We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superlative!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Westwood, Massachusetts
1 review
“Superlative!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a most delightful visit from Saturday 9/22 to Wednesday 9/26. Three adults, two lovely rooms. Sandrine and her Mother were helpful and charming. We had dinner on Saturday and Tuesday nights - both dinner were fabulous. It is the perfect French Inn!! We are passing the word to friends and relatives!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last summer and it was a very nice hotel. The owners were very welcoming. We were here to stay the night before our early flight the next morning from Nice airport. We had a beautiful view from our room. The only minor inconvenient thing was that the hotel doesn't have its own parking so we had to park our car in a parking lot a block away. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerdaizy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

One of the most delightful places we've stayed anywhere. Comforable, spotlessly clean, beatuifully decorated rooms and common areas with antiques. Great service. Nice breakfast. Sorry to has missed dinner there (restaurant not open Monday night), as had hear it was great.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planner4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place has a really wonderful feeling and atmosphere, and the personell are extremely friendly, helpful and kind.
Strongly recommend this place to everyone seeking a couple of nights in Vence!
Nothing at all to complain about!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gammazone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for three days and found the Auberge absolutely charming. The inn is operated by a lovely women and her staff who are very much life a family. Our room on the second floor was large, spotless with beautiful antiques and lovely views out the windows. Breakfasts were in the restaurant's dining room and they were more than adequate. The one diner we had at the auberge was lamb roasted in the dining room's open-pit fire place. The lamb was fabulous.

Vence is an excellent base of operations for visiting the French Riviera. It is close to the coast and other hill towns, and it has numerous sights of its own to visit. A very charming place. Don't forget to visit the Matisse Chapel...It is an unforgettable experience.

Note: there is no elevator to the rooms above the restaurant and the parking lot is a block away from the auberge...They are both minor inconveniences to an overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertTravellers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable wk end here, beautiful location, within easy reach of all the bars and restaurants.
Warm welcome and spotlessly clean.
Planning to return early nxt year.
Efficient bus routes nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've eaten here twice and find it one of the most memorable places anywhere. In the summer you sit outside under umbrellas in a small courtyard surrounded by medieval stone buildings. In the background are the Alps Martine - a simply stunning sight as a backdrop to a lovely meal. This is a perfect French country restaurant. The food is very high quality and for a small supplement you can have meats bbq'd on the open fire in the dining room! The hotel itself is an ancient medieval building with tiled floors, oak beams, etc - very country French in style and simply beautiful. I really love this place and sought it out when re-visiting Vence recently. There are a lot of restaurants in Vence, but none with the simply stunning setting and view that Auberge Des Seigneurs has.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vence hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Victoire
La Victoire
#4 of 13 in Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#6 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint-Martin & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Property: Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Address: Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seigneurs Et Du Lion d`Or Hotel Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing