat you right!) Then have dinner at any of the great restaurants along the waterfront or in town (our favorite was "Eschallote" in the old town). Back to the Wine Pier for a nite cap, and you have found your heaven.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank SFjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Welcome Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 561 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stayed at Hotel Welcome with 2 girlfriends for a girls weekend in the south of France. When I was in University I lived a couple villages away from Villefranche. There is no forgetting the harbour and beach area. One of the better beaches in the area. My friends and I really enjoyed ourselves.

The accomdation was extremly clean and in a great position right by the little port. We didn't have a lot of noise and it was very relaxing waking up to water outside your balcony.

There are lots of restaurants to keep you busy as well. We had some really nice meals out by the water when we were there.


If you are trying to decide where to go at in the south of France I would recommend Villefranche and Hotel Welcome. It won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jewels96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed here for a week in June, following the recommendation on the trip adviser website and we were not disappointed. Everything was perfect!! I would really recommend it, especially the bar in the hotel and the wonderful restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

My wife and I have just spent 10 nights at the Welcome Hotel and what a great holiday we had. The staff were fantastic, spoke excellent English and excused our poor French! What a great location with some great restaurants around! The breakfasts, whilst pricey, were plentiful and fresh! The Wine Terrace was a great place for pre and post dinner drinks and for general people watching! We enjoyed excellent meals at Le Cosmo and Loco Loco. The buses are a good way to get around and cheap too! A journey to Menton (1:30) cost 1 Euro 30! (as did all bus trips - so the further you go the better the value). Whilst we were there the trains were on strike so we only used the train on 1 day - effecient as ever! Villefranche is brill! A great (but busy) beach and don't forget to view the Chapel
We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TrickydickyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

an excellent experience.away from the bustle of the cote de azur area, yet close to everything, villefranche is the place to base yourself, and hotel welcome is an automatic choice.the views from the balconies were spectacular, and the hotel staff were perfect.

our tour company for the riviera, did not show up, and our entire day was about to be wasted.the hotel staff went out of their way to fix us up with another tour operator, and he really saved the day.not only that, the young woman in front desk kept calling our inital tour operator, who ultimately agreed to give us a free shuttle service to nice airport as compensation.

the water, the beach, and the charming village.....and hotel welcome puts it all together

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bangalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Following a recommendation from friends we stayed six nights in May and had a wonderful time. Superb location and comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the harbour. People watching a must and lots of lovely restaurants nearby. Despite what you may have read about la Campanette on this site we ate there twice, again on recommendation and the food and service were superb. It was also extremely popular with other guests. We will definitely be going back to both the Hotel Welcome and la Campanette.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HayesSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

Spent ten days at the Hotel Welcome. Very helpful front desk, room overlooking the harbor, balcony dining. Very clean. Rooms are typical European size - enough to get around - no wasted space. Would highly recommend this spot. We did not eat breakfast - it's cheaper to eat nearby. The wine bar is also more expensive than stopping at a local spot.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel

Address: 3 quai Amiral Courbet, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#2 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: $180 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel by the sea, within walking distance from the beaches, in the heart of Villefranche-sur-Mer old town activities. Next to the Jean Cocteau Chapel 'Chapelle saint Pierre', Charmin hotel in a warm and family atmophere. All 35 rooms have air conditionning, sea view and a private balcony. Free access to the sauna for our customers (private sessions). The Wine Pier,, the hotel wine bar is open year-round everyday. Breakfast is served on the veranda with a full warm & cold buffet or continental breakfast available in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer
Welcome Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing