We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another hit!”
Review of Les Garcons

Les Garcons
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another hit!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the third restaurant we've tried in Villefranche Sur Mer (there are enough that you can try a different one every night that you are here) and it was another hit!
The food was tasty and different enough to be interesting but not worryingly so, the service was helpful and friendly, our waiter was particularly patient at explaining the menu to us, and the overall value was great!
Yet another restaurant in Villefranche that we recommend you try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    219
    31
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“mediocre food with pretentious service”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Heading says it all, its a lovely setting with unnecessary pretentious service and mediocre service to say the least. If the waiter and service would have been better would be giving very different review.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niall s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely venue, lovely ambience”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This newly opened restaurant was recommended by the wine waiter at the Hotel Welcome in Villefranche and we were not disappointed. It is located one or two streets back from the seafront but was not difficult to find. The courtyard setting and lovely lighting made it intimate and cosy. The food was of very good quality. I had the duck in a honey and ginger sauce served on a bed of pureed potato. The potato was perfectly seasoned and the sauce was delicious and not at all sweet. I enjoyed a lovely bottle of Bandol rosé wine with my husband. The bill was very good considering the quality of the food. Oh, and the attentive waiters are definitely worth a mention - nothing was too much trouble and they were happy and made the whole experience a pleasant one. I will definitely eat there again when I visit Villefranche at Xmas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LEREVE06540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food/Ambience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I ate a couple of times at this restaurant in Villefranche and found it an absolute treat. The wonderful menu of a variety of meals was first class - everything looked so good I was almost tempted to ask the waiter to order it for me.

As well as the food the restaurant setting is fabulous. This is clearly the #1 restaurant in Villefranche without doubt and we tried the rest of the top 5 on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GARCON GOOD VALUE FOOD”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was number one on the listing recently pipped only by the equally good l'Aparti restaurant in Villefranche. For its broader choice menu it should stay there, with good service from Arnold who excelled at translating the entire French menu with a smile. Very good food at acceptable prices.
It has a typical town centre very pretty walled terrace so is protected from the blazing sun.
Not a typical tourist trap we will be returning to this regularly as well as the aforementioned l'Aparti.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Garcons also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Garcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing