We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Must admit I've never stayed at the hotel, but I have frequented the restaurant for the past 7 years! The family run establishment is delightful. The chef is a master! What comes out of his kitchen is just heavenly! Food is prepared fresh, cooked to perfection and exceptionally creative. Friends we've introduced to the restaurant insist on going there whenever they come into town. Not only do you leave feeling very happy, but the hostess always sends off the ladies with a long stem rose....such a nice touch! Nice wine list, too. I could not find to rate the restaurant, so I took the liberty of using the hotel review section. This is a must when visiting the Vence/St Paul de Vence area...we drive from Antibes just for his cooking! oh la la!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirtualGlobalLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 125 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We did a tour of the French Riviera and I'm not a huge fan of the heat or the sea, so I wanted to stay in the cooler mountains, but not up on a huge hill or somewhere inaccessible. So for us, the location of this place was perfect. The town of Vence is very lowkey but has amazing cafes, bars, pharmacies and stores. You can find everything you need here without the crowds of the seaside cities or the sprawl and crime of the bigger cities like Nice.

It's owned by a very special family who are very genuine about making you feel comfortable. We had a problem with our rental car and the daughter called the agency on our behalf, even though the number was in San Remo, Italy. It was a very kind gesture.

Parking's a 10 minute walk away at a good parking lot and the hotel passes you vouchers to help offset the cost.

We were very happy with our stay here and will probably return when we vacation again in the French Riviera.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Totallers T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

August is way too busy and too hot to really appreciate the hotel. We stayed in a side room facing the small alleyway. we looked onto the residency flats next door with all the associated sounds. None were offensive and we felt like village residents. However if you want quiet then this is not for you - because August is HOT and you sleep with the windows open and the fan on (no aircon). The room is large by French standards with lovely period furniture. The bed is a standard double. Bathroom is very clean. We would stay there again - but in off-season.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike-Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this fabulous hotel (on the recommendation of trip advisor). Although having a 2 star rating we were given the 5 star treatment by the hotel owners. Nothing was too much trouble and our room, which had views of the mountains, was spacious and well appointed. This hotel concentrates on the little things, flowers and fruit in the room, freshly made bed each day and a restaurant to die for.

The quaintness of this hotel is hard to explain, but I am sure that anyone who stays here will feel an atmosphere that one does not get from modern establishments. This hotel is honest in its presentation and one can feel the true history of the region oozing from its walls.

We have travelled throughout the world and this place will certainly forever hold a special place for us.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

It is like a homely heritage hotel. Our room was on the second level and it was spacious, with a view to the mountains. We liked the little table in the room that allowed us to chill out and have a snack. We were also pleasantly surprised to see the room tidied and with a piece of chocolate left for us when we came back after a walk around town! (it was only a few hours ago that we checked in!) 
Bathroom was spacious and clean too. 

The hosts are a jovial elderly couple, and Danielle was so enthusiastic to have us here that she came down immediately to pick up my luggage! A very kind gesture which I have to refuse! (We couldn't bear to make her carry our heavy luggage though!)

The hotel is well placed near to the bus station, about 5-7 min walk away (bus gets us to St Paul de Vence) and there were small cafes around for a breakfast or lunch. As for dinner, we chose to have it at the hotel after seeing great reviews on Tripadvisor. We told Danielle that we wanted roast chicken for dinner about 2hrs in advance so she could prepare it. It was beautifully roasted by Danielle in the restaurant & the chicken was juicy and tender. Definitely worth a try! 

It is not a luxurious place, but definitely recommend for someone who enjoys a homely welcome and who likes to experience the heritage of Vence! 

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-geok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights here. Our top floor room, the Modigliani room, was spacious and nicely decorated with Provencal fabrics. Two large windows provided views of the hills above Vence, with an added bonus of a view of the Matisse Chapel. The inn and attached restaurant were charming. The dinner we had was excellent - lamb roasted over the spit in the huge wood burning open oven which is at one end of the dining room. Ample breakfasts were served in the same room every morning. This was one of the nicest places we stayed in our trip to the south of France and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnalo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a lovely little hotel. We stayed 4 nights in a twin room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. Little touches like roses in the room and fresh fruit each day, added to the character. The car park was very close and the hotel provided 10 euros worth of parking each day which was a real help. The only very slight improvement would be more comfortable pillows! It doesn't have any outside space which some people might miss especially in good weather. Great view from the window though. Friendly and welcoming - would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vence hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Victoire
La Victoire
#4 of 13 in Vence
232 reviews
1.6 mi away
Logis Hotel des Cayrons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#6 of 13 in Vence
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mas de Vence
Hotel Mas de Vence
#10 of 13 in Vence
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Address: Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range: $77 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seigneurs Et Du Lion d`Or Hotel Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing