We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch by all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Valbonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $107
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Classic French cooking with style. Child of 8 years was given menu tailored for him while keeping all our courses (plus extra homemade marshmellows!!) . Gluten free needs met while keeping in the style and fashion of our multi-course meal. A definite must and on top of it with a charming hostess.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BChupka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    29
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Most pleasant dinning experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We went there as a family with 5 children for lunch and were most pleasantly surprised by its high level of quality and service. We had the set lunch and each dish were most delicious. Madame was most attentive and the chef even took some time to have a little chat with us. We would love to return again , perhaps without the children as we can imagine it to be avery nice evening venue and even during the winter times, the ambiance was most cosy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sing2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the French Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This restaurant provides the old French atmosphere, the fine attention to details in the cuisine, and the earnest service of the chef's wife who really seems to want the diners to feel as though they are guests in her home. Each dish was perfect. The service was impeccable. Overall, i felt as though the quality of the restaurant really was superior to the quality of the tourists eating there. If you are seeking an authentic old-world Michelin quality meal, this is the place for you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheReids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New and keen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

This man and wife team have rejuvenated Lou Cigalon, which used to have a Michelin star and they deserve to get a star again based on the service, food and value we have received the last two times we have visited. Fabulous effort, outstanding cuisine and a very warm welcome. Madame speaks excellent English and Monsieur is the jovial occupant of the open kitchen (we liked this) in a small and intimate restaurant at the top of the village which is fortunately air conditioned. Go!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TheMaxFactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, good value and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Yes, this was once something else, but now it is something new. The new is an excellent restaurant which deserves to succeed, superb food and at very fair prices, we would expect to pay 50-100% more for this in London or Paris.
They are eager to please and we shall return regularly now we have discovered it.

Helpful?
4 Thank Godalmingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing