We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already planning when I can come back!”
Review of Hotel Welcome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Welcome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Already planning when I can come back!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband picked this place and I was worried about spending so much for only one night while driving thru the area...and once I got there I was so glad he had chosen this place. The gals at the front desk were so kind and laid back, spoke wonderful English, and were very welcoming. The bed was comfortable and the balcony was enchanting with the view. We even left some clothes in the closet, and the gentleman at the front desk is taking care of sending it onto us at our next stop - what great service! The town is very sweet and the people very nice, I can't wait until I can return!

Room Tip: Probably higher floor is better for the view and any possible noise, although the door to the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanainVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    139
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
90
292
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lovey hotel located on the harbor of Villefranche. Stayed 8 nights in April with great weather. Hotel offers breakfast and is a Vin Bar at other times of the day. We didn’t hear any noise. Our room was with a balcony facing the harbor and was very comfortable. The bathroom has a bath with shower over it. Soaps and shampoos are provided. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Second time we have stayed and will be staying again in September (hopefully!).

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had an amazing stay here starting with the front desk. Everyone at Hotel Welcome was exceptionally kind and helpful. The location is superb. You can walk anywhere. The view is phenomenal. Definitely the best hotel to stay in while in this region of the south of France. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Whilst we didn't stay at this hotel we certainly enjoyed cafe au lait, a glass of wine and the relaxation of the chair on the promenade. All of these were enjoyable but most was the time to just sit and watch the world go by. Boats come and go, people walk up and down, dogs follow their owners and a few cars drive by. The service is friendly and welcoming and encourage you to sit, ponder and relax as you choose.
Enjoy a brief stop here even if you are not staying, you will be glad yo did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkgkrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a lovely place , and a super hotel.

The rooms aren't large but each is designed to take full advantage of the fabulous view over the bay. If you want to be busy you can just jump on an - o so cheap - bus or train and go to Nice, Monaco etc. But if you need a tonic, just order breakfast on your balcony and sit there all day

Room Tip: The standard doubles all have a sea view, but the superior one have a side view and second balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our "Spring Break" in Villefranche-sur-Mer was delightful -- and not because it wasn't really spring!! My husband and I had hoped for sun -- but not this time! HOWEVER, we loved the "Hotel Welcome" and highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit southern France. This hotel had the best view -- right onto the water (unlike anything I saw in Nice). It was quiet -- we slept with our window open every night. The staff was truly excellent -- professional always, but warm and friendly -- they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Our room was perfect -- a nice size -- not huge, but roomy, with lots of storage space for clothes -- shelves, as well as closet space, and drawers in the night stands. The queen-sized bed was very clean and comfortable, with a lovely duvet -- high quality. The bathroom was also roomy, with a great shower (in a tub, but shielded with a "half" shower door) -- never a problem with hot water. They even provided L'Occitane Lemon Verbena shower gel & shampoo in dispensers on the shower wall, and (presumably the same brand) lemon hand soap bar -- they all smelled so good! The sink was large, also, which was nice. They had a great hair dryer as well. The balcony off of our room was nice, too, even though we didn't get to use it very much due to the rain (boo!) -- but we'll be back to try it again -- this time later in the spring!
The location of the hotel was truly ideal -- steps away from about 10 different restaurants and all the shopping, as well as being right across from the water and about 1/4 mile from the beach (which we'll use next time....).
A special note is the housekeeping help we had -- I wish we knew her name! She was wonderful. She took such good care of us, going always above and beyond what we could possibly have expected.
This was a great hotel -- we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank temp_locals87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am very late in writing this review, but still I need to recommend this hotel!! My friend and I traveled to France at the very end of July last year. We finished off our trip here at Hotel Welcome. We loved everywhere we visited in France, but this village and hotel is really something special. We did NOT want to leave.

We booked somewhat late, so we were thrilled to even be able to get a room here. We ended up getting a small room on the 6th floor. It is decorated kind of like a cabin in a ship. Even though the room was tiny, our room was amazing…the reason being that since we were on the top, our balcony was totally secluded. All rooms here have a balcony, but the other balconies jut out and are visible from the street, while ours was tucked away. We had a sun screen that we could press a button and lower it down during the day (for shade), and raise at night. The view is awesome, day or night. It is magical to look out at night and see the boats and lights on the water. There was a nice table and two chairs to enjoy. I would actually prefer this room if I ever make it back to this village and hotel.

This was not an issue for us, but I thought I’d mention in case you have trouble with stairs. The elevator does not go to the 6th floor. So, you can take the elevator to the 5th floor, and then take the stairs up to the 6th. Again, this was not an issue for us. The staff was great and even carried our bags up for us, which was nice.

The location of the hotel is great. Obviously, it’s right on the water. There are numerous restaurants along the street to choose from. The hotel itself has an excellent wine bar on the street level. We sat outside at a table both nights and had a glass of wine. Actually, we thought we’d try a different place the second night, and realized that the wine bar is quite a gem. So we returned there anyway. In other words, the wine bar is awesome and not “just” a hotel bar. In fact, it’s an attraction in itself. There was a local man playing the guitar a little ways down the street and with people out walking, dining, and laughing, it was just as you would picture somewhere in the South of France.

Definitely explore the little side streets and alleys…they are full of small local stores and restaurants. We felt safe everywhere we went. The town was not over crowded with tourists like other places. That is one reason we chose this town over the more glitzy cities on the Riviera. I went on a walk or run by myself both days…explored the streets and ran on the road that goes along the beach. It was wonderful. The beach itself is very pretty and clean, and only a short walk from the hotel. It is pebbly, but not rocky. There are food stands by the beach where you can purchase food and drinks/beer.

My only “cons” of this hotel are the following: beach towel charge and spotty wi-fi.

I would stay here (Villefranche-sur-Mer and Hotel Welcome) again in a heartbeat. It was nice to visit somewhere laid back but still gorgeous!! Next time we'll rent a boat for the day!

Room Tip: LOVED the very top (6th floor) cabin room. Small, but a GREAT view with a secluded balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmettoGirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Welcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welcome

Property: Hotel Welcome
Address: 3 quai Amiral Courbet, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#2 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Welcome 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel by the sea, within walking distance from the beaches, in the heart of Villefranche-sur-Mer old town activities. Next to the Jean Cocteau Chapel 'Chapelle saint Pierre', Charmin hotel in a warm and family atmophere. All 35 rooms have air conditionning, sea view and a private balcony. Free access to the sauna for our customers (private sessions). The Wine Pier,, the hotel wine bar is open year-round everyday. Breakfast is served on the veranda with a full warm & cold buffet or continental breakfast available in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Welcome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer
Welcome Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing