We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of La Maison du Frene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison du Frene
Ranked #1 of 15 Vence B&B and Inns
Worcsuk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in June - would have loved to stay longer, Guy and Thiery very helpful and welcoming, breakfast great but wow the art, the decorations, the living room and kitchen are amazing. We loved being able to walk out into Vence for cocktails and dinner and not worry about driving.
thanks and we hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisDanWorcsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

"Unique" doesn't really express the character and charm of Guy and Thierry's property in Vence. Fitting for a town with so much art history, the collection of furniture and art is unlike any you've seen. It ranges from from high fashion to pop art – all with a sense of wit and style. Contrasting the frenzy of color and imagery in some parts of the house, our room was quiet, spacious and elegant. It felt like an apartment, and we were immediately at home.

Thierry held court at breakfast, guiding guests to an array of adventures and restaurants. He was always ready with an insightful suggestion or a fresh cup of coffee.

The location couldn't be more perfect, one block off the main square, and just across the street from the art museum and the old-town entrance. The bus to St. Paul-de-Vence is about 4-5 blocks away. We found Vence to be a breath of fresh air after the touristy character of Grasse. One night (to the disgust of Thierry), we drove the 40 minutes to Monte Carlo – for a complete change of pace.

This was another gem from Mr. & Mrs. Smith, our new go-to resource for finding unique hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you are going to the Côte D'Azur to see amazing light and art -- to find the magic that attracted Matisse, Chagall, Picasso etc ... STAY HERE! We were lucky enough to find this fabulous 'B&B' by browsing the internet .. and really - wow. We were 4 people, including my 14 year old godson with whom we wanted to share our love of France. Thierry and Guy go out of their way to help you plan your day, make sure your time is well spent and most certainly protect you from any tourist traps.!! Top that off with freshly baked croissants each morning ... we were in heaven.
Vence was a perfect location to get to Cannes one day and Nice the next ... and all the art and perfume in between.
Yes, all the reviews are fabulous. I loved reading them before I went. So i wanted to assure all that the reviews are true. And i'll post a couple of photos that might help someone make the right choice.
The Maison du Frene is truly the definition of magic.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bonjourjed212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We try to find great B and B's in petite villes in France in order to experience local life and see this wonderful country from the inside out. Guy and Thierry made our stay seem as if we had returned home for a visit. Their home is a veritable museum with one of the finest art collections we have seen. Each room is a personal suite, larger than many homes. Convenient location 20 min from Nice Cote d'Azur airport, but away from the hectic big city. We want to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dellieclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Imagine being locked in for the night at a museum of modern art! From the red walls in the foyer and stairwell, to the Greek bust strung with beads, this tiny but luxurious boutique hotel, located just across from the ancient fig tree and one of the gates of the Old Town, makes for a fantastic visit to Vence! All four rooms are suites, all decorated in a different style. Ours had a view of the mountains to the north and one of the oldest buildings in Vence. In addition to comfy beds, TV, wifi with speaker, there was a tiny fridge, large daybed (with dachsund-shaped pillows), and tons of lovely coffee-table books about Provence to browse through. Every time we came in or out, we would discover another wonderful piece of art or trompe l'oeil. Our hosts were gracious and breakfast was in their suite, with the brilliant decor, paintings and sculpture making a feast for the eyes while one breakfasts on fresh fruits, juice and yogurt. Defintely a unique experience!

Room Tip: Close to Old Town, parking one block away, superb ambiance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cd_in_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We loved every minute of our 2 night stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Every positive review of this B&B is accurate. From the divine room (we stayed in the Vallauris suite) to the delicious fresh breakfast, and especially the gorgeous hosts, we could not have been happier. We particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast, and being Australian, happily applied our vegemite to the superb crusty baguette (although the jams offered were also delicious)!

The location is perfect - right in the heart of beautiful Vence - although it was impossible to stop our hire car & unload our suitcases in the narrow street! We had to continue along to the public carpark nearby & then wheeled our luggage the short distance back to our home from home.

We loved the funky decore and the ambience. Our room had everything we desired and more - large comfortable bed (although we would have preferred covered quilts to the exposed blankets), TV, free WIFI, fridge, tea & coffee facilities and a safe. It was also excellent value for money. The view from our room was breathtaking!

If you're planning a trip to this very special part of the world, don't hesitate and just book La Maison du Frene immediately! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetojourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

La Maison du Frene is a gorgeous boutique hotel with gracious hosts who have left no detail unattended. Immaculately clean, beautifully styled, and spacious and comfortable rooms and beds. The hotel is well located and only metres from good bakeries and restaurants. Highly recommended for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic and peaceful stay in a pretty French town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheZanzibarChest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vence
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
1.0 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Frene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Frene

Property: La Maison du Frene
Address: 1 Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Maison du Frene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Frene Hotel Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing