We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic in a seaside town”
Review of Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welcome Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel has the best location in Villefranche no contest.
It is an enjoyable hotel to stay a week in thanks to the seaside feel and lovely staff.However this is not a cheap hotel yet the standard of finish in our room (32) was poor. Shabby chic paint effects clash with boring carpets,1980's curtains and fake flowers. Paint work is a bit thick and messy as is grouting in the bathroom. The bathroom was large enough and was a pretty colour but the loo was right against the bathroom door (which was too stiff to shut properly!). I'm not tall but I think most men would find it a awkward to sit down. For all of this it was quirky rather than dreadful but it's not a "wow" room other than the balconies.The balconies (with one at the front and a long one to the side, in our superior room) were wonderful. The floor length doors and bathroom windows also came with shutters which was an unexpected bonus. Particularily good in the bathroom where you could keep the window wide open for fresh air (hate en suites!) but close the shutters for privacy.
Really good staff ,especially the fantastic upbeat chambermaids with excellent English and the amusing bar staff. All work very hard and are charming and professional.

The hotel doesn't do food (only breakfast a nice enough buffet ) but can do snacks of the crisp or breadstick variety with drinks. Villfranche itself is small and relaxed but unusually the best value food is not in the quaint backstreets or less visited new town but along the harbour front. .Right next to the hotel are two restaurants that look like tourists traps.They were some of the best cooked and best value meals I have ever had on a holiday. Conversely the ones up the steps tucked away had horrid food and overcharged us. The exception was the Pizza place that had yummy salad, pizza and pasta.No where charged extra for bread and olives though.
Tip on buying buying a cold drink. Shops would charge up to E2.50 a can yet the vending machines (always a rip off in England) would use up your change to the tune of E1.20 and be ice cold. Even the snack shops are much better/cheaper if you eat right by the beach as we found out when we went on a walk up in the hills and tried to eat like locals. No contest.
The hotel charges E7 for a glass of wine so bring a bottle opener or sip slowly from the comfortable hotel bar as you watch the beautiful yachts and people come and go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 573 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Welcom e Hotels is one of the most splendid hotels i ever visited! Yje atmosphere was silent, tremendous interiors and fantastic view from the balcony i will remember during all my life!
This is the best hotel for vacation in Cote D'Azue as it is located in splendid small town (but in this town there a lot of nice restaurants and cafes with the seaview and 2 shops with all neceassaries is 5 minutes walking!)
Monaco is 10 minutes by train, Nice 4 minutes! Train station is 7 minutes walking!
It is splendid hotel and i realy recomend it as romantic trip or splendi vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliceOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Yes, the hotel is always clean, and the staff are helpful and friendly. But what makes it the place to visit is the balcony view over the quay. Even the "comfort" room is big enough. Nothing is more relaxing than sipping wine while hanging over the cafe-lined street, enjoying views of yachts, cruise ships, and Cap Ferrat in the distance. Listen to the sounds of the quaint village below. Watch fishermen sew their nets. Feel your blood pressure ease.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caseymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Having spent the last 30 years visitng the South of France at least twice a year, the Welcome Hotel has yet again lived up to its namesake and become one of my favourite places to visit. Not only is its location and outlook incredible, but the staff always exceed my greatest expectations too.............Having walked to the end of the Jetty, I foolishly dropped my sunglasses in the Sea. The Hotel Owner dived on no fewer than three occasions to try and retrieve them and the barman extrordinaire deployed his telescopic fishing net, only to split his trousers whilst scrambling around on the deck. Sadly their efforts were to no avail, the seaweed is there as a trap for the unwary adn they now sleep with the fishes. Thanks guys for a memorable stay.... a bientot

An outstanding Hotel that has sheltetred those far more dignified than I in the past if you view the signed photographs in teh bar areabientot my friends at the Welcome Hotel,

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donfittoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Room was excellent - great balcony with unbelievable view. Ask to be on the top floor. It wasn't a stellar deal but on a relative basis to other area hotels gives you the best bang for buck. Really nice people too. Loved being able to sit my balcony and people watch and easily hop down to the beach and beachfront restaurants. Absolutely no better place to stay in villefranche and arguably the whole cap area. Loved it so much that this is the first time I've ever bothered to write a review!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onemoresmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We've stayed at the Welcome hotel 3 times now. Don't be put off by no restaurant - there are 100's to choose from within yards of hotel. The breakfast on balcony or downstairs is great.
The bar is amazing...
The employees are lovely...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidcoe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Really enjoyed the hotel, view was excellent. Although the rooms were small the other attributes made up for it. The town was excellent with numerous good restaurants and the hotels breakfast was well worth it. Staff was extremely helpful and they knew who you were anf greeted you by name.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dintylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel

Address: 3 quai Amiral Courbet, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#2 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: $172 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel by the sea, within walking distance from the beaches, in the heart of Villefranche-sur-Mer old town activities. Next to the Jean Cocteau Chapel 'Chapelle saint Pierre', Charmin hotel in a warm and family atmophere. All 35 rooms have air conditionning, sea view and a private balcony. Free access to the sauna for our customers (private sessions). The Wine Pier,, the hotel wine bar is open year-round everyday. Breakfast is served on the veranda with a full warm & cold buffet or continental breakfast available in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer
Welcome Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing