We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently returned from a 4 week vacation in Southern France. We spent 3 nights at Auberge des Seigneurs in Vence. The hotel is charming, filled with wonderful art work and photos of artists who have stayed there. Our room was on the third floor and offered spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. The room, though not fancy, was comfortable and spacious.
The restaurant at the hotel is fabulous! We ate there twice and couldn't have been more pleased. We also enjoyed the breakfasts. Our hosts, Sandrine Roti and her mother, were welcoming and extremely accommodating and speak fluent English. We recommend Auberge des Seigneurs enthusiastically!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Jeanie05401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a most delightful visit from Saturday 9/22 to Wednesday 9/26. Three adults, two lovely rooms. Sandrine and her Mother were helpful and charming. We had dinner on Saturday and Tuesday nights - both dinner were fabulous. It is the perfect French Inn!! We are passing the word to friends and relatives!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last summer and it was a very nice hotel. The owners were very welcoming. We were here to stay the night before our early flight the next morning from Nice airport. We had a beautiful view from our room. The only minor inconvenient thing was that the hotel doesn't have its own parking so we had to park our car in a parking lot a block away. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Summerdaizy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

One of the most delightful places we've stayed anywhere. Comforable, spotlessly clean, beatuifully decorated rooms and common areas with antiques. Great service. Nice breakfast. Sorry to has missed dinner there (restaurant not open Monday night), as had hear it was great.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planner4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place has a really wonderful feeling and atmosphere, and the personell are extremely friendly, helpful and kind.
Strongly recommend this place to everyone seeking a couple of nights in Vence!
Nothing at all to complain about!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gammazone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for three days and found the Auberge absolutely charming. The inn is operated by a lovely women and her staff who are very much life a family. Our room on the second floor was large, spotless with beautiful antiques and lovely views out the windows. Breakfasts were in the restaurant's dining room and they were more than adequate. The one diner we had at the auberge was lamb roasted in the dining room's open-pit fire place. The lamb was fabulous.

Vence is an excellent base of operations for visiting the French Riviera. It is close to the coast and other hill towns, and it has numerous sights of its own to visit. A very charming place. Don't forget to visit the Matisse Chapel...It is an unforgettable experience.

Note: there is no elevator to the rooms above the restaurant and the parking lot is a block away from the auberge...They are both minor inconveniences to an overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesertTravellers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable wk end here, beautiful location, within easy reach of all the bars and restaurants.
Warm welcome and spotlessly clean.
Planning to return early nxt year.
Efficient bus routes nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vence hotels
0.0 mi away
La Victoire
La Victoire
#3 of 13 in Vence
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#6 of 13 in Vence
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#5 of 13 in Vence
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#4 of 13 in Vence
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mas de Vence
Hotel Mas de Vence
#10 of 13 in Vence
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Logis Hotel des Cayrons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Address: Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range: $76 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seigneurs Et Du Lion d`Or Hotel Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing