We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Such a Pretty Village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ville medieval

Ville medieval
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Such a Pretty Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well worth the trip if staying on the coast. I simply love it, from the unique shops to the beautiful & authentic medieval section to its location between hills where a gentle day's walk is appreciated for the exercise & atmosphere. Vence called us back a second time when we stayed on the seafront, luring us to come again for a day of history. Perhaps it was our advantage and perhaps (some may say) the wrong time to visit but we went on a Monday the second time and most of the shops were closed. If you want a quiet time for the day, go on Monday. Otherwise, the village is a beautiful blending of school children, foreign visitors and special events (such as the television filming that was being done on our first visit). I told my partner that if I considered going to this part of France again, I would certainly look at Vence for accommodation...a special place this is and one that gets into your mind & won't let go.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondechick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    102
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth making the trip on public transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We travelled by bus-train-bus from Antibes to Vence, and it was well worth it. Vence is a beautiful medieval town, and once through the old gate Porte du Peyra, the selection of shops and restaurants was fun to explore. The views from just outside the walled town are simply stunning. Look out for Les Agapes for a good place to lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shackleford_LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
737 reviews
294 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Once you find parking- a nice town to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

It is necessary to find a place for your car- good luck on the street or in the free lot.

There is a pay lot with few instructions how to pay- confusing.

Definitely worth a stroll and a stop for a drink- you can look at all the other tourists.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Although very touristy it still maintains its charm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very well maintained and very clean medieval village (which however is older than this with some elements of the town dating back to around the 2nd century AD) with an abundance of shops and restaurants. It was pretty busy in June so I would expect it to be very busy in high season. Parking can be a bit tricky.
Market days as follows: Flowers every morning except Monday in Place du Grand Jardin. 
Fruit and vegetables every morning except Monday in Place Surian. Clothes market every Tuesday and Friday in the Old Town. Antiques: all day Wednesdays in Place du Grand Jardin
This was a favourite place to stay for Monet, Picasso, Matisse and Chagall, I think this says it all.
If you are going to visit villages in the region put this one on the list.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small, easy to explore, delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a great day trip from Nice. Take the Lignes d'Azur bus (400) from beside the Meridien hotel. It's a bargain at 1.50 Euros. It's a short walk from the Vence bus depot, past the market (Place du Grand Jardin). Pick up a free map from the Tourist bureau on the way and enjoy. Great restaurants on site, too

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank GKW-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ville medieval also viewed

Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Ville medieval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing