We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motion-sensitive bathroom lights!”
Review of Hotel Omega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Omega
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Valbonne
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Imagine, for a moment, that you wish to have a nice relaxing bath. Or you wish to put on your make-up. Or perhaps you wish to shave. In the Hotel Omega, this is made especially exciting by the fact that the bathroom lights will go out when you are partway through these activities! The bathroom light sensor is not able to sense you unless you are moving a lot. It is also situated behind you when you are facing the mirror.

I also noticed at breakfast that the dishwasher doesn't work properly, since there are little fragments of food on every plate.

The staff are really friendly and nice, which is a pity, since the facilities are not suitable for use.

In addition, dinner is not available on Saturdays, Sundays or Fridays. They recommend that you visit the Novotel which is just down the road and, to be frank, I would recommend that you not return from the Novotel.

My enduring memory of the week that I have spent in this hotel is of swaying backwards and forwards whilst attempting to shave...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narrowfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

I couldn't get into the hotel I was advised to due to it being full, so I ended up at Hotel Omega just along the road. Do not expect bells and whistles but overall this was a very pleasant hotel. The rooms had really good bathrooms compared with the Novotel, and the restaurant staff that evening was very accommodating.
My only bad experience was at breakfast where the waiter seemed determined to ignore customers waiting for a table.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persia-Bellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I stayed at the Omega for a technical conference in Sophia Antipolis. The hotel is just down the hill from the ETSI headquarters and other technical research organizations - a 3- 5 minute walk. The room was fine, with slightly older furniture but a comfortable bed, and very clean. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful - they spoke English and French. There was an adjoining room, but as other reviews noted you could hear mildly muffled conversations through the door. This might bother some people, especially if the adjoining neighbors were noisy, but while it was at times intrusive, it wasn't a huge issue for me. Traffic noise was also noticeable at times, since my room faced the street.
The restaurant had a good breakfast ( at 13.50 euros extra charge) including sausages, juice, cheese, croissants, pastries, scrambled eggs, coffee etc. I had dinner twice at the restaurant - food was good, including a very nice array of salads and desserts, but the main course preparation (meats, fish) was not exceptional. Service was very friendly - restaurant was relaxed. My typical dinner cost about 25 euros with wine and bottled water. WIFi worked OK (extra charge of 20 euros for 10 hours). I was there on business, so the hotel was very convenient for me, and makes sense for those with a car or who need to be close to the research centers. But taxi from the Nice airport was extremely expensive - around 50 euros. There is a public bus (Number 230) for 1 euro from Nice airport (terminal 1 I believe) to Sophia Antipolis/Vabonne, with a stop close to the hotel, just a few minutes walk. I would recommend trying if you don't have a lot of luggage. All in all, a positive stay at a friendly hotel for my business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chesapeake_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sergio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank danskoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank olivier91200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valbonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Antibes Sophia Antipolis
0.4 mi away
Ibis Antibes Sophia Antipolis
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Sophia Antipolis Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Les Armoiries
Les Armoiries
#7 of 10 in Valbonne
121 reviews
3 mi away
La Bastide de Valbonne
La Bastide de Valbonne
#2 of 10 in Valbonne
233 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Castel' Provence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Omega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Omega

Address: Acces 3 - 49 Rue Ludwig Van Beethoven, 06560 Valbonne, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Valbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Valbonne
Price Range: $105 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Omega 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Omega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing