We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique - and excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison du Frene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison du Frene
Ranked #1 of 15 Vence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique - and excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent our second break at La Maison. It is truly unique - like staying as a guest in a private art collection. Great attention to detail, very comfortable and warm, friendly hosts. Just outside the old walled town, which is picturesque and has some excellent restaurants. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rhepher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Remarkable hotel, with imaginative interiors and full of works of art. Guy, the proprietor, is charming, and is as characterful as his hotel. He is ready to make excellent suggestions of sights to see and places to eat. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard, and a spacious and comfortable. It is a real pleasure to spend time there. Our "room" was more like a small apartment with a walk-in closet, a lovely sitting area and large bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, served on beautiful crockery. We highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrabness
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay, with such friendly and welcoming hosts.
Great help on arrival and before by e-mail, nothing too much trouble.
We ate in two restaurants recommended by Guy, and both were delicious.
Easy bus into Nice, although best part of an hour, cheap and better than trying to park!
Lovely room, clean and spacious with top notch bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My friend and I had two rooms here in May of 2013. The hosts could not have been more helpful with everything. The place is full of fun art, I had the Marilyn Monroe room. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, goodies for breakfast, it was wonderful! While there, unfortunately the street to the front was being worked on, but it didn't impact us much, except for getting in and out of the place. But you can't fault the owners for that and I'm sure the work is completed by now! The town of Vence is lovely, with many shops and restaurants. I hope to return one day.

Truly an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Both of the rooms on the top floor were really spacious. Not just a bed and bathroom, but full sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Perfectly located in the small town of Vence, rooms are very comfortable (we didn't have any noise issue). Bathroom was good - although shampoo was missing the first night.
The hosts are charming and very welcoming. Breakfast was plenty - and croissants in particular were very good.
All in all, everything's been said about this place already, you cannot go wrong with this b&b!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKB_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perhaps our impression was tainted by our arrival experience: We were told we could arrive anytime after 3pm, so when we got there at 3:30pm nobody was there. We called the number several times and emailed, but only after 25 minutes did we hear back, then it took another 15 min for someone to show up and let us in. Given that we had our luggage and car it was quite uncomfortable as there is nowhere to park.

Then we were told we had to park our bikes in the public garage, a first on our 3.5 week trip staying at 10 different places.

The room was big and nicely decorated. Every corner of the house is filled with art of many different periods and a lot of pop art. It is entertaining and a bit kitsch, but it is fun.

Unfortunately we didn't get a good nights sleep as we were woken by many loud scooters as well as the street cleaning that started at 5am right below our room.

Breakfast was nothing special. Fresh croissants/baguette, industrial marmalade and a yoghurt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schnubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This inn is lcoated in an old house with three guest rooms. It is a fascinating little find full of eclectic art with large rooms which are more like apartments. It is run by two gentlemen who we found tremendously helpful and very concerned to ensure that our time in Vence was pleasant. We were there for three nights and they offered useful advice on places to go and restaurants. The breakfast was quite lovely. The price of the room was a bargain considering the location. The only drawback was the need to park in a nearby public lot but the house is perfectly located right at the entrance to the old city by the town square so that is to be expected. The art is a lot of fun - virtually every time I entered a room I noticed some piece of whimsical art that I had not seen before.

The town square had its summer festival on when we there which meant music by named performers every night. It made the first hour or two of sleeping a little noisy but then we probably should have bought a ticket and watched the show!

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor and it was huge, with a large separate bathroom, walk-in closet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vence
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Victoire
La Victoire
#4 of 13 in Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
1.7 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Frene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Frene

Property: La Maison du Frene
Address: 1 Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Maison du Frene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Frene Hotel Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing