We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing family stay with young children”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Storyvilla

Storyvilla
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Storyvilla
Tennis Court Reception Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Storyvilla
Tennis Court
Reception Room
Famous Newport Jazz Piano
Traditional Four-poster in Villa
The John Cleese bed!
Four poster in villa
View to Cap d'Antibes
Pool
Cottage
Boules / Petanque Court
View to Cap d'Antibes from upper garden
Footie with a view
View to villa from cottage
Dining Room
Misty Morning below Storyvilla
Roses in bloom
Night view to Antibes from living room
Day view to Antibes from living room
Outdoor terrace
BBQ Terrace
Storyvilla at Night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mandx
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing family stay with young children”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had an amazing stay at Storyvilla. As previous reviewers have stated, the owners are an absolute pleasure to deal with providing plenty of useful information in advance of our trip. Most important of which was the fact that we could do an online supermarket shop! When we arrived the wonderful housekeeper Muriel had already unpacked all our groceries which was a lovely touch. We spent a lovely week here- barely leaving the villa except for short trips for ice cream to the nearby villages! The pool was fab for my 2 and 4 year old - they pretty much spent all day every day in there. The tennis court was also used in the morning- although it was extremely hot even then! All in all would echo all the positive comments of previous reviews - the views really are superb. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee w
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Came to visit my old home, and now regret ever having left....”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2012

I was a resident of Storyvilla years ago, it was owned then by the producers of the Nice Jazz Festival and being a musician came to love the place..So, for my 50th birthday, I wanted to visit one of my favorite places on this earth. Storyvilla is as it was, a magical spot that I still love!
The new owners are very gracious and welcoming and have taken great care of the property. It must be seen to be appreciated. The beautiful photos online don't even touch at the stunning nature of the place. I'll be back soon.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G
Antiparos, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“As soon as you arrive at Storyvilla you are hooked”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Recent fantastic week. It's a convenient 20 minute trip from Nice airport. Up in the hillside, you are away from everything. As soon as you arrive at Storyvilla you are hooked. The beautiful Provençal stone main building and separate stone cottage, all surrounded by gardens with an abundance of olive trees, shrubs and fruit trees, all terraced on at least four levels. The interior is full of character, broad staircase leads down to a spacious living area, with access to the patio and salt water swimming pool. Our bedroom opened straight onto it! We had two friends with us and also our 20 year old daughter and her friend who took up residence in the cottage. Ideal! There is so much to do there, so many areas within the property. Laze by the pool, go down a terrace and have a game of boules. Head further down if you fancy tennis. Or simply find a quiet, shady nook and read. The views from the house are stunning, look down to Nice and the Med in the distance, look behind and the majestic mountain is standing guard! Vence is a few minutes' drive away, historic town, get all your provisions for back at the villa or check out the fantastic selection of restaurants. There's lots to explore, including the beautiful Matisse chapel. We managed to tear ourselves away from the villa and went to St. Paul de Vence, it's a short drive away and not to be missed. Can't recommend this villa enough. Beautifully positioned. Every convenience. A gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities. Privacy.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keara E
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

Idyllic Provençal style house in the hills above the medieval walled town of Vence, with restaurants aplenty. 20 minutes from nice airport. Close to the beautiful St. Paul de Vence, a must for art lovers. Lunch on the terrace in the famous Colombe D'Or, with Picassos on the wall, a must! (Book well in advance). The house has everything a family needs, pool, tennis, boules and a kids play area. Car a necessity, with easy access to Nice, Monaco, Ventimiglia and Cannes in the other direction. Suitable for families, babysitter available or as a romantic getaway in the quaint stone cottage, we have done both. A place you fall in love with and will return to year after year. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Declan Q
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Storyvilla was a magical setting for our wedding.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Storyvilla was the setting for our wedding celebration and what a magical experience it was in a truly amazing setting.
The house was everything that was promised and more for our party of 12 family and friends who stayed in the house and the stone cottage.
We had people of all ages and all levels of activity with us and there was something for everyone. For the cyclist some famous Tour de France climbs, for the runner the promenade in Nice; the tennis court and the pool were well used, too.
The beautiful Provencal-style house has a wonderful view in a serene, secluded location yet it is just minutes from just about every conceivable tourist distraction.
We spent two weeks there on our honemoon after the wedding and everyone stayed with us for the entire fortnight. None of our party was in any hurry to go home!
Highlights of the trip included the visit to the Matisse Chapel - It's easy to see why the surroundings must have been such an inspiration – and the extraordinary mediaeval town of St Paul de Vence.
The best memories of all are from our wedding dinner on the lawn.
It truly was a wonderful way to start our marriage.
Wonderful memories abide of the pink sky as dusk fell, the flickering candles as we dined on the lawn with views of the Mediterranean ahead of us and the Alpes to the side. A Jazz ensemble played and later we danced in the warm evening air.
Storyvilla has a particular magic all of its own. and thanks to that, the memory of our special day will remain with us forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole D
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Just perfect!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Storyvilla is our home away from home on the French Riviera; we'd never leave if we didn't have to!

First, the location is fantastic and the views are amazing. From Italy to St. Tropez, you have easy access to the entire Cote d'Azur for day trips.... Nice, Monaco, Antibes, Cannes, the mountains and the sea... you can't go wrong. That's assuming you want to leave the house....

Second, the house is really something special, a destination in its own right, as if it has a heart and soul of its own. Oh, if those walls could talk, what stories they would tell! And if you make it out of the house....

Third, the grounds are alive with every kind of flower and fruit and tree of the Mediterranean... the pool is warm and inviting... and there is enough room for everyone to find their own piece of heaven. Best of all, the kids can run and play without worry, a gift often lost in this cramped modern world we live in.

The icing on the cake is the home owners, who are a delight to deal with and clearly love their home and want others to love it as much as they do. They've thought of every little detail and the housekeeper keeps everything ticking like clockwork. You only need to sit back and enjoy!

The only down side is... the kids always cry when it's time to go home!

This is our third year in a row spending precious time in this grand old house, and we'll be back again, you can count on it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views! Location Location Location
Liked least: A bit difficult to get to.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roisin M
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Paradise in the south of France!.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

Storyvilla is a magnificent house oozing charm and character with a warmth to it that is reflected in the owners who i had the pleasure of meeting on my arrival. As I had a 20year old with me who had brought a friend they were able to avail of the guest cottage which is in the grounds which worked wonderfully as they had their privacy yet I knew where they were all the time. The gardens around storyvilla are perfectly manicured and provide a perfect vista when lazing by the swimming pool. As myself and my girls are ardent tennis players we enjoyed playing tennis most mornings before the sun got too hot in the excellent quality tennis court at the bottom of the garden!. The proximty to vence is such that we nipped in and out most days at some point and vence itself is a gorgeous little town with a lovely old quarter. A big attraction and a novelty that we discovered when staying here was that for a mere €1.50 we were able to get the bus from vence in to the centre of nice. We did this several times and as we there for two weeks, we were able to go to the fabulous antiques market in nice twice and picked up great little trinkets both time. Being musicians and singers it was an added bonus to have the use of a grand piano in storyvilla and we spent many a night singing and drinking copious glasses of wine around the piano!!!. I can't recommend this property highly enough!. I have lost count of the amount of times I have been in this part of France but I can honestly say I have never stayed in a property of such calibre that offers value for money and with the guest cottage means that I have that extra space whether it be for my teenage kids, or friends who want to visit when I am there!!. I have already booked my storyvilla holiday again this year!!!. je l'attend avec impatience!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the guest cottage being included and the amenities such as tennis court, swimming pool, grand piano!!.
Liked least: I would have liked to have been able to walk in to Vence but there is no pedestrian path from the property in to Vence!!. It wasn't a problem though because I had a car and it only took ten minutes to drive in.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing