We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel with super proprietors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with super proprietors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is my third visit to Vence, which we keep revisiting because the service us excellent and the food, roasted over an open fire, is wonderful. Patrons of this hotel write poems and paint pictures for the proprietress because the service is so excellent.

Room Tip: Only six rooms,beach very sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

An absolutely charming hotel. It's an old world feeling place with a large room with old wood furniture, beam ceilings, and tiled floor.The mother and daughter who run the place are extremely hard working people and extremely nice. They provide a 10 euro per day voucher toward parking in a nearby underground lot. (You get a new voucher every day -- if you enter the lot in late afternoon and leave in the morning, it covers the full cost). I would gladly return. Readers should recognize that this is not a luxury hotel -- no tv, no safes, and I don't think it has air conditioning (?not sure?) but that wasn't relevant when I was there (and maybe never is - look for a summertime review). Also, big people might have a difficult time fitting into the shower. I think Vence is a nice town to visit because it is both picturesque and a real town of regular people. Local restaurants that I recommend are Le Pigeonnier and Les Lavandes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

When you think of a small medieval village in France, what do you see? Well this is it! The owners were wonderful and so friendly, such a wonderful family owned business. The food is absolutely wonderful and creatively put together. We enjoyed the light morning breakfast was satisfying. We are planning to bring our children back this summer!

Room Tip: There is more of a view on the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haylo444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba , Israel
Level Contributor
435 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to the Auberge for dinner with a 4 months old girl . The attitude was great , the food was very tasty and they had a nice wine list .We enjoyed all dishes and the menu actually offered deserts we could barely touch as we were already full .

Room Tip: The stove is heating the dining room - stay away from it ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed at Auberge des Seigneurs several times and have always, as on this occasion, found it an excellent choice. It is a family run hotel and the welcome is warm. I love the traditional, simply furnished, Provençal bedrooms each named after an artist, I think, with Vencois connections and - wonderfully - no television ! The Renoir room, for example, is large, with a view out towards the hills, a really comfortable bed, a pristine bathroom and lovely touches - fresh flowers and fruit on the table. The bedrooms are serviced regularly throughout the day. The location right at the heart of the 'old town' is superb. Car parking arrangements are slightly complicated, inevitable in this old part of Vence but a small price to pay for the wonderful location with galleries, interesting small shops, cafes and restaurants literally on the doorstep.

To add to its virtues, the hotel has a great restaurant (closed I think on Sundays and Mondays but best to check) which has an excellent reputation locally, with spit roasted dishes a particular speciality. Everything is freshly made and in my experience, delicious.

All in all a wonderful place to stay, and one where you can, if you wish, enjoy a very authentic, slightly laid back Provençal way of life. Travelling by bus is a very easy option if you are seeking a slower pace of sightseeing in the region. There are regular buses to Nice and other destinations throughout the day with good connections on to other places on the Côte d'Azur such as Menton and Cannes. There is a delightful woodland walk from Vence to St Paul, and Vence is really easy to get to from Nice - bus 400 or the 94 from Jardins Albert 1er.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ford65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a jewel, one of a kind. Sandrine, and family, made this a unique experience. The open fire cooking was a delight. The chicken cooked this way takes an hour, so you need to plan ahead.... but it is worth it! You are treated to a 14th century hotel!!! with a gourmet restaurant attached! As part of the outer wall of Vence, you can stroll the city at your leisure after your dinner! Our stay of 5 nights were an experience to remember for a lifetime. Vence is central so that day trips were easy and enjoyable. And always fun to return to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: During the high season, request "not over the restaurant". There can be noise until 10:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is an excellent auberge in the middle of this pretty little town a few miles North of Nice.
We had a pretty room with a little table and very comfortable twin beds (exceptional value at 90 euros plus breakfast at 9 euros per person), and a simple functional bathroom with a good shower.

Our room overlooked the road but the double glazing was extremely effective in keeping the noise out. There is no air conditioning but a fan is provided. We had a good breakfast, with some meats and cheese and fresh fruit as well as bread and croissants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vence
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Victoire
La Victoire
#4 of 13 in Vence
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mas de Vence
Hotel Mas de Vence
#10 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint-Martin & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Property: Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Address: Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seigneurs Et Du Lion d`Or Hotel Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing