We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit and will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Victoire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Victoire
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Second visit and will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Delightful hotel with the most helpful and kind people running it. This is our second visit and whilst it is not a "posh" hotel like so many in the area it is homely and friendly. Facilities are fine if basic and it is a few yards from the old town and the main square. Parking is underground (under the main square) and you can get discounted vouchers from reception which save a lot of money. Breakfast in your room at no extra cost is a lovely indulgence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    79
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
157
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is an exceptionally well positioned, friendly, tidy and welcoming hotel and staff right in the middle of town and adjacent to the old city area. Parking is available opposite at significant discount and cheap. The only potential is is the small size of the rooms but as long as you are out and about this isn't and issue. The price and value otherwise are excellent as is the owner Natale.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at La Victoire for a week at the end of September and we were totally enchanted by the hotel, Vence and the surrounding areas. As thers have mentioned, the rooms are small but very clean and the hotel is very charming with some nice decor, like the rock 'n roll theme at the entrance. The hotel is really very nicely situated and we waled the few yards to the old city every night to try out the different restaurants - off course stopping for a drink at Henry's bar (right next to the hotel). Great place to do some people watching. Vence turned out to be a great base for us to explore from. We were able to go to some of the perched villages in the Alps and explore the coastline from St Tropez to Monaco - all within easy reach. We even took a bus in to Nice for a day. We did miss some kind of bar fridge in the room as we couldn't really keep any of the produce we bought fresh. Pierre and Nathalie did keep some things in the kitchen fridge though. We chose not to have breakfast at the hotel as we prefer to try different places. We didn't realize that if you do not have breakfast, then the coffee is not complimentary - so don't make the same mistake! The parking arrangements at the parking garage across the road appeared complex at first but worked out well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekockn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Once again Nathanlie and Pierre, who own and manage this charming hotel, showed their hospitality and personal touch. For this reason some of the writers that attended last fall's Writing Week decided to come a few days in advance to enjoy the hotel and Vence. I've booked three new Writers' Weeks in 2013 at La Victoire. The rooms are always clean and well kept, but most of all, it feels like home away from home. I highly recommend the hotell and service!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, ask them for what you need, and if available, they will arrange it for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

... just to paraphrase a well known commercial in Holland.
We loved it there.
This is a highly recommendable small scale hotel with reasonable prices and very good service. The owners are very open and accessible and give a nice personal touch to the stay without being the least pushy. We stayed there at the same time as a group of Norwegian writers who are regulars, and the whole ambiance has an artistic or creative feel to it. There are various instruments which guest can play and one evening there even was a kind of improvised mini concert.
The hotel is clean, equipped with airco and is centrally placed just next to the entrance to the old city centre. Our room was a bit small, but I don't know if that is the rule or the exception. Anyway, we only slept there.
The hotel prefers that you put your reservation through their site or that you call them, -don't use general booking sites. They speak good English, no need to worry about misunderstandings and the like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you're following the Michelin Green Guide to the French Riviera, the recommended walking tour of Vence's old town begins at the front door of this hotel, which is located just outside the Petra Gateway through the old town walls. If your purpose is to explore the old buildings, narrow roads and hidden squares of this ancient town, this is the place to stay. It's also close to a wide selection of restaurants.
My room was small but clean and efficiently laid out. I was on my own so there was sufficient space for my open suitcase. However, a second person's suitcase would not have fitted so conveniently. The bed was particularly comfortable and, although my room faced the street, with the window closed I was not bothered by any outside noise. Breakfast was standard French, with wonderful fresh bread (on a Sunday morning!) together with a few extras.
The staff were very firendly and helpful. As soon as I made my reservation several weeks ahead of time, they sent me a welcoming e-mail and, in response to my request, they gave me careful driving instructions to reach their hotel from the Nice Cote d'Azur airport. When I arrived, the man at the desk took me personally to my room and gave me detailed instructions (in good English) about the TV, air conditioning, etc. Then and the next morning he was very helpful in every way.
A couple of cautionary notes for those who care about such things. The hotel lobby is one floor above street level. To get there, you must climb a narrow curving (indoor) starcase. Once you reach the lobby, there is an elevator to take you to the upper floors.
Also, if you arrive by car you need to be aware that immediately after you pass the hotel, the road becomes narrow and one-way leading away from the hotel. That means that, if you do as I did and only notice the hotel after you have passed it, then you are treated to a one-way journey though the whole town, after which you are faced with an assortment of signs directing you to other towns but no sign telling you how to get back to where you were on the other side of Vence. It took me 30 minutes, many kilometers and three stops for instructions before I got back to where I could try it ll again.
Be sure that as you drive along avenue de la resistance towards the hotel, keep your eyes open for the widening at the square, place du Grand-Jardin. Immediately before the square on your right you will see a turn off to the Grand-Jardin underground car park. Take it and park; the hotel is just across the street from, but 20 meters beyond, the car park entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchBCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavictoire, Gérant at La Victoire, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on this website after your visit to the Hotel La Victoire Vence.
Driven by the constant search for satisfaction, feedback from our hosts are definitely the basis of our work.
We are therefore delighted to express the satisfaction you after your visit, it encourages us to maintain our current methods not without further reflection to improve benefits and services we offer.
In fact, our goal everyday is to provide a quality service to our customers and anticipate their needs as much as possible.
Your comments motivate us to continue our efforts to ensure that your next visit with us is - at least to the height of the last one.
Looking forward the pleasure to welcoming you again in our house, please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

A nice and clean hotel, friendly staff and located in the heart of Vence. Our room was small, but in total we were very satisfied with the staff and service. Hotel is right next to the main square. Breakfast was average. Warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamochillina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vence
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#7 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Victoire

Property: La Victoire
Address: 4 Place du grand Jardin, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Victoire 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 air condition bedrooms - double glazed windows - new renovated hotel in the center of town, next to the historical town of Vence. Airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Victoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Victoire Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing