We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Returned and again so wonderful-don't miss it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Valbonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $113
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Returned and again so wonderful-don't miss it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We returned to Lou Cigalon in Valbonne and will always visit when in the area. Food very special with set menu but flexible if customers are allergic/intolerable to some ingredients. Our first course was a soft boiled egg with truffles and sauce with mushrooms. One of our party is intolerant of mushrooms & substitutions were made...so fine in both preparations. The hostess is a delight and we dearly will await our next trip to this restaurant as one of our favorites!! Make reservations and note the restaurant is air conditioned which is especially important this summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BChupka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    29
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredible Dishes warm and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beyond our expectations we were absolutely positively surprised.
Starting from the very warm welcome over the great selection of wines through the extremely creative dishes, always made to the point, we had an evening and dining experience which we only got to know in restaurants that have at least one michelin star. According to our experience this is the best place to go for an evening dinner when you are around Opio/Valbonne. Not in any other location in the area you will receive this quality for such an adequate price. Unfortunately we have to leave Valbonne. Otherwise we would come back tomorrow. Please make sure to reserve a table by phone or email in advance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kali1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I often use tripadvisor to search for restaurants but have very rarely left a review myself. However Lou Cigalon was such a lovely experience that I left feeling inspired to do so. Every part of our meal was excellent, truly inspirational especially considering the chef is on his own the kitchen. His wife covers front of house and delivered the kind of service that was perfect and from our experience quite rare in the south of France. The two of them clearly love what they do and it is apparent from when you first step into the restaurant until you leave. Exceptional! We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We fortunately found Lou Cigalon on trip advisor and what a amazing experience it was. The husband and wife team created one of the finest meals that you could wish for in a very nice setting. The menu was excellent and the combination of ingredients and flavours along with true French presentation made it an unforgettable experience. Their service was very friendly and we understood from our conversation that this was a love of theirs not a job. It truly shows, magnificent. Thankyou for such an amazing evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GSJS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Google Translation
Lou Cigalon a répondu à votre avis...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream came through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lou Cigalon is a masterpiece. My wife and I spend more than 3 hours with the masterchef and his brilliant waiter yesterday and the food was as close to perfect as it can get. The taste, in many way different from "mainroad" left a very lasting impression. This is certaily a place that we will come back to - again and again. Yesterday we had (almost) the full chef menu, next time we will try out the "standard" - which also is great. We went for the local wine - which we belive one shall do - being in Provence.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stavanger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Lou Cigalon a répondu à votre avis...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing